We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorious Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Square Guest House
Ranked #2 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Victorious Victoria”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night with 3 friends. Two shared a room & two had a room each. Everything about the guest house is perfect. Hosting, decor, facilities & breakfast. Attention to detail is excellent. One little change would be a later checkout -11am or noon. We will definitely return & recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Jemima P

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can on occasion offer late check out by previous arrangement , however as a guest house we are limited in the number of rooms we have and as you can imagine we need time to turn those rooms round for the next guests. Thank you so much for saying that you will recommend us, we can have no better praise than that.
Kind regards
Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
344
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I can't say enough how much I enjoyed our stay at Victoria Square Guest house. The other reviews that use such superlatives as "excellent", "faultless" and "perfect" are spot on. This place was perfect! Our hosts, Kari and Phil, were warm and friendly, and provided the perfect little details to make our stay most enjoyable, such as fresh homemade baked goodies in the guest lounge.

The house itself has been lovingly restored to its 1880's Victorian splendor, with original detailing such as the "Commonwealth Cornice" in the guest lounge, the spectacular ceiling details in the dining room, and the huge mirror on the wall in the upstairs hall. Even with the elegant styling and furnishings of the Victoria Square Guest House, it still has a down-to-earth feel to it, thanks to the charm of the owners, Kari and Phil.

I can't recommend Victoria Square guest House enough. If we ever make it back to Scotland (and I hope we do), we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear dauph59
What can we say...we are delighted that you had such a good time with us, it's a real compliment to hear that we were your favourite place to stay during your trip to Scotland. You are certainly not alone in loving the Commonwealth ceiling in the drawing room and the particularly imposing mirror that takes pride of place in the upper hallway!
Glad to hear that you hope to return to Scotland - haste ye back!
Kind regards
Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were in Scotland for two weeks in June and traveled all over the country. Never did we feel more welcomed or comfortable than at Victoria Place Guest house. Beautifully decorated rooms, delicious food (I especially loved the homemade jams and the goodies in the guest lounge).
Phil and Kari were wonderful hosts, willing to go above and beyond to make our stay perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Cindi H
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It is great to hear that you felt so welcome and of course that you liked our home made jams and bakes! Glad that we made your stay in Scotland a memorable one.
Kind regards
Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenheim, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely guest house at the end of our Scotland tour and it was a real highlight! The building is situated in a very pleasant, elegant and quiet area of Stirling right next to a small park. Offside parking ist available and Stirling centre is only located a 10 min walk away.

When entering the building we had a hearty welcome by Kari and her husband Phil and were immediately offered tea & coffee and homemade cake in the guest lounge (...really snuggish...). Both are charming and very helpful and therefore the perfect hosts! The house is decorated to a high standard and very personal and caring.

Our room (no. 5) was very spacious, tastefully furnished and equipped with everything we needed. We loved to sit in the baywindow seating area to have our afternoon tea and relax a little bit from sightseeing.

The delicious breakfast was served in the dining room and included home-made jam, fresh fruit, yoghurt, croissants and a large variety of cooked dishes. Lovely!

All the small details (not even mentioned in the comment) made our stay perfect and this place so exceptional. Thanks Kari and see you soon!

Room Tip: We loved no. 5, but had a look in other rooms - they were also perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggi_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Viaggi_CS
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. You have noted many things that will be of use to future guests. As you mention room 5 is a lovely room and it's seating area overlooking Victoria Square is perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by.
We look forward to your next visit and to welcoming you back to the Victoria Square Guest House.
Kind regards Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

An excellent place in a great location. The owners are very welcoming and friendly, and I would certainly recommend Victoria House for a great stay. It is just a short stroll to the castle and city centre. A great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Paul M,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. Like you we think that the location of Victoria Square is ideal: beautiful surroundings, close to the castle and the town centre. We are so glad you appreciated the 'experience' of our guest house; we like to think we offer something different and a little special.

Kind Regards,

Kari and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Everything was perfect! It is probably the finest Guest house in all of Scotland!! The house is absolute beautiful, high ceilings, beautiful design and architecture, outstanding rooms, and great breakfast.
The owners were also available to answer questions, make recommendations, and to help out when needed. I needed to complete some documents, and a PC was available to use.
The Victoria Square Guest House was in a perfect location. A quiet and beautiful neighborhood, and yet only a few minutes walk into the center of Stirling.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ijd67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ijd67

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always a delight for us to learn that guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us.
Hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Kari & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was my first time in Stirling. I stayed there for one nigh.Lovely place, very cosy room (nbr 7) and a very warm welcome. I really felt homeI. The next morning I could taste a delicious breakfast when I could taste a delicious homemade plum jam! I will certainly go back

Room Tip: Room number 7 lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandruki58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kari C, Owner at Victoria Square Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sandruki58,

We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us; Room 7 is very popular with our single travellers. They all seem to like the fact they it has all the facilities of our larger rooms, plus the bonus of a double bed in a single room. The homemade plum and rhubarb jams from fruit in our garden are very popular; we hope that we have enough to last us to next crop!

Kind Regards,

Kari and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colessio
Hotel Colessio
#4 of 20 in Stirling
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Guest House

Property: Victoria Square Guest House
Address: 12 Victoria Square, Stirling FK8 2QZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Square Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Visit Scotland rated, the Victoria Square Guest House combines period splendour with modern comfort for that touch of luxury. Ideally located within walking distance of Stirling's attractions, city centre, golf club, bus & train stations. All rooms en-suite with 32" and some with 40" Smart TVs, Egyptian cotton linen, bathrobes, Arran Aromatics toiletries and mini fridge. In addition to the luxurious bedrooms our guest can enjoy the comfort of our spectacular drawing and dining rooms. We also offer free WiFi & onsite parking. No children under 12. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Victoria Square Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Square Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing