We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“loads of space ... a great place for a break”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
53 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
fiona r
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loads of space ... a great place for a break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Newholme made a great place for a family break ... plenty of rooms, great living space, access to the garden, plenty of parking ... we had everything we needed. The house is also in an ideal location just round the corner from Kings Park, Stirling Castle, the M90 etc. for easy access.

big thanks to David and Nikki for hosting us ....

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope all the family had a great time...lucky with the weather as well as you were able to sit outside for some of the time. We hope we may see you again some time, and are so happy you had a fun time.
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goughy201...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“brilliant house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just returned from a great weekend at Newholme on Monday
This is the second time we booked and weren't disappointed.
We are a group of 12 " LADIES " and the accommodation was just perfect for us!!
We all had our own beds and although we are a very friendly group, it was nice not to share!
David couldn't have been any more helpful with us, giving us guidance about the area and places to dine out. The house itself had everything you would need, including extras, that we probably didn't have to bring half the things we did.
So, if anybody is looking for a big, comfortable, homely house for family or large group of friends, THIS IS IT!!!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you so much ladies for your kind review and glad you had such fun...hope to see you again soon.
Regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayjaygab...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house for a family get together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed here for a family get together for 3 nights last weekend - 6 adults and 6 children. The house is fantastic and just what we needed at a very reasonable price. David met us when we arrived and was really helpful, he even welcomed our wee dog with open arms. The children loved the space, unfortunately due to the bad weather we weren't able to use the garden. Had great fun playing some of the board games which are supplied, the girls won of course. All the bedrooms were really spacious and the beds very comfy. The bathrooms were adequate, with lovely powerful showers.

It is really easy to get into central Stirling and all the local sites of interest from the house. We drove because of the weather, but it would be easy to walk into town, there is a lovely swimming pool and sports centre near to the Stirling Albion Football ground I would fully recommend.

We arranged a Tesco delivery for the Friday, which was ideal. On the Sunday we ordered a take away delivery from the Spice Garden, it was fantastic.

All in all we had a lovely time in a wonderful house. Thank you David and Nikki

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
So glad that you had such a good time and survived the bad weather which was a shame. We are looking into upgrading the bathrooms in April so I hope that when you come back you will see a difference. I would also like to thank you for leaving the house so clean and well looked after and we would love to see you come back again..perhaps in the autumn when we think the weather can be much better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful weekend in a wonderful house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We spend a long weekend at Newholme celebrating my fiancé and his friends 30th birthdays in January 2014. There were 10 of us in total (5 couples) and the house never once felt cramped! As this was a surprise and we had never stayed in the house before Nicki and David were beyond helpful prior to our arrival and could not have been nicer over the weekend. Beautiful house, lovely location (even with hangovers we managed to walk into the centre for a lovely lunch on the Saturday) and very accommodating owners, I would definitely recommend. Who knows perhaps we may even be back as our friends are still talking about it. Thanks Newholme for helping us give the boys a birthday they will never forget!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
heh guys and girls, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay...certainly sounded like you had a good time!! which is the idea after all, and glad the boys enjoyed it as well. I have sent the shirt back today and hope you get it soon, if not I think I have a trace on it. Meantime thank you so much for leaving the house in such a great condition, which was such a help to us the next day, and we would love to see you again !!
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan562014
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful place to start The New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We spent a week at Newholme House over the New Year with our family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary and the New Year. There were 7 adults and 3 small children the house still had the Christmas decorations up which was a nice touch and the children could not wait to tuck into the cupcakes that were there on our arrival! The house is full of character and very spacious it is very cosy too we lit a log fire on several occasions in the TV room which has Sky an added bonus. The bedrooms were all good sizes and the beds were very comfortable. It is central enough to visit many interesting places close by too. A visit to The Torbrex Inn is recommended as the food there is very good. Every detail has been thought of for your comfort and I especially enjoyed the large shower and those thick white towels :0)) Nikki & David were great hosts and always happy to answer any questions we had. It has given us a family memory we shall all cherish which is what we wanted. Thank you x

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: Lack of En-suite
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
many thanks for your kind review and we so enjoyed having you to stay at Newholme, the quietest new year group we have ever had...we were really worried that you were all in bed by 7pm!! The Torbrex is becoming very successful and as you away is o easy to reach, and we are happy you enjoyed the house so much, and perhaps we may see you again some time.
Regards from Nikki and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebsudsy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb house , beautiful features, spacious and excellent standard.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Newholme House from Saturday 21st December 2013 until Friday 27th December . We chose Newholme for a family Christmas and a 40th birthday party . We were a party of 12, 6 adults and 6 children and we were absolutely delighted with Newholme . The house offers plenty of space we never felt cramped . The bedrooms are very large and the linens and towels all of excellent quality . There was the lovely touches of quality toiletries in each room which made us feel as if we were in a quality accomodation . The bathrooms ( there are 4 in all ) are all very clean and have been updated to include two excellent showers . The two living areas are beautifully decorated with period features which also included two fireplaces which had coal / logs making it warm and cosy all day . The more modern living room included a tv and DVD player and made it ideal as a 'kids' living room . The sofas in both rooms were comfortable and there was plenty of seating for everyone . There was a large dining room which sat us easily for christmas dinner and had two smaller tables which gave us additional space when other family members came to visit . Our favourite room was the huge kitchen . It was warm , spacious and had every utensil that we needed . Cooking in it was a pleasure and I easily cooked for 15. It is well stocked with glasses , table ware etc and has a fabulous range cooker and american style fridge freezer.
We loved our lovely gift of cupcakes on arrival ., they were yummy ! .
We all loved our stay at Newholme. David and Nikki made us feel so welcome and well looked after , they even took our dogs for walks which was do kind of them . We had a small problem with sockets upstairs and David immediately got us an electrician who fixed the problem straight away ..this was much appreciated as it was Christmas Day . Both David and Nikki were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble . I would not hesitate to recommend Newholme house to anyone looking for spacious family accomodation of an excellent standard . Having rented many houses over the years this was one of the best and we hope one day we are able to return . Thanks David and Nikki .

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2013
Dear Elaine, many thanks for your prompt and very kind review, I am currently just finishing the changeover, made so much easier by your kind efforts in cleaning and hoovering!!!much appreciated. We were delighted to have you as guests and so very happy that the whole family enjoyed their Xmas here at Newholme, and I especially enjoyed walking Bailey and Molly….or Marley and me as I now remember them..free home here at any time for either of the dogs!! We hope that you are able to visit again and with some luck with the weather and the time of the year will allow you to use the garden as well. Best wishes for the New year
Regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKClarke
Oban
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfort and style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

A family holiday - 8 adults, 2 babies, 2 young children and a teenager. Stayed for 2 nights, limited to circumstances at the time. Furnished and equipped to a high standard. All inclusive of all but food. Spacious and homely, two excellent lounges. Fully equipped kitchen etc., though the large cooker took a bit of getting used to. Great showers. Accommodation suited to all ages, and loads of room and space, though the rugs on wooden floors meant that kids running around (as they do) were skidding all over the place. Having said that we had no accidents or falls! Plenty of car parking space, and room to run off energy in the garden. What made this better than the usual self-catering: homely, lovely coal/wood fires, toiletries in all bedrooms, salt, pepper, cling film, foil, equipment, dishwasher - with tablets etc. etc. in kitchen, good quality bedding and towels, plenty of games and books,
Everyone enjoyed their stay here, and wanted to return.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: High standard of accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2013
we are so glad you enjoyed your stay..and I apologise for not saying that you can just lift the carpets in the hall to allow the kids to play hide and seek without sliding through the door!! I hope you all enjoyed your stay and it was great, as always to see families getting together, and it is becoming a recurring theme here at Newholme and we look forward to seeing you all again,perhaps for the extra night and as discussed with the extra couple.
A merry xmas to you all
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing