We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful”
Review of Powis House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Powis House
Ranked #18 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here while attending a training event at Stirling Management Centre (SMC) as it was very close to the SMC (2.5 miles) and convenient. I received a warm and friendly welcome. The room was on the top floor and was lovely, clean and stylish with plenty of traditional features. The double room was cosy, spacious and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was ample and tasty with fresh coffee and plenty of choice for a vegetarian. The eggs were fresh from their own chickens. Guests ate breakfast in a warm and sunny lounge which had a log fire burning in it. The house is set in scenic surroundings, up a track and tucked away from the road. I would recommend staying here if you want a comfortable and very relaxing night away.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms to choose from and all are situated on the top floor. The double room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Car0M72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The owners are wonderful and extremely helpful! Everything about this lovely place is fabulous from the moment you arrive. The offer of tea and snacks, help with luggage, genuine interest in your happiness…all extra touches that make your stay extra pleasurable. The rooms were precious and if there is any thing you need, chances are those needs will be met. I would absolutely return if given the chance!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threegirlsmom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We (family of four, including two kids) stayed at Powis House for three nights, booked two rooms total. The house and surroundings are beautiful. Colin and Jane were super hospitable and also gave us a lot of great recommendations of places to visit (and driving directions). The breakfasts were to die for! It actually felt as if we were staying with family. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luluzin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a lovely 2 night break. The exterior of the house was an absolute charm. Colin and Jane were overwhelmingly hospitable. On arrival we were shown to a charming, traditional lounge and given a beautiful tray of tea and biscuits. Colin gave us interesting, informative history about the house. They even provided a lift to us that night, which is over and above what we have ever encountered on a break away.Breakfast was preordered the day before, this was served in a very traditional dining room, served communally with other guests. The breakfast set us up for the day. The traditional bedroom overlooked the Ochil hills. The only downside I can see and I hate to have to give a criticism to this traditional charm and these two lovely people, was regarding our bathroom, whilst it was a beautiful high cistern toilet and a cast Iron bath with original fittings, (soaps and lovely little bottles of shower gel etc were provided) I do feel that the bath and toilet could have been reenammelled and the taps and accessories re brassed. Whilst I would have loved a relaxing bath, we didn't use it due to the condition. On the other hand the shower over the bath was a good shower. Hopefully, the bath and toilet is something that can be easily remedied by the charming owners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hospitaliy at its best and wonderful house and grounds! I loved the view over the Ha-Ha!
Truly a gem! We had a nice, clean and comfortable room and an excellent breakfast! The hosts are very welcoming and we can recommend Powis House a 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina140765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Powis House on the 13th July as we were attending a wedding in a nearby hotel, Jane & Colin Kilgour were extremely welcoming on our arrival, made us a pot of tea and also ran us the few miles distance to the wedding venue once we had changed into our wedding attire. The room was lovely and we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast the following morning which set us up for the day. They also had supplied us with very good driving instructions to find them.
We had a walk around the grounds after breakfast and Colin provided us with some interesting information on the house and its history.
I would recommend anyone to stay here and enjoy the hospitality provided by Jane & Colin. Ali & Keith Owens

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed one night at this hidden gem of a georgian mansion near Stirling. A lovely welcome afternoon pot of tea was provided by Colin, Jane and their daughter. Our room was lovely and very clean, and we had the best nights sleep ever in a B&B.The breakfast was first class, with freshly prepared food, with the eggs from the chickens at the bottom of the extensive lovely grounds. Breakfast choice was good with cereals, juice, pastries and choice of cooked. We would definitely stay here again thank you Colin & Jane you have a super Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Embling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.7 mi away
Number 18 Bed and Breakfast - Stirling
7.2 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
107 reviews
5.1 mi away
West Plean House
West Plean House
#9 of 59 in Stirling
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
10 mi away
Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
2 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#1 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powis House

Address: Powis House Powis House Near Blairlogie, Stirling FK9 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: £107 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powis House is an 18th-century mansion set in beautiful grounds beneath the Ochil Hills, four miles northeast of Stirling. Hosts Colin and Jane have taken great care to restore the three classic bedrooms, Thistle, Heather and Hazel (the twin). Warm and comfortable, the rooms combine original features such as the Georgian fireplaces and polished flooring, with handmade Harris Tweed curtains and bed throws. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with bath and shower and complimentary fine Scottish soaps. A range of traditional and herbals teas, coffee and hot chocolate, as well Jane’s homemade Florentines are available in each room. Guests are also welcome to enjoy use of the large sitting room, with open fire, board games and DVDs. (Please note that we do not have disabled access to the rooms, as they are reached by the main staircase.) Breakfast is served in the grand Dining Room and offers the best of Scottish produce, including eggs from our own hens. Dinner is also available (though we kindly request two-days notice for this). Colin is a passionate cook, and the four-course Table d’Hote menu will feature local ingredients, including home-grown lamb and vegetables from our garden, homemade chutneys and preserves. We also enjoy cooking with locally-stalked venison and game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Powis House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powis House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing