We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant visit - won't heat baby food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Portcullis Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Portcullis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
cairo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Restaurant visit - won't heat baby food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I ate lunch at the restaurant here with my extended family. The food was pretty average, not bad, just nothing to get excited about. On the service front, well, it was poor. The waitress and bar staff had limited patience with the non-native English speakers in our group (hello, this place is in the shadow of one of Scotland's most visited castles!!). When they asked for a jar of baby food to be heated, we were told there was a rule that no food can enter the kitchen from outside (interesting concept that!). That was that. So we went back to the bar and asked for some hot water to put the jar in. By now they had seen the jar twice. We got the hot water, but it was in a little jug. It was put on the table next to the jar and the waitress walked off. We then improvised with what we had to get a container to pour the water in in order to put the jug in the water. All in all, it was a very poor show of service in an area that would have cost them absolutely nothing ("Sorry, we can't heat it in the microwave, but we can get you a bowl with hot water if you like"). This wasn't my child, but I wouldn't go back because it honestly felt like we were imposing by being there. It seems like the sort of place that lasts because it is close to the castle and therefore gets a lot of tourists: non-repeat customers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank an_expat_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    60
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
68
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
397 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Robust food, good atmosphere, prime location. Window in room didn't fully close and strong grease smell everywhere. Narrow beds with akward spring mattresses but that seemed to be the case all over Scotland.
All in all good enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Room was comfortable with fantastic view across Stirling. The lounge/bar was perfect; nice & cosy with a lovely big fireplace and tasty food (tasty breakfasts too). Staff were all friendly and welcoming. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Our group of 5 adults stayed in 3 rooms for one night in this gorgeous hotel, with wonderful history and style.
Beautiful rooms and spotless up-to-date bathrooms. Views from the rooms over to Stirling Castle. Friendly and helpful staff, with great meal in the dining room. Wonderful little bar area and great overall atmosphere.
Wonderful experience !! Recommend it everyone, hope to stay their again one day, it exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights and as we were celebrating our Golden Wedding we entertained 11 guests for dinner.Our room was perfect with one exception - it was on the second floor but no lift.Other than that we and our guests had a great evening and the food was just exceptional. The quality of service from Lynn and her staff was second to none.Any requests were actioned promptly in a very pleasant manner.I would thoroughly The portcullis to all and thank them for a superb weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadkilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Set in an Old School House and next door to the Stirling Castle, this Hotel provides a good location to enjoy a short trip to Stirling. The location and atmosphere inside the Hotel make it a must, even if the rooms are a bit noisy due to the old flooring, etc which makes noise when walking through the corridors.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clntard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Arrived about 5pm into empty bar which had a peculiar odour which put me off eating here later on. Room was comfortable and clean. TV didn't work properly as there was very little signal. Some noise from other rooms although nothing too disturbing.

In the morning wandered for ages round the empty hotel before I chanced upon a staff member who would serve me breakfast. Breakfast was OK, has the scrambled egg which was served so thick I could slice it.

Altogether quite expensive (£85) and was OK. Would probably try somewhere else in Stirling next time I visit and maybe visit the Portcullis bar as it is apparently a nice place to drink.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fossildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portcullis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portcullis Hotel

Property: The Portcullis Hotel
Address: Castle Wynd, Stirling FK8 1EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Portcullis Hotel Stirling
The Portcullis Hotel Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing