We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - Best in Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blueberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blueberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place - Best in Point”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had the whole hotel for a Poly of Wales reunion - the rooms were great, the staff really good and the breakfast was excellent... great value too and the décor is amazing...location is great and the car park is around the corner with free parking... fab

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    52
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
58
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Never been here since it was the rundown Market Tavern Pub, what a transformation! Lovely decor, excellent food and friendly staff. Worth visiting for food alone.

Along with Alfred's Bar and Grill this is one of the best places to eat in Pontypridd

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RHS_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Blueberry is a great little hotel right in the middle of Pontypridd. The rooms are very nice with an eclectic touch. Comfortable beds and pretty spacious room. Very modern bath and shower facilities. Excellent little pub and restaurant on the first floor. They even have parking, which is a nice feature since they are right in the middle of town. This is a great location to base out of for touring the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBelfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a bit of a confused place. Some call it a B&B, it calls itself a hotel, but I would view it more as an inn as it is certainly not a hotel and it doesn't serve breakfast with its accommodation. Apparently it's proper name is Blueberry Inn.

The staff we interacted with are lovely and friendly. The receptionist was also the barmaid and was friendly enough. However, when we checked out, tried to take payment from us even though we had already paid via Booking.com. Easy enough mistake.

My main issue with the Blueberry Inn is that they over promise and under deliver. On their in-room marketing, it states that the rooms have fresh milk, welsh cakes, and bathrobes. There wasn't even a fridge (even though there was furniture labelled as such). Just remove the marketing!

Now, the positives - the bed is very comfortable and the rooms are well appointed especially as it was refurbished only 3 years ago. We stayed on a Saturday night, and I was woken by some drunken lad yelling - but (a) the hotel warns you of this up front and (b) it's the Valleys - who hasn't seen the show?

The hotel is good for exploring the Brecons and south Wales.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAGustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our family went to the Blueberry for Father's Day. We had not booked anywhere and so had to phone around. When we arrived we could not understand why such a nice place was almost empty. We soon found out. Our order was taken. After a while the waitress returned and apologised that one of the starters, ordered by two of our party, was unavailable. They changed their order which was no problem. A little later our main courses arrived, but we had not had our starters! Another apology. We eventually had our starters and main meal in the correct order. The food was very nice. However, no one came to collect the used plates. We sat for a long time. No one asked if we wanted any drinks. No one asked if the food was okay. No one asked if we wanted a dessert. After sitting by a table full of dirty plates for possibly over an hour my daughter went to the bar to ask for drinks and if we could have the dessert menu. We were astonished to be told that the kitchen was closed. The Blueberry missed a chance to sell more drinks and possibly five desserts. I don't think that we will be going there next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadiDado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Needed a hotel that was near Muni Arts Centre, fitted the bill about two minutes walk away, on arrival staff were helpful and polite, room was clean and tidy with ample tea and coffee, bedding clean, bed very comfortable, chose full English breakfast which was excellent. Only have a couple of niggles, soap dispensers in bathroom were empty, and despite booking our room well in advance of our stay,my daughter and I could only get a double room, not a twin, good job we don't snore!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbitt49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

With only 9 room's, I'm sure the housekeepers could do a better job cleaning the rooms. Stained carpets and a bit of grime in the washrooms and the lift is a bit unsteady. This aside, the place is nicely designed and is quite comfortable. All in all a decent little B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glonus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
3.0 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#5 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blueberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Inn

Property: Blueberry Inn
Address: 6-8 Market Street, Pontypridd CF37 2ST, Wales (Formerly Blueberry Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blueberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blueberry Inn is a unique hotel located in the centre of Pontypridd, South Wales. Owned by the Pontypridd Market Company and formerly known as the Market Tavern, this 5 storey building underwent a drastic overhaul, with refurishments taking up to two years for completion. The Blueberry Inn had a grand re-opening in December 2008 which did not disappoint, worth waiting two years for the Blueberry Inn shocked and amazed with its dramatic makeover, what was once the Market Tavern seemed completely unrecognisible with many finding it hard to believe it was the same building. The Blueberry will blow you away with it's attention to detail and design. All the rooms are fully equipped with all the mod cons and have all the comfort's you would expect from a top end hotel. The building itself is host to a superb bar and restaurant serving a variety of exquisite cuisine, with breakfast available from 7am, lunch specials from 12pm and a la carte from 6pm. Also host to two exceptional function rooms, on the first floor, the kalma lounge, a boudair themed function room that has played host to a variety of events from wedding receptions to charity nights. Down in the basement you will find the Glo bar, the smallest of the two, this ice themed room with built in wall water features is a real favourite for childrens parties. On the whole the Blueberry Inn is a real gem in the heart of the Valleys and worth a visit for whatever the occasion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blueberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blueberry Inn Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing