We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blueberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blueberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here midweek for business so the noise which seems to interrupt some stays wasn't a problem. Rooms are good but a few frustrating things I passed back to staff. 1) no bulbs in any bed side light 2) my shower was either very hot or ridiculously hot!

Bar is nice and restaurant food is good. Breakfast is tasty although the choice of juice and cereal could be better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    52
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
58
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there Sunday 13th. Had a mixed experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The stairs were dingy and appear to have escaped the refit. The lingering smell of overcooked cabbage didn't help either. On first site the rooms were really nice-white bed linen, good sized beds. However it was all a little slap dash. Clean bed linen but the furniture had escaped the cleaner. Welsh cakes and team making facilities but no milk. Ironing board but no iron. The control on the shower appeared to be broken so it we were scalded. The lack of Wi-Fi was a surprise.
The noise from outside wasn't too much of an issue -we are Londoners after all-and there was no function on. The biggest problem was the noise from the room next door-a couple with TV on at maximum volume and who were arguing for hours. We eventually phoned down and midnight and they spoke to them. Two hours later it started up again.
Breakfast very traditional but ok, but some muesli,granola or some other healthy option would have been nice.
All in all, sleep quality on a scale of 1 to 5, 1. Cleanliness 3, attitude and helpfulness of staff, 5 (can't fault them)

My tips to the owners: repair the lift and clean up the stairwell, get in a good cleaner and after a deep clean, monitor the quality. Set some rules about acceptable behaviour, e.g. no noise after 11pm, and stop overcooking the cabbage. Then when you can afford it sort out the décor downstairs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
491 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here overnight last Sunday, so thankfully noise wasn't a issue as other reviews have mentioned. The staff were friendly from the off.. I was on the top floor in a 'white room' but the lift was broken.. So 3 flights to climb in a very smelly stair well.. The room & bathroom was great at 1st viewing, but then you realise that things are a little worn..
Could not get phone to work, and television remote was very difficult to use, had to press buttons very hard.
Bathroom was none to clean, black mold on silicone around shower base.. Cheap cheap toilet paper in a luxury hotel room not impressive.. Bathroom also showing sights of wear and tear.. Like mirror screw caps missing etc..
Breakfast was excellent very tasty and the parking around the corner was perfect. With a parking notice been issued by reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the centre of a run down town. I stay in a lot of hotels on business and without a doubt this hotel serves the best cooked breakfast to date in Wales!!!!
The hotel has car parking close by.

Room Tip: A jewel in a thorny bush
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehoffWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here from the 2nd till the 6th of April. We arrived and the young girl on reception was very friendly and welcoming. Although the room i booked for £69 a night had been advertised as b&b on booking.com she informed me that breakfast was not included and it would be an extra £7 per person to include it. I wasnt too bothered as we didn't get up till after breakfast was over anyways also weatherspoons was just around the corner who does a full English for less than £3.
We were given room 9 on the top floor and directed to the lift which was broken for our entire stay so we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs about 3-4 times a day our entire stay. Good job i had started the gym again is all i can say! Probably came back from here having lost a dress size so no complaints! Haha
The room was very nice, white theme throughout. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath and shower. I thought the spotlights around the bath to be a lovely touch and enjoyed an hour long soak in that tub! Plenty of tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer that actually was powerful enough to dry your hair, plenty of plugs, light above the bedroom mirror so applying make up and doing hair was easy. Slopped rafter ceilings adding a lovely feel to the room and lovely sloping windows letting in plenty of light. All in all a very attractive room.
The down sides however was the cleanliness. Tea has been spilt down the wall next to the bed before we arrived and the stains were still present. The bottom of the window was black mouldy from the moisture around the window and the top of the handle was marked. The wall on my partners bed side had a large dent in it and the paint had peeled from it. Tea stained tea pot had been providws, quarter roll of toilet paper provided and wasnt presented well, looked like what you might have in your bathroom at hone with it teared up. Grouting around and in shower and tiles waa black filthy in some places, window right above bath also black with mould due to moisture and a huge cobweb stretching from the top of the sink mirror to the shower. The maid also didnt replenish towels for 3 days so we needed to request them from reception and didnt fully replenish the tea and coffee facilities so my partner had to make do with brown sugar for two days.
I think most of the above could be easily sorted with maybe a thorough clean once a week when guests change to keep on top of the moisture situation. I must stress this wasnt damp it was purely because of a build up of condensation due to welsh weather!
Over all we had a great stay with very friendly staff. We had a lovely holiday therefore we were not too bothered with the few problems we did find.
Thank you to the very kind and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaLynne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow Maries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in February for one night. The room was quite nice, lovely comfy beds and linen. The couple of things which let it down were the toilet paper and tea/coffee.
The toilet paper was of the type you would expect to find in a public toilet, I have never come across this in other hotels that we've stayed at. The complimentary tea/coffee was dreadful. I couldn't wait to find a Costa for a decent start to the day!
We are staying here again in June, I will be bringing my own toilet paper, coffee and milk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I can only give this place a recommended review because it is stunning, the staff are amazing and the food is great!!! The complaints people have made about loud music and noise in the street is to be expected! It states on their website and booking sites it is located in the centre of a busy town and close to nightclubs and even gives you the days it will be noisiest! Personally I didn't here street noise and we had roadworks right outside!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CraftyMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
2.8 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
2.2 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
6.6 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blueberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Inn

Property: Blueberry Inn
Address: 6-8 Market Street, Pontypridd CF37 2ST, Wales (Formerly Blueberry Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blueberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blueberry Inn is a unique hotel located in the centre of Pontypridd, South Wales. Owned by the Pontypridd Market Company and formerly known as the Market Tavern, this 5 storey building underwent a drastic overhaul, with refurishments taking up to two years for completion. The Blueberry Inn had a grand re-opening in December 2008 which did not disappoint, worth waiting two years for the Blueberry Inn shocked and amazed with its dramatic makeover, what was once the Market Tavern seemed completely unrecognisible with many finding it hard to believe it was the same building. The Blueberry will blow you away with it's attention to detail and design. All the rooms are fully equipped with all the mod cons and have all the comfort's you would expect from a top end hotel. The building itself is host to a superb bar and restaurant serving a variety of exquisite cuisine, with breakfast available from 7am, lunch specials from 12pm and a la carte from 6pm. Also host to two exceptional function rooms, on the first floor, the kalma lounge, a boudair themed function room that has played host to a variety of events from wedding receptions to charity nights. Down in the basement you will find the Glo bar, the smallest of the two, this ice themed room with built in wall water features is a real favourite for childrens parties. On the whole the Blueberry Inn is a real gem in the heart of the Valleys and worth a visit for whatever the occasion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blueberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blueberry Inn Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing