We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night on campus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stirling Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One night on campus”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

No lifts, I know it's only to First floor but as a couple of 69 year-olds with some disabilities, it was a struggle to get our case up and then along a long corridor to our room. The staff were good and the area quiet at night, apart from the squeaky corridor floor! Breakfast was a bit disjointed and we had some problems getting a cup of coffee. We left something behind which was posted on to us, excellent. As serial leavers of things in hotels we were pleased with this!. Overall quite good.

Room Tip: Unless you like transporting luggage upstairs, get a ground floor room, if you are below par in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyLeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
How kind of you to score us so highly on your review - thank you. However I feel we let you down, as we do indeed have a lift, but clearly kept it well hidden. I am very sorry as we ought to have helped you more with your luggage, or at least guided you to our lift. You made me smile with your description as "serial leavers of things", and I'm glad we were able to redeem ourselves a little with our service to you. Thanks again, Gail

Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    209
    111
    34
    15
See reviews for
71
175
28
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Callander, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Friendly staff and clean tidy room with hairdryer, trouser press, shampoo/conditioner, shower gel, etc... Only minor quibble - it is not the quietest of hotels.

Breakfast was superb and the lunch time buffer was very tasty. It looked like a popular conference centre as there were a few groups (incl Visit Scotland, Historic Scotland, etc) there for a conference.

OK, so it is not the Ritz, but it is much better than some Travelodges that I have been!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JensonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your high rating review, its much appreciated and your very positive mention of our breakfast standards. I hope you will stay with us again, when you are next in this area. Kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
292 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As a starter we had a double room which according to latebeds was heavily discounted. I think that a single room was a very good price according to them. The price was OK for the double. This is in Bridge of Allan, at Stirling university, which is about 10 mins drive from Stirling centre. We took the bus into town £4.00 return and the stop was just down the road at the university past the swimming pool. This is obviously very good if you have a course at the university. It was very quiet and functional. I found it a little soulless and it made me think of slightly upgraded university accommodation but it was clean and everything worked well. Breakfast was good and plenty of it and the service was efficient. Finishing breakfast service at 9am and 10 am checkout is a little early I think.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newgallowaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for this review, it's very helpful. The point you make about check out time is something we will consider at senior level. Your comments about our breakfasts are positive, thats for this, its much appreciated. Kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here the last week in April. We had seen the hotel had a good rating and were very much looking forward to our stay.
We were impressed on arrival but that very much changed once we got to our room.
The room did not live up to our expectations we could hear everything that was happening at the reception, in the hall and in other rooms. The "double" bed was very small and there were holes in the sheets. I would say these rooms are more like dorm rooms for students and not worth the money when you can get cheaper rooms at travel lodges and premier inns with better facilities. All in a very bad experience and will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and making the effort to give us your review. I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations and I apologise for the quality of bedding. This is certainly not the standard for which we aim and I appreciate very much your feedback as it allows me to review our processes and make the necessary improvements to ensure this is not repeated. I do apologise once again for the poor stay you experienced and hopefully you may consider us for the future and allow us an opportunity to demonstrate our normal high standard of service.Thanks again, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a review of the restauant only at the management centre. We had been given a Groupon voucher for a 3 course meal for 2 and booked for a Saturday evening. On entering the dining room we found it to be very bare, quite clinical, and not very warm! We were seated at a table and given the menu. We noticed right away that most of the courses on the set Groupon menu all had an addtional supplement, which in some cases were quite high. In fact every course my husband chose carried an extra cost which added up to over £15!
I ordered the salmon to start and although the dish when it arrived was well presented, the salmon was the size of a 50p piece with a piece of seaweed wrapped around it. I had then chosen the sea bass which came with only vegetables and lentils. THe sea bass was barely 1.5 ins in length and did not take long to eat!!!
I would not recommend the Groupon deal and the table behind us had chosen from the main menu and had several complaints about their meal as well.
A disappointing experience unfortunately.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snawba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent experience in our restaurant. Obviously I am disappointed to learn that we have failed to live up to the expectations, and I will be reviewing your comments, and each of your points, with our management team to ensure we can learn, and improve as necessary. Thanks again, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Premier Inn standard... or maybe slightly lower. Very good value with breakfast included. Lovely bar food. On the downside ... our bathroom door did not fit so did not close, shower took a long time to heat up, a few cobwebs, paper thin walls.

But as they say you get what you pay for so if you are looking for a good value stay in Stirling then it will be hard to beat. Booking.com had lower rates than the facilities own website. If you are after a romantic break then choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I appreciate you letting us know about the housekeeping issues and I will ensure action on this is taken promptly on each of these points. It is great that you feel our food quality is high and that you consider us good value for money too – thanks again for taking the time and making the effort to review your stay. Kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a purpose built centre within Stirling University and is used not only as a hotel but conference centre and wedding venue.
We came here after purchasing a Groupon voucher for a 3 course dinner for two and we weren't disappointed. We opted to sit in the conservatory which has a wonderful view of the Wallace Monument nearby.
The ambience was relaxing with the background music at just the right volume. Rachel, our waitress was very welcoming and helpful throughout.
The varied menu meant we had a difficult choice but I really loved the mushroom pate with my husband going for the salmon starter. Our mains were sea bass and a succulent fillet steak - the chef definitely knows what he/she is doing as the food was beautifully presented and tasted superb. There was a surcharge for one or two things on the menu (which is quite normal in most restaurants) but that didn't bother us as it was still great value. We'd had our sweet course when we overheard the people at another table asking for a cheeseboard (it wasn't written on the menu) so we ordered one for us to share too!
All in all, great food, comfortable surroundings and great service. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks so much for your fantastic review and top score rating. It’s just great to hear you had such a lovely night and enjoyed the food – we are really proud of the chefs. While the kitchen team have won awards for their creative dishes and food quality, the greatest compliment for them is when you, our guests enjoy their meals!! Thanks again, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.9 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
715 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
360 reviews
3.5 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling Court Hotel

Property: Stirling Court Hotel
Address: Airthrey Road | University of Stirling, Stirling FK9 4LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the University of Stirling campus and set in 300 acres of beautiful parkland, Stirling Court Hotel is just 10 minutes' drive from Stirling city centre. The hotel offers a 'home-from-home' environment. It has a bar, restaurant and leisure facilities, including a 50-metre pool, a modern gym and 9-hole golf course within the grounds. There are some shops on site, and the MacRobert Arts Centre has a full programme of films, live theatre, concerts and exhibitions. Stirling Court Hotel also has award-winning business facilities, with 24 fully equipped meeting rooms. Abbeycraig, the on-site restaurant, serves a varied selection of dishes. Menus are seasonal, with elements locally sourced where possible. You can also enjoy a drink in the lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stirling Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Management Centre Hotel Stirling
Stirling Court Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing