We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW what an amazing place”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Gladstone

External view of this impressive  Victorian villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of this impressive  Victorian villa
Entrance hallway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
External view of this impressive  Victorian villa
Entrance hallway
Original period features in hallway
Original floor tiles at entrance
Beautiful detailing on the cupola, letting light flood into the hall/stairway
Original cornice
Impressive lounge with feature wood burning stove
Wood burning stove in lounge - perfect for a relaxing  evening
Lounge
Lounge with large box bay window
Lounge
Beautiful glass etching detail on lounge bay window
Dining kitchen with ample space for dining
Dining kitchen with original fireplace and wood burning stove
Dining kitchen with all modern appliances
Dining kitchen
Large downstairs shower room
Stunning master bedroom with dual aspect windows and views to Stirling Castle
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with large  box bay window
Master bedroom with en suite shower room
Bright and modern en suite
Comfortable and relaxing double bedroom with views to rear garden
Bunk bed room
Spacious twin or super-king bedroom with views to Stirling Castle and the historic Old Town
Family bathroom
Family bathroom with over bath shower
Coffee on the deck? Lovley and sunny until lunchtime in the summer months.
Patio dining in the sun!
Large mature garden
Access stairs from kitchen to fully enclosed garden
Old Stirling Bridge
Stirling skyline
Stirling Castle
Wallace Monument
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yseels
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“WOW what an amazing place”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our Family stayed at Gladstone for 4 weeks, enjoying Christmas & Hogmanay.
The attention to detail was most impressive, A beautiful Christmas tree was the first thing i noticed when we arrived that night, beautifully presented in the front window with decorations, fresh flowers & plenty of wood for the fire, the house was very well set out for a large group, cosy & comfortable, immaculately clean with everything you need to make the stay perfect.
Thank you Kirsteen We will defiantly come back again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the house and its decoration (especially the large Xmas tree) We would most definitely love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes & Take Care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjory V
1 review
“Gladstone is so welcoming”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a beautiful house Gladstone is, and so easy to walk to the centre of Stirling (restaurants, shops and Castle etc). The house was so cozy and welcoming when we arrived and perfectly presented. Everything you need has been thought of. We particularly loved the wood burning fire in the lounge, which was perfect after a long walk and while watching the rugby. Special mention to the cute little toy animals which keep the room doors open - what a lovely touch !! Would love to return in the summer months as it will be great to be able to enjoy the garden and seating area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the little door stops (animals) We would love to have you come stay again in the future, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georginam...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury Family stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Pulling up the street and seeing the grandeur of the house was stunning, even in winter. My little boy was so excited by the size of the entrance doors, the door bell and couldn't wait to get in to explore the inside.
On entering, the house didn't disappoint, warm huge rooms with amazing ceiling details almost transported you back in time even with the modern twist you could sense the place was steeped in history.
The kitchen and diner with the log burning fire was great to sit around in the morning and even at night to spend quality time together as a family.
The bedrooms were again huge, warm but yet cosy and not once did the house ever feel cold and unwelcoming.
We had a mixture of adults and children and everyone had their own space.
Would highly recommend a visit.
From booking the trip and arriving to departing the assistance from Kirsteen the booking company was top class service and everything had been thought of.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are so glad you enjoyed the Victorian features this house has - and the spaciousness for your family, We would love to have you come stay again in the future. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There were six in our party and we all loved it! The house is in a beautiful part of town, very spacious, wonderfully decorated, absolutely cleàn with modern kitchen and baths. Our only regret is that we our stay was too ßhort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely high ceilings, wonderful àmbience.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Gladstone! It is a lovely house and in such a great location in Stirling, so close to town and the station. Hope you can come again!
Best wishes from all at Stirling Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My family and I wished we could just live here!”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Gladstone house is a beautiful Victorian house in a fantastic location, which has been very well looked after and nicely updated. It's very clean and beautifully decorated. It is spacious and has a great backyard for kids and BBQing. We arrived to the house in impeccable condition with plenty of towels for everyone, and lots of cutlery and crockery. Everything was just as it should have been - perfect. The customer service was also top-notch - very responsive and helpful. This was such a comfortable place for my extended family and I to call home for 10 days; we only wish it could have been longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
t really makes our day when we read a review like this, and we are really pleased you were so pleased with every aspect of your stay! Gladstone is a stunning property and is in an amazing location. It really has it all! Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review and we would love to welcome you all back again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Difficult to find dates we could get in,so early booking recommended
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you loved your stay - this house truly has everything you need for a lovely holiday, we would love to welcome you back again in the future should your travels bring you back to Stirling, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing