We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and welcoming!”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sue C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Newholme House. David and Nikki are such kind hosts and could not have made us feel more welcome. This beautiful, large house has a very traditional Scottish feel and, despite it's size, it is very warm and cosy. Our bed was as comfortable as any bed I have ever slept in! A great house in a great location with great hosts. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We so enjoyed having you and can't wait until you come back for a visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just exactly what I had hoped for!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

If you intend having a family 'get-together' this house is quite perfect. There is plenty of space for a large group without feeling cramped and with two sitting rooms it is possible to have a 'quiet' room and one for television or whatever. We stayed at Newhome with four children under ten years of age and it was an excellent house for them too - Hide and Seek will never be the same again! Nikki and David made us so welcome, just as though we were family coming to stay for a visit. We would certainly recommend Newhome and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
We are so pleased that Newholme was part of your special celebration. It's a perfect venue for these lovely get togethers and we're so pleased that you and your family had such a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
811Nancy
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Amazing House!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this house for a week for eight people. The house offered tons of room. Each of the three couples had their own king-size bed with a sink in each room. The kids each had their own bedroom with a double bed, plus we still had a bedroom to spare! Having three bathrooms was a bonus! The house is truly amazing with beautiful gardens and plenty of room for three families. There is a huge living room and den, and the kitchen is large and spacious with all the necessary amenities. We invited family from Scotland over for dinner and had no problem seating 14 in the dining room.

The Newholme house is in the ideal location making it an easy walk into Stirling. Be sure to make your way to the Torbrex Inn for dinner. It's about a 15 minute walk from the house. The town of Stirling is very picturesque with many shops and restaurants. Stirling Castle was incredible! The house was our hub and we either drove or took the train to see other parts of Scotland. It was perfect!

Nikki and David were wonderful hosts. It was handy having them nearby. They provided suggestions and answered any questions that we had. David was very helpful in organizing golf for the men. We had a fabulous time in what I would call a mansion and would definitely enjoy another stay in the Newholme House in the future!

Nancy
CANADA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having lots of room and the beautiful gardens!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! I think we enjoyed having your group here as much as you enjoyed being here and we hope to get you back one day. Christmas is beautiful at Newholme or perhaps a golf tour based out of Newholme? David would love arrange something for the guys. We'd love to invite you back for a tour of our new house! I hope we'll keep in touch. Our best to everyone! Best wishes, Nikki and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
“Beautiful Large Home in Beautiful Town”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in beautiful Stirling. The six rooms are spacious. They have two beds each which can be made up separately or together so it sleeps a ton of people if need be. We had seven folks and it was perfect. The whole house and property is beautiful.

It's just a short drive to the grocery store, around the bend where you get to gaze up at the majestic Stirling Castle. Make sure to follow the paths down to The Torbrex Inn for dinner and/or drinks.

Here's some photos from the house (mostly): http://www.flickr.com/photos/chriscoyier/sets/72157634945862168/

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
The photos are lovely! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we'd love to see you all out here again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJMK1404
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant house - great location”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

13 of us came together for a family holiday from across the UK and Australia. Booking this from Oz was so easy because of the excellent attention to detail and helpfulness of David and Nikki. The house is large and comfortable and even with the extended family gathering for 29 it felt spacious. The beds and quality of linen was of a high standard. Our only suggested improvement would be that the oven temperature is hard to control using free standing thermometers inside the oven and the control knobs get hot when grilling.
We were all sad to leave and would definitely consider it again for our family gathering.
Kate & Mark - Sydney Oz

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and your suggestions. The markings for temperature on the cooker have worn away through cleaning and, for this particular cooker, they are very expensive to replace but we are definitely taking this into consideration as cooking is always an integral part of the family gatherings and we do realise how important it is to get it right! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Newholme and we hope that you are enjoying this lovely weather for the remainder of your holiday in the UK! Best wishes, David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJM1903
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Yet”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Each year we have a family gathering on May Day Bank Holiday weekend. It is important for both kids and adults to have their own space. Neholme was absolutely stunning. The kids had a ball whilst the adults chilled. Both Nikki and David are easily contactable in the adjacent flat but not intrusive in any way. A new standard has been set for our family get together next year. A wonderful experience and highly recommended.

The Mains - Aberdeen and Edinburgh

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space to move around and relax.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2013
Thanks so much for your very nice review. We very much enjoyed having you all and hope that you enjoy all your family gatherings to come!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley69...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect house for family get together!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable weekend in a beautiful house. The kitchen is gorgeous with every possible amenity you could need. The TV room was a lovely room for us all to chill after our fun from the nights before and the lounge was a fantastic venue for us to gather together for drinks, games and laughs after our meals in the dining room. Our group was mixed with our Rudy at 1 1/2 up to my parents celebrating their 45th wedding anniversary. My aunt travelled from East Sussex to celebrate her 60th with us and whilst you do not need an excuse to experience a wonderful time in this amazing house, we certainly had enough excuses. Thank you to David who made us feel welcome right from the minute we met him and to his wife who made us fabulous cupcakes! Will definitely be returning and have already checked availability which is booking up fast and no wonder!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Dear Michelle
Many thanks for taking the time to make your review and i am so happy that you all enjoyed the stay here at Newholme, and impressed that you may return, perhaps at a time when you can get outside in the Garden! I hope the Cupcakes went down well and you were right, your Aunt did use the iron!! Best wishes for the future and please call if you need to look ahead for another weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$301
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing