We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabtastic”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Val F
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabtastic”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot fault this house. We had a birthday get together 14 women and had one of the best weekends. House is very well equipped. A home from home. Loads of space for a large group. Warm and comfortable . Really comfortable beds. A gem of a place I feel as if I am home and this is my second visit
Will be returning again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Hi Val
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for leaving the house sparkling!!!! I heard from emma that you may be returning and we love having repeat clients...look forward to that.
David and nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianTJ
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

12 of us stayed in Newholme for a week. We meet up annually for a reunion and this was to be a special 50th event. It was indeed special.

The house is huge and 12 of us stayed for a week without getting in each other's way or under each other's feet. The kitchen is huge, which it needed to be when each morning, couples rose at different times to prepare and eat their breakfast. It has a television, vast quantities of crockery and cutlery, a lovely oven, huge fridge and numerous pots and pans. There is a large dining room which allowed us to have several grand dinners during our stay. The managers also arranged for Flick to cook our celebration dinner and she did a fantastic job. Delicious food.

Plenty of spaces for people to relax and socialise. A large drawing room with a large television, a second large drawing room for those who wanted to get away from the television and a third smaller drawing room with a television. The weather didn't allow us to enjoy the attractive garden but in dry weather it looked a lovely place to relax.

The bedrooms are comfortable and plenty of bathrooms. Plenty of towels available.

Overall the house was extremely comfortable for 12 of us to have a relaxing week.

There was adequate parking for the six cars we had.

The location was great. It was just over 1 mile from the centre of Stirling and within walking distance of shops in the local village. It was a good base to explore further - Falkirk, Edinburgh, Perth and Loch Lomand were all visited during the week.

Just move in and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
So glad that you have taken the time to write a review on the House but more importantly I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Newholme. I am sorry that I was not there to see you but it is a testament to those who work for us ta Newholme ( Like Flick) that you were able to have a great time. We would love to see you return in the future however if you move off to other places we wish you well and thank you for coming to Newholme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karon M
Kloof, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideal for travelling golf and other groups.”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our touring group of golfers from South Africa have now stayed at Newholme on three separate occasions and will continue to do so in the future. We use it as a convenient base, travelling out to our chosen golf venues during the day and then returning in the evenings to a friendly, spacious and most comfortable environment. The Manager, David Callander (an excellent host) arranges for a first rate chef to come in and provide daily breakfast and dinner. I can not recommend this place highly enough for our purposes and have in fact directed several other groups to Newholme.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your kind words and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay once again. We are looking forward to seeing your friends who have already booked for next year!!! and our chef awaits there arrival with the same.!!
Happy golf for your coming season
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gree1
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everyone loved Newholme”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at Newholme, and enjoyed every minute, despite the weather which was mostly chilly and wet. We were joined by over twenty friends and family members at different times, either to stay for a while and explore Stirling, or to attend my brother's 65th birthday lunch.

For most of the time we cooked family feasts using excellent meat from the butcher in the village, and served in the lovely large dining room. The birthday lunch was cooked by Flick, a wonderful chef who made the whole experience a pleasure, from the early discussion of the menu right through to clearing up. Delicious food, and lots of it!

All our guests loved the atmosphere of Newholme, and felt as though they'd been there for ages. We needed the fires (in June!) but they just added to the comfortable ambience. Even the fans of minimalism relished their glimpse into the world of Edwardian Arts and Crafts, with its lovely woodwork and generous light-filled space.

As others have said, David was efficient and helpful, an excellent host.

All in all, a lovely place to build more of the memories that our family will cherish as the years go by.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
So glad that the whole two week period went well, but sad that the weather was so indifferent, however we are glad that the party went well for your brother's 65th party, and Flick as usual provided the food that you wanted which is very important. sadly for you the weather improved although we had some very bad weather over two days last week.
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary W
Berry, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely spacious home in a great location.”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a large family group from Australia and the US with family ties to the UK. Newholme House was everything we wished for - and more. It is a lovingly kept Edwardian home full of beautiful antique furniture that is welcoming and comfortable.
The varying age groups enjoyed the 2 large reception rooms and it was easy accommodating us all in the lovely dining room to enjoy our meals together. The large kitchen was well equipped - the only problem we had was working out how to use the French cooker. The bedrooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. We all loved the garden and given the fantastic weather we had throughout our stay, it was a joy to sit out there enjoying the sunshine while the younger members played on the grass.
David, our host was most attentive and quick to respond to emails/ enquiries prior to our visit. When we first arrived we had a problem with the wifi reception but David made sure that was quickly resolved. He interacted with young and old and made sure we all enjoyed our stay.
We were so fortunate with the weather and took every opportunity to get out and about. As well as seeing round the historic city of Stirling, it was easy to get to both Glasgow and Edinburgh as well as up into the highlands. 2 members of our family even made the climb up Ben Nevis - a dream come true for them both!
I would highly recommend this lovely property and hope we might return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious, well equipped home in a great location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Excellent to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and for us that is what it is all about. The weather was your friend and since your departure the heavens have opened!!!! c'est la vie ..at least you all made the most of it. We would love to have your return at any time, and look forward to it.
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slyon2005
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for a 40th birthday weekend”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Arranged a friends 40th birthday weekend staying here from Friday to Sunday (Booked till Monday but opted to leave late on Sunday as most of our party were working on the Monday).
Contact with the owners on the run up to the weekend away had been great so I felt reassured that everything would be as we expected.
The house was amazing. Initially some of the party thought it was a little oldie worldly but it wasn't long till I heard them saying how homely it was and how much they preferred it to staying in some impersonal hotel.
The bedrooms were all of a good size with plenty of bathroom/toilet facilities to cope with 10 crazy women.
The living areas were great and we used each room for something different
One room we set up with a DIY Photobooth and used it as a game/quiz room. The other room we used just to relax when we needed some chill out time.
We had taken food for the first night and both breakfasts and we sat and ate as a group in the huge dining room. We also arranged afternoon tea to be delivered from Bluebell Tearoom and enjoyed a lovely afternoon entertaining the birthday girl in there.
The kitchen was fantastic. It really did have everything you could have ever needed. Lots of serving dishes and utensils along with enough crockery and cutlery to lay the wonderful table.
Having an extra drinks fridge in the pantry came in very handy as we certainly made use of it with every ingredients for cocktail concoction known were kept cool.
Overall this is a brilliant house with great value for money and we will be back I'm sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
I am so glad that all the girls enjoyed their stay...it is old ..Edwardian but we try to make sure that we give as much in the way of modern touches with fast broadband , good kitchen utensils and a reasonable tv with sky to give our visitors some of the modern touches. It is a great house to have a party and really interested that you ordered your afternoon tea delivered and wondered how that went??...very inventive and great that they could do the...a first for Newholme!!
we look forward to seeing you again and thank you for leaving the house so tidy when you left.
Regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Port Republic, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“"Sterling" stay in Stirling UK!”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Overview:
The 1905 Edwardian style house was built and is still owned by the original family. As such it's 'captured in time'- a charming mix of personal memorabilia, fine antiques, vintage housewares, and plain, practical furnishings- but with modern amenities. It feels like one is on holiday at the home of a venerated and greatly loved great-grandparent....

Worth mentioning:
- Well located for travel, "center" of Scotland, situated on main train lines
- David is an excellent host- attentive, responsive, good-humored and very, very patient! He is also an excellent resource for travelers. Make your plans but "Ask David!" (...then listen to David....then tweek your plans!)
- Bed/Bath: Complementary shampoo and body wash, UK hairdryers, lovely linens, generous bathtubs and heated towel racks; sinks in each bedroom.
- Kitchen: magnificent vintage French gas stove!
- Of Note: The driveway and entrance is to the side of the house which is hidden behind bushes and stone walls but marked with a small "Newholme" sign. The brochure photo shows a frontal aspect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambience
Liked least: No dislikes!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Hi Michael
Thanks for your review, and you will be glad that you are not here just now....it is horrible weather and whilst you had some bad days at least you got some good days, so glad you were able to see some of the sights that you wanted and look forward to seeing you again perhaps.
Best regards and a happy xmas season to you all.
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing