We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King of the castle”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Portcullis Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

My girlfriend and I booked the Portcullis for the weekend when attending Scotland's first crime fiction festival, Bl--dy Scotland, after the event hotel was fully booked. And thank goodness it was for we'd've missed out on a treat. The Portcullis was warm and welcoming. The room was cosy, clean and comfortable and the bathroom spacious and sparkling. We dined in the restaurant on both nites (steak and burger on the Friday, burger and scampi on the Saturday) and the food was both fine in quality and filling in quantity (it's rare that I forgoe pudding but after my steak, I did!) As the icing on the cake, the Portcullis is on the edge of Stirling Castle's esplanade so you can be treated to amazing views of the Ochil Hills and the plains at sunset (very romantic!). We'll definitely be returning! Thank you Portcullis staff for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

Another visit to the Portcullis and another fine experience.

Good, inexpensively priced food, in a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere, with very friendly staff and excellent real local ale (Carronade on tap when I visited - superb condition, ideal temperature, presented perfectly).

Great for locals and tourists alike.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Review for food only...
On a flying visit to Stirling to drop off uni student, went around The Thistles Shopping centre to kill a couple of hours , luckily browsed in a jewellers and whilst talking to the friendly assistants was advised that popular eateries in Stirling were Papa Joe's (see other review) and The Portcullis Hotel by the castle.
We went on there web site and emailed a reservation.
Luckily on the saturday we visited the castle so called in to the hotel for a coffee and to confirm our booking only to be told they dont accept bookings for meals via email and that unfortunately they were full for tonight. I asked if I could leave my number incase of cancellations and within an hour had a call saying we were in.
So at 7pm we duly arrived, shown to our table and enjoyed an absolutely delicious meal, one of steak, one of prawns and salmon.
The hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere with very pleasant and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Woooodentop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This restaurant is so well priced, has happy staff, and is so quirky. The food is amazing and is so consistant we just keep returning we love the place. If the weather is good there is a beer garden and a smoking area. The Portcullis is situated up by Stirling Castle which is quite a steep walk but definately worth it! Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhelper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from Stirling where we really enjoyed this hotel. It's so close to the castle I think it's actually part of it. The view from the room is stunning. Check-in and out was confusing at first - there's no front desk, so all transactions are handled at the bar. But the people at the bar are very helpful and kind. The owner gave us advice, called a taxi to the airport, and tried to book us last-minute with a friend who conducts personal tours, but he was already booked. Our room was clean. They also carried our heavy suitcase up 3 flights of stairs for us. We loved this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

You can't get a more convenient stay than this on a visit to Stirling, Scotland. Close to the rail station, easy access to restaurants and shopping at the Thistles mall. The owner is a most gracious hostess, and the food was delicious! We had the special, which was a vegetable casserole with salad, bread. Breakfast was typical self-service cereals, tea, fruit, toast, and also a menu of other items. The rooms are mostly up-to-date and the view from the rooms are of Stirling Castle and the Wallace Monument. Older patrons need to know there are a lot of stairs to navigate. The owners help hauling luggage, will call for cabs, and advise on shopping, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Still in the restaurant an feel that strongly to write about this place. please do not eat in this place. staff great but food awful, burger was like a dry sand shoe.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lisableakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
993 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#16 of 20 in Stirling
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portcullis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portcullis Hotel

Address: Castle Wynd, Stirling FK8 1EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £80 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Portcullis Hotel Stirling
The Portcullis Hotel Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing