We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B”
Review of The Old Tram House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Tram House
Ranked #5 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a night on a very quick tour of Scotland
And even though there was a bit of a mix up with our booking Alison was very quick to keep us informed and was ready to make sure we had somewhere just as lovely to stay if needed.
The room was lovely and the bathroom fabulous
The antique furniture and the decor meant that the atmosphere was lovely and homely whilst being quite special.
Breakfast was delicious and included lovely homemade bread and marmalade
Very handy to be able to walk to the William Wallace monument

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
HI to you both.
Thank you so very much for your lovely review for The Old Tram house.
I'm so glad you found all to a high standard and enjoyed the breakfast selection n the guest dining room.
The feed back is most welcome and I do hope to see you both again in the near future.
Its so sorry the booking looked like there was 6 in one party the way it showed on the third party booking site but soon resolved this issue.
It was a real pleasure to meet you both.
Kindest regards.
Alison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    49
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
126
239
33
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. Allison was very friendly and helpful, and offered lots of information about the city. Excellent breakfast, and best vegetarian sausage I had in Scotland!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndsayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
HI to you both.
I am so happy you both enjoyed your stay here at the start of your honeymoon.
It was a great pleasure to meet you both and again congratulations wishing you all the best for the future, I hope you had a nice time in Scotland.
I'm glad to hear you found everything nice for you and glad my veggie sausage was really liked.
I always have a good selection of main breakfast choices available and happy to offer vegetarian's choices too.
I do hope if coming back to Stirling you will book back here ,hope to see you both again in the near future.
Warmest regards.
Alison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Thank you, Alison for a wonderful stay. Your guest house is beautiful and your attention to detail is amazing. It was a perfect stop for our first night in Scotland! After travelling all night we were able to relax and recharge. Your breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip. Location was right in the center of where we wanted to be. I would highly recommend staying here - and returning if we ever are back in Stirling again.

Room Tip: They're all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hi to you all.
Thank you so very much for this fantastic review for The Old Tram house.
I'm so glad to hear you found it to a very high standard and so glad you were able to relax and recharge the batteries here .
It was a great pleasure to meet you and I'm always so glad to get great feed back like this , it makes it all worth while.
I do hope if you come back you will choose to book back here ,I hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you for the great comments.
Kindest regards,
Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We can't speak highly enough of The Old Tram House B&B. Alison made us feel very welcome and everything about this B&B is first class. Beautifully decorated, with plenty of space in both the rooms and the guest's lounge. And the breakfasts are very very good. The position is superb, with a very good local pub and also a lovely cafe within easy walking distance. And bus stops right outside for trips to either the University or City centre. We will definitely stay here next time we visit Stirling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
HI to you both.
Thank you for such a fantastic review of The Old Tram house.
It really was a pleasure to meet you and I'm so glad you found a good high standard here, It's always nice and encouraging to hear this feed back and im, always glad to know how guest have enjoyed everything, and found the room and breakfasts so good, I know you really enjoyed the locality,local pubs and restaurant's and found everyone here so friendly.
Great feed back for this community and myself
I do hope on the next gathering of clans in Stirling we will see you booked back , Thank you for coming to stay.
Warmest regards and wishes.
Alison..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We arrived after a long drive to a warm welcome from Alison, there was a mix up with our booking which was quickly remedied. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated, nice and big and with a great bathroom. The breakfast provided was very tasty and comprehensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRITAINBRIT, Owner at The Old Tram House, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
HI,
Thank you very much for your great review of The Old Tram .house.
It really was great to meet you and I'm so glad you found everything to your liking and the breakfast selection great too,.
I do hope to see you back soon in the near future.
Can I just say your booking was fine , it just looked like there should have ben 6 of you the way it had been written in the third party booking providers extranet which I could see was not quite right and should have been placed as a separate booking by them and all was rectified here.
And I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kindest regards.
Alison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful rooms so unique and a lovely touch, owners couldn't be nicer and chatty, stayed two nights for my brothers graduation in Stirling university was only £5 in a taxi or could be a 10 mins walk- ideal.
Breakfast was lovely with a huge variety to choose from would suit everyone. Would definitely stay here again! Really pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmcinnes94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I can't say enough good about this place! After 2 months in Europe (and some dodgy accommodations), we ended our trip in Stirling. We must have saved the best for last, because the Old Tram House was wonderful! Rooms were spotlessly clean, food was wonderful, Alison was so very kind and helpful, rooms were spacious... If you visit Stirling, you need to stay here for a beautiful, relaxing time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Tram House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Tram House

Property: The Old Tram House
Address: 42 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Tram House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Tram house is a Victorian stone villa offering four star en-suite accommodation.Open all year round. Close to Stirling university, all local attractions,motorway links., 40 minutes from Glasgow, Edinburgh airports, an ideal touring base. We offer a varied breakfast menu and cater for vegetarian also. All welcome, Long staying guests also welcome and we look forward to seeing you very soon. A warm Scottish welcome awaits.Short and long stays welcome , corporate rates available and multiple night rates also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Tram House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Tram House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing