We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Stirling Walking Tours
Ranked #6 of 13 Tours in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: VisitScotland Thistle Award Regional Finalist 2015/15: BEST OUTDOOR EXPERIENCE Join our PRIVATE sightseeing tours of Stirling's Old Town. A entertaining mix of comedy, storytelling & history with local guides. We offer a range of PRIVATE AND GROUP tours including Old Town Tour PLUS a visit to Stirling Castle. Tours at a date, time and place to suit YOU! Please note TOURS MUST BE PREBOOKED via our website MEET at your Hotel or Outside Tourist Information (Old Town Jail), St John Street, Stirling, FK8 1EA in heart of Stirling Old Town.
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Informative and entertaining. A wealth of knowledge that was great for adults, and the presentation was captivating enough for my seven-year-old to want to return for the evening ghost walk too.

3  Thank Shaddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLooker, Manager at Stirling Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Many thanks for such a wonderful review. I’m glad you and your 7 year old enjoyed the tour of the old town. David our head guide is such a fantastic storyteller and manages to keep history fun and entertaining, even for younger audiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

One of the best guided I’ve been at. The guide was informative, attentive and funny. Made the whole tour into a show depicting the history of Stirling. I highly recommend.
I heard that he also perform the late night Ghost Tour but didn’t attend.

1  Thank UriLifshitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLooker, Manager at Stirling Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your tour, David our head guide has a real passion for Stirling and flair for storytelling. We aim to bring history alive and provide plenty of entertainment. I hope you will tell your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

An interesting walk through Old Stirling with the guide (David) explaining in gory detail the events from the past - both historically important events and the more mundane. The walk itself starts near Stirling Castle and is not particularly taxing and covers a fairly compact area of the town, but never-the-less there were plenty of interesting tales for David to relate. Good value and an enthusiastic guide whose memory is incredible. Good fun. There is also a ghost walk in the evening.

1  Thank DSB-Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLooker, Manager at Stirling Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Many thanks for your a review. I'm pleased you enjoyed our Stirling Old Town tour. We aim to bring Stirling's history alive and provide plenty of entertainment and stories and a bit more than you would normally find on a City Tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Did the afternoon walk. The guide (a local actor) was very passionate but very political and the tour wasn't really pitched for children. For adults it was very quite informative but only covered a very small patch of stirling.

Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLooker, Manager at Stirling Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and offer feedback our tours.
Politics feature strongly the history of Stirling and the many of conflicts over the centuries have a political dimension. In explaining the many twists and turns in our history, our guides are bound to include the political contexts of the time.

The Old Town Tour covers a small geographical area of Stirling, however this area includes arguably the finest concentration of Medieval buildings in Scotland. Our tours do not cover a large distance but in a short walk try and bring the old town to life revealing some of the tales of the colourful characters who once lived here.

Our tours are not primarily aimed at kids, however children over 8 seem to enjoy them, especially if they like horrible histories. In fact our school tours receive great feedback.

Thanks again for your feedback, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Stirling and will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The chap was a very knowledgeable tour guide/actor. Not sure how he remembered all the facts about Stirling! As well as doing the tour it would also be worth reading the plaques on some of the lesser known buildings in the Old Town as a 70 minute tour can't cover everything. There were about 15 of us on the tour and a mixture of ages. Definitely worth doing.

Thank Anita1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonLooker, Manager at Stirling Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed the tour of Stirling Old Town. We try and bring history to life and offer entertainment and fun stories rather than dates and facts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stirling Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Stirling Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing