We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and reasonably priced food in great location w/friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roots - CLOSED

Roots
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tasty and reasonably priced food in great location w/friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Day 1- Falafel wrap w/salad, crisps and coleslaw + chunky monkey vegan cake
Day 2- Vegetable toastie w/ hummus, crisps and coleslaw

The food was good and very reasonably priced (under £4). If you are vegan and in Sterling you won't find a better cafe than roots, it's small but friendly and the meals are tasty and appeal to everyone (even meat eaters would leave with a smile on). The salad, coleslaw and crisps on the side was a nice touch... and the service was great. The only improvement I can think of would be the coleslaw, you could try blending some nuts and seeds in there to make it more flavoursome. This is only a suggestion though and it was still really good overall. Also didn't enjoy listening to James Blunt whilst eating but I appreciate this is out of your control. There are also some nice shops in the old arcade and a health food store on Dunbarton road which some of you reading this may find useful. Cheers

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jozzie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roots_Stg, Owner at Roots, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments! I like the idea of nuts and seeds in the coleslaw...might try that next week. And I am truly sorry that you were subjected to James Blunt whilst eating your lunch. Apparently there are over 800 songs on the Arcade playlist....which is why I don't understand why James is on what feels to me to be about 20 times a day! On the up side - there's no Justin Bieber. : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasteless vegetarian fare served with bad attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We ordered the lentil soup for a starter, the falafel wrap and roasted bell pepper sandwich for mains which were all a bit scanty for it's prices, lacking filling and seasoning.

Our orders came with an iceberg lettuce and cherry tomato salad that seemed like an afterthought -- don't offer a salad at all, especially at a vegetarian cafe, if it's going to be 98% iceberg lettuce and a half of a cherry tomato.

Interesting, too, the green tea lacked strength and Americano black coffee was watered down so much that it couldn't be saved by adding sugar and milk.

From the moment we arrived, we didn't feel welcomed and felt like a burden to the waitress with our business.

Wish we never took the recommendation to eat here. There are certainly other restaurants in Stirling, vegetarian and non-vegetarian, that are friendlier and more accommodating to its guests and customers.

Roots restaurant in Stirling, Scotland, sucks!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank IEIID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roots_Stg, Owner at Roots, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Apologies for the delay in replying - we were having some technical issues.
We're very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at Roots. We strive to ensure that all of our customers leave happy, and this obviously didn't happen here. Had you mentioned at the time that you were unhappy with your lunch and drinks, we would have gladly offered you a replacement or another option. If you come back to Roots, I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Lesley-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Coffee and scones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Visited this vegetarian restaurant for the first time today. Lovely food, good prices and very pleasant staff. Just a shame that the tables are outside is what is really a corridor. Today unfortunately we just picked the wrong time to be there, it was noisy with people standing in your way and you had to watch where you walked. I will try it again and hopefully get some peace and quiet to enjoy my food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purplehazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummmmmyyyyyyy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I've visited Roots quiet a few times now and have never been disappointed. The home made soups and pot luck change daily and have all been yummy. The baked potatoes are amazing the best I've had in Stirling and my favourite has to be the scones there gigantic. Service is fab. Would definitely recommend a visit even if your not a veggie like me can't beat fresh and homemade.

Helpful?
1 Thank deb1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bannockburn, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food at good price ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Just stopped here for lunch. Had a cheese and coleslaw sandwich and a tea. Firstly the tea was yummy! Sounds daft but it's hard to get a really nice cup if tea when out!
The sandwich was very nice-fresh bread, homemade coleslaw which was lovely and crisp and also side salad and crisps as an added bonus!
Lady serving was very efficient and friendly.
So much nicer than the overpriced cafés close by!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Loopylou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roots also viewed

Thornhill, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing