We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stirling Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

good points - spacious room, comfortable bed, good choice at breakfast, reasonable prices for bar food, free wi-fi in rooms, free use of leisure facilities.
bad points - some of the staff were rude and unhelpful, kept awake by people talking in corridor in the night, electrics in room faulty (bulb in main light flickering, bulb in lamp not working, bathroom light on a motion sensor turing on and off at random throughout night with the extractor fan waking me), no lift so had to carry large suitcase up stairs and along corridor with more stairs, swipe card not working on couple of occassions meaning I had to walk all the way back to reception to get it sorted.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    197
    105
    32
    13
See reviews for
67
164
28
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent 2 nights here attending a wedding. The rooms are comfortable and can sleep 2 adults and one child on a fold down bed- but not very comfortable. The first night we were disturbed by noise from another wedding party until 3am and then woken by staff hoovering at 6am- not a great start. Someone was sick in the corridor overnight and it stank throughout our stay. We were able to move to a quieter room for the second night. Breakfast buffet is of a reasonable standard. The wedding we were attending took place in the hotel- lovely room over-looking Wallace Monument. Unfortunately our experience of the bar staff was very negative. They insisted that our children could not be in the area in front of the bar, but could be on the raised area adjacent. It is impossible to explain to a 4yr old that they need to be in one area of a room when everyone else at the wedding is nearby. We found the bar staff rude and impolite when we asked them to explain the position. The manager was even more off-hand and our impression was that staff were poorly trained and unable to explain things in a friendly, non-confrontational way. This really spoiled our stay and left us unlikely to stay again. We would also suggest that wedding and non-wedding guests have rooms in different parts of the hotel to minimise disturbance .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Monument and further from the central area are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

To find a truly quality accommodation at a reasonable price is difficult in the Stirling area, unless of course you have been to the Management Centre. I know some people might be put off staying here as it is in the University grounds, but they are amazing - its like a country retreat with a huge loch and various walks.

The staff are excellent and take great pride in first-class customer service. Rachel in particular was very helpful & friendly, especially to our two year old daughter.

The Management Centre is probably closer to Bridge of Allan, where there a number of places to eat. We actually sampled the bar menu and we were impressed - reasonably priced too. The breakfast is superb! Make sure you are starving before you go as you could eat there all morning such is the choice. You will find it hard to get such a tasty buffet breakfast anywhere else.

The rooms are spacious with a huge bed and TV, tea & coffee making facilities (cookies are amazing!) and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are spotless (with a bath) and there are complimentary toiletries. Loads of parking available and I am sure this would be an ideal base for exploring the local area.

I hope it is not long before we return for an even longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

1. The room. It's perfect - big and comfortable. The bathroom actually has a bath - it's so nice to take one in the end of a busy day. 2. The staff. Everyone, actually, but there is one girl in the restaurant, Veronika, who is just a gem. So kind and sincere. Big thanks to her. 3. The breakfast - eat as much as you can choosing from quite a wide variety, and it's, undoubtedly, the most delicious breakfast I ate during my whole stay in the United Kingdom. 4. The location. It's not very convenient for a person travelling by public transport, like me, you need to go by bus to the centre of Stirling, but it's not that bad. Buses are quite frequent after all. But the area within the campus is beautiful, with it's loch, it's swans, it's park.. It even has a castle. It does compensate everything. 5. The rabbits - I met some of them while going to the laundry,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaUdalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed at the University of Stirling for my first ever family holidays about 30 years ago. 5 years ago, I took my own family there and have returned every summer since. The location is geographically central, therefore ideal. The physical environment is perfect from the campus itself, to the accommodation and the surrounding hills, the campus loch, castle and golf course. The university sits in the centre of, perhaps, one of the most historically significant locations in Scotland, cue Braveheart! We love this place, it has become a 'second home' to us and the great thing is, we're going back next month! Fabulous - especially for families! I'm fussy and very demanding in my expectations with regard to customer service and standards. I have only praise for this wonderful place.

Room Tip: For families - choose the chalets at Pendreich Way or Spittal Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

that the University of Stirling had accommodation and deluxe at that ...whether its for a special occasion or like us on a road trip ...what a find..
We booked through cheap rooms and got a great rate..we booked in for just the 1 night but I wished it were more ..
Location special and the grounds are teaming with wild life ....
The complex near new ..
The room DELUXE ..yes those cookies were bliss...
The food very good as was the service ...we will return ..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My company booked a room for me and i stayed for one night. Room was good size and in good location as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aamertaimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling Court Hotel

Property: Stirling Court Hotel
Address: Airthrey Road | University of Stirling, Stirling FK9 4LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the University of Stirling campus and set in 300 acres of beautiful parkland, Stirling Court Hotel is just 10 minutes' drive from Stirling city centre. The hotel offers a 'home-from-home' environment. It has a bar, restaurant and leisure facilities, including a 50-metre pool, a modern gym and 9-hole golf course within the grounds. There are some shops on site, and the MacRobert Arts Centre has a full programme of films, live theatre, concerts and exhibitions. Stirling Court Hotel also has award-winning business facilities, with 24 fully equipped meeting rooms. Abbeycraig, the on-site restaurant, serves a varied selection of dishes. Menus are seasonal, with elements locally sourced where possible. You can also enjoy a drink in the lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stirling Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Management Centre Hotel Stirling
Stirling Court Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing