We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little place”
Review of John Cowane's Coffee House - CLOSED

John Cowane's Coffee House
Price range: US$1 - US$5
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Selection of fine coffee, homemade baking, freshly made pancakes, soups, sandwiches, toasted sandwiches and Panini's
Gavle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Awesome little place”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sitting here enjoying good soup and scones at a great price. Really nice outdoor when the sun is shining!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaweikoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great wee place ! ”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I came here with my Mum as it was a beautiful day and we'd been meaning to come here for ages after hearing good reports about it.

We had 2 colas and 2 items of home baking which were absolutely delicious. We sat outside and enjoyed the view of people coming and going into the Holy Rude Church and of course the sun.

Reasonably priced with pleasant staff, and only a short walk from the town centre, I'd be happy to recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Vazbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eggerslack
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thanks to a recommendation from the Tourist Information Office we called here before going up to the castle. Its both an interesting building (and you can also visit the church which has some really interesting features) and an excellent place for coffee or lunch. We went out of our way to go back later for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eggerslack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good for a snack.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Found ourselves here for a lunchtime snack after visiting the castle nearby. Enjoyed a haggis and chilli toastie, and a cheese and onion toastie for the wife. Both were very tasty, served with a side salad, but no homemade potato salad , despite it being included on the menu. The cups of tea were excellent, and all in all , the meal was good value. The staff were friendly and polite, and we would probably go there again .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to have coffee & light lunch...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A coffee, home baking and maybe a sandwich in a historic location right next to Stirling Castle.

My favourite pace to go in the city. The lovely & friendly Sara (who does all the baking in situ) will take good care of you. I cannot recommend Cowane's more highly!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mungo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Cowane's Coffee House also viewed

Thornhill, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing