We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely home cooking and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cowane's Hospital

Cowane's Hospital
Ranked #31 of 63 things to do in Stirling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set within the majestic grounds of John Cowane’s Hospital in Stirling. Celebrating Traditional Scottish Afternoon Tea with the finest selection of teas, coffee, light meals & traditional home baking.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely home cooking and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived by bicycle on an extremely wet day and were made very welcome. The homemade soup was delicious as was the home baking. There was a good variety of teas and the coffee was very good too. The old hospital is very interesting to visit and we couldn't believe that we hadn't visited before as we live locally. The Church of The Holy Rude next door is beautiful and also well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank annepharm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
1,007 reviews
684 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had the very best cappuccinos ever here. As we were planning a large dinner, we chose not to eat any of the snacks. However, this was difficult as they looked yummy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home cooked food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hospital needs more information so it would make it a lot more enjoyable. Theres a very intresting grave yard with lots of very old graves. I found some from the boar war. THE HOSPITAL is on the way down to Sterling after a visit to the castle in the old part . The church is also in the grounds which is well worth a visit. We found the little cafe that is part of the old hospital and makes use of the building. The food is all home made and its a nice stop over on the way down for coffee ,tea and cake.. I think that the hospital could do with a lot more information then you can see the church,grave yard,hospital then have lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank biddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredibly friendly cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Quirky little cafe tucked away in Old Town Stirling.(next to the Cemetary which is well worth a visit)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jebcreates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not very exciting BUT we didn't eat here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We wandered into the hospital to look at the building, and learn more. There wasn't a lot of information, despite the fact that it is supposed to be a significant historical site. The menu did look good, but we didn't eat here.

Helpful?
Thank DimitrisHavlidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cowane's Hospital also viewed

Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to Cowane's Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing