We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation in Central Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stirling Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good accommodation in Central Scotland”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Using a Groupon (£119) for two nights accommodation and dinner for one night, we found the Stirling Management Centre good value. The rooms were similar to a good Premier Inn/ Travel Lodge facility. The generous buffet breakfasts offered plenty of good quality choice in a spacious envirnoment while dinner was served in the equally spacious Conservatory. This was a pleasant meal but suffered from a long delay (20/30 minutes) before the first course arrived ... after that it was fine. A large function was being held in the adjacent room which probably explained the delay. The Centre is located in the beautiful grounds of Stirling University so there are plenty of walks and space to explore .... you can also walk to the Wallace Monument in about 10/ 15 minutes. Stirling Castle, Bannockburn, the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies are all within a 30 minute drive. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful especially Hannah on reception who is a gem, and answered all our numerous queries efficiently with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSB-Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Well what a lovely full review and such a high rating too - thank you very much and, for readers looking at this, they will find it very useful, I'm sure. Your comments about our team and especially Hannah, will be relayed and I'm sure they will be delighted. Thanks again, and I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back if you are in the area needing accommodation again. Kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    214
    116
    35
    15
See reviews for
75
179
28
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The room was a very good size. Very comfortable beds and I slept very well during my stay. The hotel is a part of the beautiful university grounds and very close to the town.
Breakfast was very good. My only gripe was with the taps in the shower/bath which I found incredibly hard to operate.

Room Tip: Ground floor request
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Well, I really appreciate you scoring us high with this, thank you. The estate around us is beautiful at this time of year, as there is so much colour, when everything is in full bloom. Thank you for your kind comments. Best wishes, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for one night as we attended a wedding there that day. We used the Groupon deal otherwise we would not have stayed. It isn't worth £160.00 for one night, I would have expected a bigger room for that price at least. The room was clean and well furnished, the only problem was the mattress protector and bed sheet didn't fit properly and came off when we pulled the covers back.
The staff were great in the morning at breakfast, keeping the tables clean and the breakfast stocked up. We were offered hot drinks as soon as we sat down and there was plenty to chose from for breakfast.
I would advise checking where your room is, as we were at the end of a very long corridor, up and down stairs to get there which isn't ideal if you have a lot of luggage. It was probably preferable to having people constantly walking past to get to their room though.

Room Tip: Check where the room is as we had a long walk past every other room on the floor to get to ours, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Your review is great, thanks for the detail, I know this will be useful for readers. Glad our team met your expectations, and looked after you well. Thanks again,j
Kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from the Stirling management centre for a weekend break with my wife and daughter. We got a deal though a voucher site which included tickets to Blair Drummond Safari park.
Room: fine for weekend but a holiday inn express type of accommodation.
Breakfast: very good buffet style but no potato scones come on its Scotland!!!
Hotel bar: pricey but aren't they all!!!
However on to the hidden gems. The hotel is set within the grounds of Stirling uni which are huge and beautiful with its own loch. You can use all the uni facilities including the uni bar which is cheaper than the hotel! The uni also has a cheap cinema which we used on Saturday night to see guardians of the galaxy. We also eat in the uni bar which is also cheaper than the hotel!
You can also use the uni swimming pool if you wish.

The uni also has a supermarket, book shop and a chemist.

Hotel is a bit out of Stirling 10 mins in a car or an hours walk to the castle! Phew!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review and the high rating, much appreciated. You seemed to have enjoyed our location and the safari park, so I'm pleased and do hope you'll consider us when next looking for accommodation in the area. Keep an eye on our web site as often we have offers, and work with partners like the Safari Park. Thanks again, kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were attracted to this venue by an offer which included free tickets to the local Safari Park as well as B&B, so we probably got what we paid for, which was a smallish room with a very small uncomfortable double bed, a nearly unusable toilet (it made a horrendous crunching noise when you sat on it), windows which barely openned and a non working air con system. All this made for a very hot, uncomfortable night made worse by noisey people in the corridor! We opted to eat in the restaurant as the alternative was the bar area which looked very unwelcoming but after a very poor, expensive meal, we wished we had chosen the bar! We both opted for the sea bass, mine was fine but my husband's tasted "off", he wasn't going to complain but we had been abandoned for ages by the staff and so took the opportunity to say something when asked about the food. He was calm and pleasant and explained that the fish tasted off, the waitress said she would tell the chef. We waited for ages to be told that the fish was fresh and there was nothing wrong with it, what happened to customer service.......The only redeming feature of this managment centre pretending to be an above average hotel (and failing) was the excellent breakfast, great, varied food and plenty of it. I have already made my complaints to the centre, several weeks ago, but nobody has bothered to contact me to discuss our stay and I have noticed that my review was not added to their own website, so I look forward to the reply on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi Carol, I am so very sorry we fell short of your expectations, when you stayed with us. It seems the bedroom, food service and indeed our food quality was disappointing for you and this certainly is not the standard for which we, as a team, always strive. I read your review about the Safari Park and when you have had such a great time there, its even worse that we disappointed , as I would have hoped that with the special offer you could be "double delighted".
I really would love to have an opportunity to learn a little bit more about your experience of the Centre and talk to you about some specific points, if you would afford me your time. My number is 01786 466174, if you can give me a ring, I would appreciate it.
Kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room décor is airbrushed on website. Looks a bit tired. A level above travel lodge. However we had comfortable night stay. Ate in bar where food was good but average. Staff very friendly. Bonus is that you can travel to Stifling by bus from the Centre and leave the car!

On the downside we chose to stay here principally for swimming, The pool was not open in the morning so we could not swim before breakfast. It was only open after 12.30 and then again between 5 and 6 pm.

Room Tip: Check out where room is situated as we had quite a long walk to our room. No lift and up two leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hi thank you for your review and comments.
I am glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us, but so sorry that we didn't communicate to you that we have a lift and also where it is, that may have made things a little easier for you. I am sorry too, you didn't have a chance to swim in our amazing pool - because it is so unique a number of clubs book it for training, so on occasions there is restricted use. The team there have produced a timetable to show the dates and times when full access is available.
As you have highlighted this, it clearly would be useful for other guests, if we pop it on our web pages or have a link to the sports centre web page where the information is displayed. I'll ask our web team to review this. Thanks again, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were visiting and having supper an old friend who lives in the Stirling area. I admit we chose this hotel as it offered check-ins until 22:30. Fortunately we were a bit early to visit our friend so went to find the hotel first. The university campus is quite large and we struggled a bit to find the conference centre. A tip, use the lake as a guide. (As they are private roads a GPS (statnav) is not much use.
The building is a large modern building with a very friendly and efficient staff.
The rooms are very well designed and comfortable. As one could expect from a hotel attached to a University conference centre, there is a large work area in the bedroom and very good wifi available everywhere.
There is a large airy bar and lounge and a good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StirlingMgtCentre, Manager at Stirling Court Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Wow Mike - what a gem of a reveiw - many thanks for rating us so highly. Hope you enjoyed supper and your time with your friend; it's always good to have a catch up!
Kind regards, Gail
Gail Miller
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.8 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.9 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
506 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
735 reviews
1.8 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling Court Hotel

Property: Stirling Court Hotel
Address: Airthrey Road | University of Stirling, Stirling FK9 4LA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the University of Stirling campus and set in 300 acres of beautiful parkland, Stirling Court Hotel is just 10 minutes' drive from Stirling city centre. The hotel offers a 'home-from-home' environment. It has a bar, restaurant and leisure facilities, including a 50-metre pool, a modern gym and 9-hole golf course within the grounds. There are some shops on site, and the MacRobert Arts Centre has a full programme of films, live theatre, concerts and exhibitions. Stirling Court Hotel also has award-winning business facilities, with 24 fully equipped meeting rooms. Abbeycraig, the on-site restaurant, serves a varied selection of dishes. Menus are seasonal, with elements locally sourced where possible. You can also enjoy a drink in the lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stirling Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling Management Centre Hotel Stirling
Stirling Court Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing