We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stirlings second castle”
Review of The Old Tram House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Tram House
Ranked #10 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

2 nights bed and breakfast at it's very best....

Alison (the owner) made my stay in her home comfartable and very welcoming! It's a home from home with the sweetest chic decor and very high standards of upkeep and cleanliness.
The breakfast choices were superb (i thoroughly enjoyed my full scottish) and the service with a friendly smile made it all the more enjoyable!
I highly recommend The Old Tram House when visitin the historical city of stirling, i know i WILL be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Welcome was economic and functional. Had to select breakfast choice night before which a few B&Bs do but is this really necessary? Breakfast was clearly produced way in advance the resultant rubber poached egg dried sausage & black pudding allowed to have been served was a disgrace. The décor throughout will appeal to some however the Bling and tat was overpowering. Bedroom was comfortable and spotlessly clean however maintenance is suspect with a cracked socket and another which didn't work. The lounge where the offer of a wee dram or brandy could be taken was locked in the evening, a bit of a con. Yes of course one should complain however clearly the owner was doing her best which for me really wasn't good enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Room88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

HI,
First .
We are four star , and offer excellent value for money.
We do have a menu to which we do ask you to choose if possible the main breakfast choice the night before.
All food is cooked fresh to order in the morning exactly for your chosen breakfast time.
All produce is as locally sourced and it,s a surprise you don,t like one of the best black puddings money can buy that we use here . we offer a very high standard and i guess it,s why we have so many wonderful reviews.
Our guest lounge is open until 11 pm in the evening to which all our guests can enjoy a wee complimentary night cap of a whiskey or brandy to which many in previous reviews have enjoyed and mentioned. it,s always there.
If after 11 pm yes we do lock it as it is not opened all night long for the comfort of the guest room above ,
There is no cracked socket of which you mention here in your review
We are four star and sorry our very good set up just was not obviously for your personal liking here..
Currently we are right now upgrading more which again may not be to your liking,.
On our web site we have an up to date video for all to see which shows the inside of the property .
We always, give a very warm Scottish welcome and do strive to make all our guests stay comfortable and go out our way to help which again is mentioned in a major amount of our reviews.
Again i Guess none of this was just to your personal you liking,......
Management.
.
I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed for one night, excellent service all round. High standards of cleanliness and service. Very friendly hostess. Front facing rooms can be noisy from traffic due to house bejng situated on nain roadinto Stirling. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in room 3, wee bit noisy from traffic. Would suggest room 2, away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

HI .
And thank you so much for taking time to write a review .
I,m so glad you found the amenities so nice here and especially as we have started to upgrade all the property just now too. and our location so convenient for everything ,
As we are on a main bus route also which is really great especially for those without cars , and close to all Stirling has to offer including the William Wallace Monument , Stirling university,ect , The house is fully double glazed also for the comfort of all our guests.
It was really nice to meet you and look forward to you returning again if you are ever back in Stirling.
Kind regards
Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed in this b&b for nearly 3 weeks and enjoyed every minute of it! The rooms were comfortable and breakfast delicious (I'd say I tried everything)!!!! Alison was welcoming and friendly throughout my stay and couldn't have been more helpful!!! I look forward to visiting this b&b again and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The b&b is unbelivably beautiful in every detail, it's very close to the national wallace monument and fairly close to the Stirling castle and city center. Breakfast is delicious, service is great and we felt very welcome every day of our stay. Quiet and beautiful, we'll come back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Picturesque B&B. The landscape was lovely. Alison recieved us and showed us how and where to move around. I appreciated our time there, the house was beautiful and the bedroom and bathroom were elegantly decorated. Breakfast was spectacular, both the food and the presentation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

An excellent B&B in all ways - warm, comfortable, friendly, great location and an excellent breakfast! We will certainly go back! Being on a busy road, I thought it might be noisy, but although the room was at the front, traffic noise was not an issue......Of course the very comfortable bed and cosy room may have played a part in that! Thanks, Alison - see you again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P9C9C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.6 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#6 of 20 in Stirling
589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.4 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
0.3 mi away
Ravenswood Guest House
Ravenswood Guest House
#4 of 59 in Stirling
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Tram House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Tram House

Address: 42 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: £52 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Tram House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Tram house is a Victorian stone villa offering four star en-suite accommodation.Open all year round. Close to Stirling university, all local attractions,motorway links., 40 minutes from Glasgow, Edinburgh airports, an ideal touring base. We offer a varied breakfast menu and cater for vegetarian also. All welcome, Long staying guests also welcome and we look forward to seeing you very soon. A warm Scottish welcome awaits.Short and long stays welcome , corporate rates available and multiple night rates also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Tram House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Tram House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing