We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 5 Star Luxury Stay”
Review of The Old Tram House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Tram House
Ranked #9 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Thank you, Alison for a wonderful stay. Your guest house is beautiful and your attention to detail is amazing. It was a perfect stop for our first night in Scotland! After travelling all night we were able to relax and recharge. Your breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip. Location was right in the center of where we wanted to be. I would highly recommend staying here - and returning if we ever are back in Stirling again.

Room Tip: They're all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hi to you all.
Thank you so very much for this fantastic review for The Old Tram house.
I'm so glad to hear you found it to a very high standard and so glad you were able to relax and recharge the batteries here .
It was a great pleasure to meet you and I'm always so glad to get great feed back like this , it makes it all worth while.
I do hope if you come back you will choose to book back here ,I hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you for the great comments.
Kindest regards,
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We can't speak highly enough of The Old Tram House B&B. Alison made us feel very welcome and everything about this B&B is first class. Beautifully decorated, with plenty of space in both the rooms and the guest's lounge. And the breakfasts are very very good. The position is superb, with a very good local pub and also a lovely cafe within easy walking distance. And bus stops right outside for trips to either the University or City centre. We will definitely stay here next time we visit Stirling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

HI to you both.
Thank you for such a fantastic review of The Old Tram house.
It really was a pleasure to meet you and I'm so glad you found a good high standard here, It's always nice and encouraging to hear this feed back and im, always glad to know how guest have enjoyed everything, and found the room and breakfasts so good, I know you really enjoyed the locality,local pubs and restaurant's and found everyone here so friendly.
Great feed back for this community and myself
I do hope on the next gathering of clans in Stirling we will see you booked back , Thank you for coming to stay.
Warmest regards and wishes.
Alison..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We arrived after a long drive to a warm welcome from Alison, there was a mix up with our booking which was quickly remedied. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated, nice and big and with a great bathroom. The breakfast provided was very tasty and comprehensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

HI,
Thank you very much for your great review of The Old Tram .house.
It really was great to meet you and I'm so glad you found everything to your liking and the breakfast selection great too,.
I do hope to see you back soon in the near future.
Can I just say your booking was fine , it just looked like there should have ben 6 of you the way it had been written in the third party booking providers extranet which I could see was not quite right and should have been placed as a separate booking by them and all was rectified here.
And I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kindest regards.
Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful rooms so unique and a lovely touch, owners couldn't be nicer and chatty, stayed two nights for my brothers graduation in Stirling university was only £5 in a taxi or could be a 10 mins walk- ideal.
Breakfast was lovely with a huge variety to choose from would suit everyone. Would definitely stay here again! Really pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rmcinnes94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I can't say enough good about this place! After 2 months in Europe (and some dodgy accommodations), we ended our trip in Stirling. We must have saved the best for last, because the Old Tram House was wonderful! Rooms were spotlessly clean, food was wonderful, Alison was so very kind and helpful, rooms were spacious... If you visit Stirling, you need to stay here for a beautiful, relaxing time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveller155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed here twice with my children and cannot compliment the standard of cleanliness enough. The rooms are immaculate and decor is delightful. Alison has made us feel welcome on both occasions and I would not hesitate to recommend this first class B&B .. It's on a par if not better than some 4&5 star hotels I have stayed in around the world. Alison is a friendly accommodating hostess with nothing too much trouble; she will go out of her way often sacrificing her own time to either book a restaurant or taxi for you . Nothing is too much trouble. And to top it all off her breakfast is well... Amazing!!!! Fresh fruit, bread, jams, honey, yoghurts, pastries fresh juice and on top of all of that a huge cooked breakfast which has been carefully cooked for individual guests.. A true gem of a B&B with a fantastic host.. Thanks again Alison can't wait for our next visit .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molliema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Location of the B&B is ideal. Situated 10 minute walk to Wallace monument, 20 minute walk to downtown Stirling, 10 minute walk to historic Stirling Bridge, and 25 minute walk to Stirling Castle. If walking is not an option, there is very convenient bus service right outside hotel to take you to downtown Stirling. Owner keeps the home immaculate, pays very good attention to detail. Breakfast is wonderful, with great selections of both hot and cold food. You will not go hungry. Would recommend the Old Tramhouse for anyone wanting to make Stirling their base for exploring the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jason60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#11 of 20 in Stirling
1,019 reviews
1.4 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
0.3 mi away
Ravenswood Guest House
Ravenswood Guest House
#5 of 59 in Stirling
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Tram House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Tram House

Address: 42 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: £56 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Tram House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Tram house is a Victorian stone villa offering four star en-suite accommodation.Open all year round. Close to Stirling university, all local attractions,motorway links., 40 minutes from Glasgow, Edinburgh airports, an ideal touring base. We offer a varied breakfast menu and cater for vegetarian also. All welcome, Long staying guests also welcome and we look forward to seeing you very soon. A warm Scottish welcome awaits.Short and long stays welcome , corporate rates available and multiple night rates also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Tram House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Tram House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing