We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Portcullis Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Our group of 5 adults stayed in 3 rooms for one night in this gorgeous hotel, with wonderful history and style.
Beautiful rooms and spotless up-to-date bathrooms. Views from the rooms over to Stirling Castle. Friendly and helpful staff, with great meal in the dining room. Wonderful little bar area and great overall atmosphere.
Wonderful experience !! Recommend it everyone, hope to stay their again one day, it exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights and as we were celebrating our Golden Wedding we entertained 11 guests for dinner.Our room was perfect with one exception - it was on the second floor but no lift.Other than that we and our guests had a great evening and the food was just exceptional. The quality of service from Lynn and her staff was second to none.Any requests were actioned promptly in a very pleasant manner.I would thoroughly The portcullis to all and thank them for a superb weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chadkilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Set in an Old School House and next door to the Stirling Castle, this Hotel provides a good location to enjoy a short trip to Stirling. The location and atmosphere inside the Hotel make it a must, even if the rooms are a bit noisy due to the old flooring, etc which makes noise when walking through the corridors.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clntard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Arrived about 5pm into empty bar which had a peculiar odour which put me off eating here later on. Room was comfortable and clean. TV didn't work properly as there was very little signal. Some noise from other rooms although nothing too disturbing.

In the morning wandered for ages round the empty hotel before I chanced upon a staff member who would serve me breakfast. Breakfast was OK, has the scrambled egg which was served so thick I could slice it.

Altogether quite expensive (£85) and was OK. Would probably try somewhere else in Stirling next time I visit and maybe visit the Portcullis bar as it is apparently a nice place to drink.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fossildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

stopped for lunch with the boyfriend on the way to the castle and literally didn't get any further! Wonderful food, great hospitality, big roaring fire and christmas tree, the place was so cosy and welcoming it was the highlight of our break. Room was spotless and the bed was SO comfy, Bathroom was immaculate and the views were fabulous. I can't say enough positive things about the place, it's a great spot.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecandymancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This is a very unique place. We stayed in a little room on the top floor. The restaurant was full. The food looked great. We ate elsewhere. It was a noisy and boisterous place. We would definitely have returned except that the noise continued into the night. On the two nights we stayed we were woken up by very loud cars just outside. Pity. This place has so much going for it. Stay here but pack earplugs.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disgruntled32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

You can't beat the location of the Portcullis for visiting Stirling Castle! It is literally right on the doorstep. Stirling Castle is well worth half a day. My tip would be to be at the ticket shop just before it opens (9:30 open) and then dash up the hill to the castle. There will be at least 4 buses already in the car park if it is July or August. Go on in and blaze back to the inner close - the tour buses start further out and you might find yourself lucky enough to be all alone in the Great Hall or Chapel as we did.
Just across the street from the Portcullis is Argyll Lodgings- one of the finest examples of a 17th C townhouse in Scotland. The tour is free with your castle entrance fee -it is well worth your extra time. Just down the street past the Holy Rude Church is The Old Jail. A a fun, if rather touristy, experience and great for the younger folk in your group. We also did a ghost walk - very entertaining.
Back to the Portcullis - #1 is location, #2 is food and atmosphere. Great pub - excellent food, well prepared and presented, plenty of quantity. It is a very busy little pub so be sure to ask about reserving a table for dinner. It is a quirky old building with odd rooms - but very comfortable to stay. We had very soft sheets and beds. Great shower, nice towels and bathroom. The cleanliness wasn't top notch, but wouldn't keep me from returning. There are only 4 hotel rooms - so it isn't a chain feeling at all. More like a B&B over a pub. Which I should point out did not interfere in terms of noise one tiny bit. We were there on a Friday and Saturday night. Both nights the pub was packed for dinner and later into the evening. Once in our rooms it was as peaceful as could be.
Another treat was the view from #2 -- amazing! - straight out over Stirling all the way to the Wallace Monument. Beautiful to see the morning in the mist and view the valley and town at night in the lights.
A memorable place to stay!

(PS - NO internet. At all. Just be aware. You can live without it for a day or two - I promise!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mamakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#6 of 20 in Stirling
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portcullis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portcullis Hotel

Address: Castle Wynd, Stirling FK8 1EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Portcullis Hotel Stirling
The Portcullis Hotel Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing