We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Square Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Square Guest House
Ranked #2 of 61 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a night in February 2014. We parked in the free parking area. The building was extremely well kept and the hosts were friendly and chatty. We were greeted and invited to the lounge where Kari gave us complementary coffee and cake.

We stayed in room 5 which was large and cosy with many nice little touches. The bed was very comfy, the bathroom - with a standalone bath - was top notch. We were also given fresh coffee in a cafetiere rather than instant coffee! I genuinely cannot think of any faults whatsoever, the place was exceptional.

Breakfast was very tasty with nice personal touches on classics.

We will definitely be staying again next time we are in Stirling and have been recommending it to everyone. Great value too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Highland_Coo_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for giving such a comprehensive review that gives a lot of interesting information for future guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you back at the Victoria Square Guest House again soon.
Kind regards
Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
302
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night here recently, the first night of our visit to the U.K. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place to spend the night. The house is beautiful and comfortable, spotlessly clean and well-appointed. The shower was tiny, but everything else was so nice, it's easy to overlook that one small thing. We fell in love with Stirling and, if we ever make it back, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Diane489
Many thanks for taking the time to leave review. We are delighted that you first night in Scotland was a good one. The shower cabinet in the room may be compact but as you say we do hope that the other features in our well appointed bedrooms more than make up for this. We can have no better feedback than having guests say that they will stay again on their next visit to Stirling. Haste ye back.
Kind regards
Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candelo, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We staied only one night but was been excellent. The house is an victorian house of 1880 restructured. the position is in a square with a beautiful garden very very quiet. In ten minutes you can visit the beautiful old town of Styrling. It's sure ! We going back as soon as possible

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mirko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mirko S
How great to hear that you will be back again as soon as is possible - we can't have a better recommendation than that! We look forward to seeing you again at the Victoria Square Guest House.
Kind regards
Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

With easy access on foot to the town and to the castle (for the latter, provided that you can cope with a steep climb), yet set in an amazingly quiet neighbourhood, this is an exemplary facility, providing a warm welcome, excellent facilities (spacious and beautifully decorated room, very comfortable bed, well-appointed ensuite shower room; generous guest lounge; off-street parking) and a wonderful breakfast (whichever options you might choose - and with these, if necessary and without any fuss, adapted for restricted diets, such as dairy intolerance). We enjoyed our stay here very much and would have no hesitation in recommending (and hopefully in future again visiting) it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAH3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear MAH3862
Thank you for such an informative review , you have highlighted some useful things for visitors to both the Victoria Square Guest House and Stirling. As you say we are within easy walking distance of the city centre and the castle. The uphill walk to the latter can take your breath away, but the views alone are worth it.
We are always happy to do what we can to accommodate special diets and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We fully endorse the praise given by virtually everyone else who has visited.

We stayed only 1 night and we found our hosts friendly, welcoming, and extremely professional.

The Victoria Square deserves all the plaudits they receive and they are a benchmark for how a B&B should be managed and for standards others should aspire to!

The property is located in a peaceful and affluent area of Stirling virtually at the base of the castle and an easy walk to the town centre.

Parking isn’t a problem and we felt extremely secure.

The building is beautifully renovated and immaculate in presentation with all the facilities you need.

The fridge was welcome and the huge bed was extremely clean and comfortable, immaculately made and with high quality bedding.

The room cost is exceptional value especially given the quality of the breakfast and anywhere that squeezes fresh juices rather than out of a carton and can cook an eggs Benedict to Michelin quality deserves a huge bonus and gets my vote!

If in Sterling or vicinity then try to stay here, there can’t be better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear MarionMontgomery
Thank you so much for such an enthusiastic review. It is always lovely for us to receive such positive feedback on what we have to offer.
It is especially pleasing to learn that you consider us good value as we do aim to give our guests a relaxing and enjoyable experience with good service at a reasonable cost.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The previous reviews (which I followed up on by booking) say it all. Very friendly and helpful hosts and a beautifully restored property with all the mod cons you could wish for. The fridge was a very nice touch and rare to find in the UK and the bed was extremely comfortable with lovely soft bedding. The guest house is very well placed for visiting both the castle and town. My only advice if staying in Stirling is to make sure that you set out for dinner in good time, as everything tends to close up early on (at least for a Londoner!).
Excellent value for a property of this type and we will certainly return if we are staying in Stirling in the future. Loved the porridge with cream and whisky!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JanWBromley_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear JanWBromley_Kent
Many thanks for your interesting and informative review. You make a good point in regards to eating out, compared to London eateries do tend to stop serving a bit earlier. As a general rule it is probably best to aim for before 9pm, although we can always call to check with restaurants that guests are interested in just to make sure. You are not alone in your appreciation of the porridge with whisky and cream - certainly sets you up for the day!
Kind regards Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruden Bay (Port Erroll), United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night at the Victoria Square Guest House. Arrived a little late due to our skydive being pushed back but it proved to be no problem at all and we're greeted warmly by Kari. Stayed in room 1 and couldn't have asked for anything more, everything was perfect. Everything you could have needed was provided and it was a nice touch having a fridge in the room. Breakfast this morning was lovely. Put an order in last night and was ready for the time we requested. Overall a faultless stay. Hopefully we will beck soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mhairimull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mhairimull
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we hope that you have recovered from the Sky diving! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we could help make your exciting day all the more pleasurable. As you mention there is a fridge in every room which is proving popular with our guests. Nothing like a nice cool drink at the end of a busy day.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Guest House

Property: Victoria Square Guest House
Address: 12 Victoria Square, Stirling FK8 2QZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Square Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Visit Scotland rated, the Victoria Square Guest House combines period splendour with modern comfort for that touch of luxury. Ideally located within walking distance of Stirling's attractions, city centre, golf club, bus & train stations. All rooms en-suite with 32" Smart TV, Egyptian cotton linen, bathrobes, Arran Aromatics toiletries and mini fridge. In addition to the luxurious bedrooms our guest can enjoy the comfort of our spectacular drawing and dining rooms. We also offer free WiFi & onsite parking. No children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Square Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Square Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing