We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Whisky Bar”
Review of Curly Coo Bar

Curly Coo Bar
Ranked #1 of 15 Nightlife in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Stirling's only Whisky Bar. Stocking over 130 Malt Whiskies... Local beers, a selection of Scottish Gins, Ciders and more... A warm welcome awaits you at this cosy wee bar.
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Cosy Whisky Bar”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

If you're looking for a friendly pub without intrusive loud music this is the place for you. With a fantastic selection of whiskies and some unusual lagers and ales, this is my new favourite pub in Stirling. The landlady is very welcoming and happy to chat and advise you if you're not sure which drink you want to try. Very welcoming to locals and tourists, do not pass this place by!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Muppet333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    10
    1
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BRILL”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Used to visit the bar in Crieff, so really pleased to stumble across the place. Mandy knowledgable and friendly as ever.
A must visit for any whisky lover or people just looking for somewhere to get a pint and have a chat without telly or loud music intruding.

Helpful?
2 Thank nuttyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great wee gem!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My partner & I stayed in Stirling for a weekend trip away, after a meal in a local Indian we decided to take a wander & see what pubs Stirling had to offer. We went into one prior to this which was a great pub, but very loud & we both found it difficult to speak to each other at several points we were shouting at each other just to hear. We took a walk around town & came across the Curly Coo. Admittedly, at first, we were both apprehensive, it looked quiet from the outside, but came in regardless & can happily say it was the best decision we made. The pub had a great atmosphere & we both got very comfortable & had a great night. The owner came & spoke to us on several occasions which was actually really nice - she was genuinely interested in us & our story, why we came to Stirling, what our plans were & so on. It was a really pleasant experience & we will be back :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TkdDisciple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Finally Stirling has a proper pub!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Too many bars in Stirling are run by one brewery so it's great that we finally have a proper independent run by the indomitable Mandy. Great for locals and tourists alike

Helpful?
1 Thank Greenlisa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mandy and her whiskies”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Really nice wee bar with a great selection of malt whiskies.
Knowing Mandy from the old coo in Crieff. And the new coo is a "must" if you visit Stirling.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lenaherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curly Coo Bar also viewed

 
Stirling, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to Curly Coo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing