We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable hotel in a good location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Portcullis Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We found this by whim - we were visiting the castle and when doing more sight seeing when we inquired how much for a room. This is an old school converted into a working hotel - and like all things like this added to its charm. We stayed in room #1 which had an amazing view of both the castle and Stirling below. Our room over looked the courtyard - which is also the designated smoking areas so be warned. It has two single beds but we just pushed them together - in Spain this is not uncommon so we adopted that attitude. Other reviews were correct - there is a pad over the mattress and then a sheet on top of that only leaving a duvet. As with all the beds in Scotland this only helped to reduce the feel of the springs - but it was better than some we had slept on during our stay. We were both warm even though the windows have some cold air that leaks in from the outside and as previously mentioned after the caste was closed for the night the road became quite. The room was big enough to deal with our two large suitcases and there was a nice sized closet to hang our clothes. Our bathroom appeared to be updated but not finished - no towel racks for the towels. The shower was not powerful but clean and working fine. Breakfast was very tasty and filling and the owner was very nice and helpful. I found it very reasonable compared to other hotels and the B&B's in which we had been staying.

Room Tip: Be aware that street traffic starts around 7a and if you are a light sleeper you might want a room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potterkd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    61
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
46
70
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Every time we're in Stirling we try to stay in Portcullis, but you either have to book in advance or have some luck, because they only have 3 or 4 rooms on the top floor and are quite popular. Rooms are cozy and the view on the town below is great (especially from the corner room which is a twin-bed). Breakfast is very nice as well, you get an option of ordering smoked salmon which I always do :). The restaurant downstairs is great for dinner, but you need to book due to high demand for locals; but they usually manage to find a table for us relatively quickly while we're having some drinks at the bar. The menu looks really short, but the food is good and they are really generous with their meals - one main can be enough for two! The place is perfectly located for exploring the castle - it's right next to it - and the town centre is just a short stroll down.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuPont, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently stayed here while in Scotland for the funeral of my stepson. As you can image, it was a very difficult time for my husband and me. Lynne was a great comfort to my husband. She knew both my husband and stepson. I can not thank her and her husband enough for their kindness during our time of sorrow. The room we had was comfortable and had an outstanding view of Stirling Castle from the bathroom. It was literally in the hotel's backyard. Great location for the Castle and Old Town. As to breakfast, the smoked salmon and scrabbled eggs were the best I've had. I miss them as we travel throughout Scotland and England. If you want a great location and yummy breakfast choose the Portcullis.

Room Tip: We had room number 1. Great view of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Portcullis was our base for three days in Stirling and it was very well located, easy walk to everything (especially the castle which is literally next door). The hotel is in a very old building and has a great look to it but it seemed like it was more of a restaurant and bar with a hotel attached than the other way around. Staff did not seem to have the hotel as their highest priority. The hotel and the rooms had a strange musty odor and the rooms were very small but maybe you have to give it a little slack since it was so old. One thing I can't excuse was the bed and bedding; the mattress was old, thin and lumpy and the sheets did not fit at all. Also when we took the spare blanket out of the closet to use, because the duvet was way to hot for a summer night, it stank of mildew so much we could use it and it seemed to take forever for the smell to get out of our noses. A lot of reviews here are actually for the restaurant rather than the hotel but we never had a meal here other than breakfast (which was cooked to order and fine). The restaurant/bar was always busy at lunch and dinner time, so much so that it was hard to find a parking spot if you return during busy meal times.

Room Tip: Our room looked towards the front of the hotel and had a great view of the town and the river valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We live locally in Stirling so i've never stayed in the hotel but if we go out we go here, and if we have takeaway we go to The Brindisi. The service here is friendly and very efficient. It is always busy so i would advise anyone to book a table. The menu is not all that long, but that is a good thing in my experience. The garlic chilli chicken/garlic chicken is amazing and the array of salad each dish comes with is delicious and very well presented. The steaks are also absolutely faultless, the best steak i've ever had in fact! Lovely open fire in the winter, outside tables for the summer. 5* food all round!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Ate here on 27aug and was very disappointed with everything. We had a table booked for 7pm and arrived sharp for it went to bar to inform them of our arrival and got told its the fourth table up not even shown. Went to bar to order what we wanted and got told we will be 2mins waited for 10 then the waitress arrived to take order. We had 2 steaks 1 MW and 1MR which arrived in about 10 mins which was a little quick and was only Luke warm the veg which came with it was overcooked in fact I would go as far saying it was mush. Staff reminded me of not wanting to be there. This was meant to be our wedding anniversary meal. VERY DISSAPOINTED. WONT BE BACK

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank craigy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from a lovely 2 day break. Arrived Saturday and we were able to check in a little early. The hotel is a bit quirky, it seems to ramble on and on and has really thick walls, the lady who owned it told me that it used to be a school. Room 1 has a great view of the city and the bathroom has a great view of the Castle!
The food in the pub was excellent, we made the mistake of having a starter and a main course, we were full before we finished. The pub was very busy.
Breakfast in the upstairs dining room was excellent.The staff were very nice and friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the Castle, but you need to be fit if you walk into town, its a bit of a hike back up, but it certainly burns up the calories from breakfast and dinner. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a twin and has excellent views of the city and the castle, Although it seems noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoboCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portcullis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portcullis Hotel

Property: The Portcullis Hotel
Address: Castle Wynd, Stirling FK8 1EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Portcullis Hotel Stirling
The Portcullis Hotel Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing