We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Indian food, this”

Green Gates Indian Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 221 Restaurants in Stirling
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: TAM COWAN REVIEW IN DAILYRECORD ON 5TH OCTOBER 2013
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classy Indian food, this”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Strong recommendation from us for this restaurant. Great flavours, excellent service, and an interesting menu. The starters in particular were great, particularly the pakoras. A most enjoyable meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardSv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    652
    121
    33
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“At last...a really good Indian restaurant in Scotland”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great restaurant, lovely decor, very helpful staff (lots of the too) and a great menu. Not many of the usual dishes but a great selection of interesting dishes. Definitely one of the tastiest curries I have ever had.......need to visit again as lots of dishes I want to try. The experience was made even better by the eclectic selection of dishes used to serve the delicious food. Warning...you will need to book!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hamish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This place is one of the best places I;ve had the pleasure of frequenting. The Service is impeccable, the food is amazing and the niche is obvious. I have eaten here several times and every time it has been full to the brim with people. My last visit was at the end of June and just catching up on my reviews. The starter was excellent and whilst we were waiting we were served a complimentary soup which was spectacular. Curry was brilliant, and although we had to wait a short time, it was worth it, as with any meal. They must be complimented most thoroughly on their naan bread as it is unmatched by anything I've tasted elsewhere. If I had one complaint at all it would be the limited alcohol selection, however you can bring your own booze for a more than reasonable corkage fee which more than compensates.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Luke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“You will be foolish not to try this restaurant”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to this Indian restaurant in Stirling, it's unique, and I like different ! The tastes were wonderful with fresh herbs and spices being exquisitely blended what beautiful (and different) indian, not the usual madras, vindaloo or balti of others but so tasty just a couple of hiccups in the service but nothing to worry about as they brought me free popadoms. Go for it you will love it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had friends coming to stay and as they love Indian food I was recommended the green gate by my son who is a regular patron. Phoned for booking spoke to a pleasant friendly chap. Arrived Saturday night quickly shown to our table (restaurant very busy turning people away) but did not affect the service our table was given. The staff were efficient and friendly with the service, table linen and napkins whiter than white beautifully laundered and to top it all the meal was the best ever Indian any of us have ever had and my friends have eaten in many Indian restaurant around Scotland and other places, they now want to come and stay with us more often just to eat here.

Veggy pakora to die for we will all be returning again and again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank weefee1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Gates Indian Restaurant also viewed

Stirling, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to Green Gates Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing