We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. ”
Review of Blueberry Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blueberry Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The bed was comfortable, but in the sweltering heat, the duvet was too thick.

The headboard and other surfaces were very dusty. The bathroom shower was weak, and the door did not shut properly. If you are old or infirm, the step up into the shower-cum-bath would be a huge challenge. There was no non stick matt in the shower.

The road below was incredibly noisy late into the night from people; drunk or otherwise and I was woken at 5am twice.

There was a fire alarm at 5am, that wasn't welcome - although out of the hotels control, it did highlight that there were no fire safety procedures in the bedrooms. - very poor.

The car park was quite far from the hotel, though free.

I won't be returning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Zapscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

An interesting boutique hotel in the heart of Pontypridd's market area. A little inconvenient as the car park is behind another hotel - not far away but requiring you to pick up a parking permit from reception first. On entering the hotel the eclectic nature of the architecture and decor of the bar and dining areas made quite an impression and was a source of fascination during my short stay. The room on the 3rd floor was accessed by a lift which although functioning gave me the feeling that it had seen better days. The room itself was of a good size with a large double bed, sofa and coffee table and all the expected facilities. The walls and ceiling were painted white which contrasted well with the dark wood floor and fitted furniture and gave a light and airy feeling to the room. The bathroom was excellent having a large bath and separate fixed head shower cubicle. Again predominantly white and very clean with an opening roof window.
The downside commenced with the coffee sachets which had a mixture of milk and sweetener included which was sadly not to my taste. The view from the dormer window despite having beautiful hills in the distance was not particularly attractive looking over flat supermarket and other dull building roofs although perhaps not a big issue on a one night visit.
Unfortunately I stayed on what was probably one of the hottest nights of the year and being in the roof space the room was very very hot and, despite the electric fan thoughtfully provided, it was like trying to sleep in an oven. Consequently, despite the comfortable mattress, a very restless night ensued with little real sleep..
The food and service for both dinner and breakfast were fine and of the expected standard although I was a little disappointed that cornflakes were not one of the available cereal choices.
It is a great pity that the room temperature spoiled what should have been a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Be wary of third floor rooms on a hot night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Bedroom and bathroom both great - spacious and quiet with lovely Italian style furniture. We had room 2 which was painted in relaxing light colours and was beautifully clean. Staff helpful and friendly without being obtrusive. Car parking not far from the hotel was not a problem - two minutes walk away. We ate there and it was good, well presented food. We would always stay there again when we need to visit the area.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooked a side street and was very quiet but the town is quiet at night anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hbsolva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rooms are clean and tidy, bed comfortable but a little soft for me as the pillows , not a bad place and friendly staff, used this place twice now and its been o.k both times , breakfast is a decent size.
Would use again if needed to return to university of south wales,

Room Tip: Room 7 is large, 8 good size, can be a little noise with pigeons from 5:30 a.m
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bondwakroycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I come here a lot with my children or simply for a solo work lunch and have been here with friends. There's great service here and I like the atmosphere and decor. They used to provide a full Italian menu which I loved but changed it to 'pub' style food. This is O.K. though because they retained a lot of tastiesq from the old menu. The chicken Cesar salad is superb and they do a lovely pizza and carbonara. Portions are generous at this place and the coffee is good. Really glad we have these kinds of places in Pontypridd...thumbs up! Oh yes and the specials options for 5/6 £ each is definitely the way to go for valley's based establishments.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lowri-Mair O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had to review asHotel as restaurant not recognised.
Arrived for our Daughters birthday meal as a group of 8, we'd phoned to check the booking that afternoon. Server was obviously not expecting us, HINT no table with a reserve sign or even one set for 8 places. We were later told our booking had been put in the diary for the previous day, pointed out we all knew my daughter's birth date, and wouldn't have made that mistake.
Disappointed we decided to stay and make the best of it, it must be said Ryan tried his best, but being the only server with 5 other tables taken and a bar to tend (albeit a quiet bar) he was overworked, a little inexperienced and phased by our party turning up not perhaps surprising.
Some time before we had our drinks order taken in fact we had to ask, still at this time no cutlery napkins or sideplates in fact our starters were served and we had to ask for these so that we could eat. Which is when we discovered my starter of mushrooms with goats cheese hadn't been prepared! Server apologised and came after a few minutes to say would be 3 or 4 minutes, bonus for Ryan for at least trying to keep me informed. Mains served some time later my sea bream good, pizza good, steak looked very good and rest had pasta which all enjoyed although portions a touch on the small size.
In all had service been better (not enough staff) and staff had been better trained score would have been a 'good' score, even though tripadvisor system doesn't' allow me to, it will be a very long time before they could hope for very good, if ever from this example.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymruNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The staff was friendly and the room looked very nice. Our supper at the restaurant was delicious. However, the two bedside lamps didn't have light bulbs and the bathroom fan couldn't be turned off, which is not exactly great for a romantic atmosphere. Also, even though the bed was amazing, we couldn't sleep very well because of the horrible soundproofing. Water going down pipes, the couple in the room over us being noisy, street noises, church bells ringing at 7:42 (why?). I am not sure I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emilie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
2.2 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
300 reviews
3 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
434 reviews
13 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
6.2 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
0.6 mi away
Central House Guest House
Central House Guest House
#2 of 5 in Pontypridd
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blueberry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Inn

Address: 6-8 Market Street, Pontypridd CF37 2ST, Wales (Formerly Blueberry Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range: £72 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blueberry Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blueberry Inn is a unique hotel located in the centre of Pontypridd, South Wales. Owned by the Pontypridd Market Company and formerly known as the Market Tavern, this 5 storey building underwent a drastic overhaul, with refurishments taking up to two years for completion. The Blueberry Inn had a grand re-opening in December 2008 which did not disappoint, worth waiting two years for the Blueberry Inn shocked and amazed with its dramatic makeover, what was once the Market Tavern seemed completely unrecognisible with many finding it hard to believe it was the same building. The Blueberry will blow you away with it's attention to detail and design. All the rooms are fully equipped with all the mod cons and have all the comfort's you would expect from a top end hotel. The building itself is host to a superb bar and restaurant serving a variety of exquisite cuisine, with breakfast available from 7am, lunch specials from 12pm and a la carte from 6pm. Also host to two exceptional function rooms, on the first floor, the kalma lounge, a boudair themed function room that has played host to a variety of events from wedding receptions to charity nights. Down in the basement you will find the Glo bar, the smallest of the two, this ice themed room with built in wall water features is a real favourite for childrens parties. On the whole the Blueberry Inn is a real gem in the heart of the Valleys and worth a visit for whatever the occasion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blueberry Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blueberry Inn Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing