We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This review is for the restaurant - TOP MARKS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stirling Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This review is for the restaurant - TOP MARKS!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a purpose built centre within Stirling University and is used not only as a hotel but conference centre and wedding venue.
We came here after purchasing a Groupon voucher for a 3 course dinner for two and we weren't disappointed. We opted to sit in the conservatory which has a wonderful view of the Wallace Monument nearby.
The ambience was relaxing with the background music at just the right volume. Rachel, our waitress was very welcoming and helpful throughout.
The varied menu meant we had a difficult choice but I really loved the mushroom pate with my husband going for the salmon starter. Our mains were sea bass and a succulent fillet steak - the chef definitely knows what he/she is doing as the food was beautifully presented and tasted superb. There was a surcharge for one or two things on the menu (which is quite normal in most restaurants) but that didn't bother us as it was still great value. We'd had our sweet course when we overheard the people at another table asking for a cheeseboard (it wasn't written on the menu) so we ordered one for us to share too!
All in all, great food, comfortable surroundings and great service. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks so much for your fantastic review and top score rating. It’s just great to hear you had such a lovely night and enjoyed the food – we are really proud of the chefs. While the kitchen team have won awards for their creative dishes and food quality, the greatest compliment for them is when you, our guests enjoy their meals!! Thanks again, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    222
    116
    35
    17
See reviews for
80
185
28
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I shared a room here with a co-worker for 2 nights while we attended a meeting on campus. The Centre is perfectly located for that sort of stay! The room had really lovely beds, covers, blankets, pillows and the shower was great. We also had a magnificent view of the Wallace monument from our room. The breakfast was good - not outstanding, but good. My only real disappointment was that the exercise facilities that were advertised as part of the Centre, were not in the building (down the street) and because it was during a U break, they weren't open early in the morning. But, I probably would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SillySally14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Delighted to hear your stay nicely combined business with pleasure, and thanks for your great review. The Wallace Monument is very impressive and it has just undergone a major redevelopment of the interior galleries too so it’s well worth a visit – do come back and let us look after you while here for a leisure visit to see the local attractions – the new Bannockburn Centre has now opened and of course there’s the Safari Park for a fun time too, Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, Thanks, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Was here for a course with work. The food was great but they did run out of steak . That was the only negative thing.
The food was fab . Would recommend it.
The grounds are lovely. My daughter was a student so hand to catch up.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison31s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Gosh – so sorry to have run out of steak the night you were here – that would be disappointing for you, though it sounds as if you enjoyed the food quality, and how lovely of you to rave about the food. With your daughter studying here, I do hope it gives you the excuse to come back and stay again on a leisure break, or do book for a bar meal with your daughter as, so often, poor students really welcome a “free” meal courtesy of parents!!!
Thanks again, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East lothian
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay which cost £125 including breakfast. I booked here as Booking.com had it rated as 8.3 but this to me is not an accurate reflection. We were in room 128 next to a door leading to staircase so it was rather noisy and we were woken up a few times - so avoid this room. The room was a bit tired, it was clean but there was a lot of stains on the carpet 2 of them at the door were obviously recent. On switching on the shower not long after we arrived we discovered it was infact broken and sprayed water everywhere we reported it to reception and it was fixed whilst we had dinner - so good service here. However the bathroom door handle was also broken. We were not impressed with the breakfast the quality of food was poor. The staff were great they cannot be faulted - attentive, polite and nothing too much trouble. I would put a rating on this hotel at 7 and not 8.3. A fair price for two nights bearing in mind the standard of room and the quality of food would be £95 not £125. I really wanted to be able to rate higher but the room decor, the carpet stains, the broken handle and the faulty shower plus the noisy location and poor food would not allow me to. Staff though are first class.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seonaid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review – I appreciate you have given a very balanced view point, and this is really helpful. While the allocation of your room seemed to be poor, clearly you are positive about the standard of service our staff have delivered. Thanks again, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed here for 2 nights with a our 20 month old baby

Reception Staff - excellent, prompt check in, friendly

Housekeeping - room was thoroughly clean, after ringing reception to say the cot we had asked for wasn't in the room housekeeping had it brought and put up writhing less than 5 minutes. On passing housekeeping in the corridor they always said hello and gave a smile

Restaurant - we had breakfast 2 mornings. Food was delicious although The first morning the hot food was not well stocked, we had to keep going back up when they brought something else out. Lovely service from the waiter for tea & coffee. I asked for a high chair which was brought out promptly but the tray on it was filthy. Second morning breakfast was well stocked.

Room - very clean. Bed was ok for comfort. 2 bottle of water left for us which was a nice touch. We thought there was no kettle which was disappointing but we found this on the morning of check out in the bedside cupboard!

Overall nice stay and we would return

Location - we were visiting family in Stirling & had a car so location was excellent, only 10 mins drive

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you Maria. I appreciate the time you have taken and effort you have made to give us such a well balanced and constructive review. It can be hard work planning a trip away from home with a wee one, so I hope you managed some time relaxing when here. Thanks again.
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just had a one night stay while in the area on business, I have to say i was very impressed with the room and the excellent value it represents. I travel a lot on business and I found this to be exceptional value for money. I took the half board option wow the food was amazing I eat inlots of high quality restuarants and I have to say the presentation and quality of the food was of a michilin star restaurant. The breakfast was also excellent. Will definitely going back to stay..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 160Robbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
How wonderful, thanks for this, we feel really quite proud reading your glowing review. We are always striving for high standards so are very pleased to have such positive feedback. Your comments carry great weight for us too, as you mention you travel a great deal so you will have experience of service at all levels. Thanks again, and hurry back, kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed one night - was a good stay and the dinner was excellent.

room was clean and comfortable and campus is lovely. didn't have time to use the pool or visit the cinema or arts centre, will need to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
So pleased you stayed with us and even more pleased too, that you had a good experience!! There is so much to do in the area with the things you mention, and in addition there is also the new Bannockburn Centre, with the 3D technology too - it's just opened, amazing to experience and definitely merits another trip from Forfar, or a day trip to the Safari Park, please hurry back. Thanks for the high rating, kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
3.5 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
961 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Stirling M80
Travelodge Stirling M80
#3 of 3 in Bannockburn
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling Court Hotel

Property: Stirling Court Hotel
Address: Airthrey Road | University of Stirling, Stirling FK9 4LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the University of Stirling campus and set in 300 acres of beautiful parkland, Stirling Court Hotel is just 10 minutes' drive from Stirling city centre. The hotel offers a 'home-from-home' environment. It has a bar, restaurant and leisure facilities, including a 50-metre pool, a modern gym and 9-hole golf course within the grounds. There are some shops on site, and the MacRobert Arts Centre has a full programme of films, live theatre, concerts and exhibitions. Stirling Court Hotel also has award-winning business facilities, with 24 fully equipped meeting rooms. Abbeycraig, the on-site restaurant, serves a varied selection of dishes. Menus are seasonal, with elements locally sourced where possible. You can also enjoy a drink in the lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Stirling Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Management Centre Hotel Stirling
Stirling Court Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing