We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
56 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peter E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I first came with my family to stay at Newholme for Christmas back in 2008. We recently spent another weekend there, which was our third stay, and as before we had a fantastic time.
The house sleeps 12 and can easily accommodate that many people. The living space is excellent with a great sized kitchen, spacious dining room, sitting room and good sized TV room. The bedrooms are roomy and modern without taking away from the traditional style of the house. Regardless of the size of our party, we never felt like we were on top of each other. My fiancée and I have a 16th month old child, so we were pleased to find that there was a cot (actually we had our pick of 2!) and a high chair at the house already. The house also has a large garden with plenty of space for the little one to run around.
The location of the house is great. It’s no more than a 15 minute walk to Stirling and within easy reach of lots of beautiful walks. We also found Newholme very convenient for day trips to Edinburgh and Glasgow.
Nikki and David, who manage the property, have a wealth of knowledge about the local area and were always willing to offer suggestions of things to do or places to go.
My family and I always enjoy staying at Newholme and would definitely recommend it to any other would be visitors to the area!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The space the house provided our family.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We have enjoyed having you at Newholme on every occasion and are so pleased that you are now returning with your own family. We're very lucky that we've made so many friends over the years through managing the house and it's nice to see the familiar faces and the new additions to the family. Newholme will always be your home in Scotland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Nikki and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous house, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our family loved Newholme and would come back in a minute. In fact, we didn't want to leave. Newholme is a large, modernized home with Old World character. Our family of 7 (parents with 4 grown children and one son-in-law) had oodles of space. The "sleeps 12" is
true - nicely appointed bedrooms for all. (high quality linens) We loved: cooking in the fabulous kitchen, eating around the long dining room table, gathering by the fire in the beautiful sitting room for games or planning our next excursion. Kids of course liked the TV room late at night. Our family appreciates having a nice holiday house when we travel. It can make or break the vacation, even when we leave early and get home late from a day of touring. My son said the website didn't lie. Newholme was even better than the pictures. The Callanders gave great touring recommendations, and the Christmas decorations (real tree, greenery, etc.) were perfect. At first we wondered if Stirling was the location we wanted - thinking we wanted to be farther north. We discovered Stirling is perfect! We had great outings. Hope we can come back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great house and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We very much enjoyed having your family stay at Newholme and so happy that you were all able to get together at such short notice! David really has been everywhere in Scotland and loves having a chat about places to go and visit and so we're very pleased that you were able to make use of David's knowledge and that you really enjoyed your excursions. Your beautiful card has been much admired and has now found a home in a lovely frame. We sent a snapshot of it to the owner who adored it just as we did. We hope to find you back in Scotland one day. All the best to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry L
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Our fabulous Scotland secret is out!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in November 2011

I was looking for Newholme information to book for the Ryder Cup, 2014, when I saw that this wonderful home is now on Trip Adviser. While I am pleased that other people will be able to experience this wonderful manor house, I am sad that our Scotland gem has been made public. I have been to Newholme 4 times under different circumstances; the Open, a wedding, and two family vacations. Everytime has been magical. David and Nikki are great hosts, and their company, The Links Club, is my first choice for booking a Scotland golf vacation ( for your husband). There is plenty of room in the house, and I am taking about parties of 10-12. You can self cater, or have the Callendars to arrange catering for your party. Stirling is centrally located, and we were able to plan day trips to Edinbugh, Glasgow, The Trossachs, and the Highlands quite easily.

The house was beautiful back in 2005, but it looks fantastic after the new paint and decorating. Ahhh Newholme, it was nice to have you when we did. I travel from California with friends and family, and this was my go-to Scotland home away from home. BTW...the house is already booked for the Ryder Cup 2104, poor me....

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Central location, on site hosts, huge grounds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! Think of it as spreading the joy. Newholme was made for families and special events and we've very much enjoyed having you and your family visit on several occasions. I do recall a fantastic cocktail party that you hosted here which was made more special because the weather was perfect - a great success! We look forward to welcoming you all back to Scotland any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony S
Malanda, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation and great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in July 2012

The property is ideally located and at a walkable distance to the town centre.
The facilities are of a high standard and easily coped with our large contingent of Australians. We all had a great time and could do our own thing without tripping ver each other .
The host/s live on site and were very approachable and helpful to all our enquiries.
No complaints from any of the group.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Position, atmosphere of the stately house and facilities.
Liked least: Weather but that can happen anywhere.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We very much enjoyed having you and your family at Newholme to celebrate such a great occasion and hope you can come back, stay with us again and take a look at some of the recent changes/updates which we're sure that you'll enjoy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMB95670
Fosses, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Nikki and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit so much and you were able to see such a large part of the Scotland that you wanted to. Thank you for leaving the house so well looked after and tidy, this was much appreciated, and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!!
Best regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$291
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing