We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing fall in standards”
Review of Blueberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blueberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Certificate of Excellence
Holyhead
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing fall in standards”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Having stayed here several times over the last few years, my wife and I were somewhat sorry to see a fall in standards which used to be so excellent.
Firstly the still very good points. The staff, without exception were very friendly and welcoming. They were all very young. The rooms were very clean except for things which I will mention later. The beds were very comfortable. At weekends, breakfast is served until 10.30. The hotel is in a very good location for shopping and about half a mile from the railway station.
Now for some unfortunate points, which can be overcome if concerned by the Company. There were stains on the once beautiful bedroom carpets which could easily be cleaned and in our room there was blood under the lavatory rim. When this was pointed out, the manager immediately transferred us to a suite.
There were other little niggling things like chipped crockery, frayed towels, no soap in the dispenser and while we were ther the fridges were removed from all the rooms. Could this be so that guests would be compelled to buy all their drinks from the bar!!
At breakfast, some ingredients on the menu were unavailable and boiled eggs served in a cardboard egg container as no egg cups available.
The food for lunch and dinner was now pub grub when Italian dishes used to be served. I stress that excellent dinners are still served at Alfred's. which belongs to the Blueberry just a couple of doors away.

Room Tip: There are nine rooms, some in the French style, others all white.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    52
    34
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
59
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch & was very disappointed. The table we sat at had been cleared but not wiped off. We ordered from the bar meals & drinks the same time. tHe waitress came to give us or cutlery & I asked for a cloth to wipe the table, this never arrived & I had to use my serviette. Our meals didn't arrive together, my husband ordered chunky chips with his burger but they arrived with skinny fries. My club ciabatta was cold & I ordered a cup of minestrone soup to go with, this was very nice but couldn't be drank from the cup & I had to ask for a spoon as one wasn't provided when the cutlery was given out. The drinks we ordered didn't arrive & we had to enquire after them. The did eventually arrive but our meal was nearly over. So all in all poor food my husband said he'd had better burgers from a van & very poor service despite not being that busy. We will not be going back.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank madmal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

If you wish to wash your hands then good luck the taps are broke and the pub toilets have not been cleaned. It's disgusting it's the first and hopefully last place in my life I would need to be paid to revisit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I needed a week-end stay in Pontypridd and didn't expect to find somewhere as comfortable and relaxing as the Blueberry. Yes, it was the week-end so I was informed of the noise from the club and assured that it would finish at 1. Yes, to sleep through the noise would have been impossible. But, as it was a festive week-end, I ended up having a great night in luxurious surroundings with some friendly staff and fantastic company. The music promptly finished at 1. The room was very, very comfortable, stylish and clean. The breakfast was great. Staff were very welcoming - and the architectural features and design of the bar created a wonderful stay that was totally unexpected and very memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IoanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Rooms brilliant, beds fantastic and very clean. However, very loud disco that went on till early morning spoiled what would have been an excellent visit. The management were very apologetic and gave a full refund without question.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhoobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I used to eat he regularly about 2 years and more ago and took a special friend tonight with the expectation of a great menu and good food. I was very disappointed to find 3 flat screen TVs in the restaurant and loud music. The menu has also changed from a pretty good menu to burgers and pizzas other upmarket fast food. Nothing wrong with that, just not what I wanted or was expecting. Also, no waitress service any more :-(. Ended up with ham, egg and chips - nothing wrong with that, either, but just not anything approaching gourmet. I probably won't be back even though they do still make the best chips in the area....

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank goodysidno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypridd
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2012

nice place to go for food now menu as altoured went on sper of moment will go again i had food on tuesday i will try it on weekend to see if food is still good if going you must try the staeks with pepper sauce caesar salad and my wife had spaghetti carbonara

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
3.0 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
278 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
147 reviews
6.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
571 reviews
6.9 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blueberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Inn

Property: Blueberry Inn
Address: 6-8 Market Street, Pontypridd CF37 2ST, Wales (Formerly Blueberry Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blueberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blueberry Inn is a unique hotel located in the centre of Pontypridd, South Wales. Owned by the Pontypridd Market Company and formerly known as the Market Tavern, this 5 storey building underwent a drastic overhaul, with refurishments taking up to two years for completion. The Blueberry Inn had a grand re-opening in December 2008 which did not disappoint, worth waiting two years for the Blueberry Inn shocked and amazed with its dramatic makeover, what was once the Market Tavern seemed completely unrecognisible with many finding it hard to believe it was the same building. The Blueberry will blow you away with it's attention to detail and design. All the rooms are fully equipped with all the mod cons and have all the comfort's you would expect from a top end hotel. The building itself is host to a superb bar and restaurant serving a variety of exquisite cuisine, with breakfast available from 7am, lunch specials from 12pm and a la carte from 6pm. Also host to two exceptional function rooms, on the first floor, the kalma lounge, a boudair themed function room that has played host to a variety of events from wedding receptions to charity nights. Down in the basement you will find the Glo bar, the smallest of the two, this ice themed room with built in wall water features is a real favourite for childrens parties. On the whole the Blueberry Inn is a real gem in the heart of the Valleys and worth a visit for whatever the occasion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blueberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blueberry Inn Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing