We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massively improved”
Review of Commercial Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pontypridd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commercial Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Pontypridd B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This pub used to be pretty vile and run down. However, think new management have swept the business clean in many ways. Always been quite a friendly place but you wldn't want to spend a few hours there really. Now the place has been spruced up and the food is really quite good for what you pay. 2 of us ate and had 2 drinks for ... £10.80 !!!! Mash home made, gravy home made. Would use this again for a quick, hot meal out without breaking the bank. Cook cldn't be more friendly. Told us how she made the gravy from steak she'd cooked earlier and really wanted us to enjoy the food. If you live locally,give it a try :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn0wdr0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyndale2014, Owner at Commercial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

We are really happy people liked our referb.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here for one night not out of choice.the rooms are in such a poor state,dirty,mould growing,damaged finishings,cigarette burns in upholstery,worn out stinkin carpets the list is never ending.the staff haven't a clue and don't seem to care either and the managment keeping a low profile. Will not be going back to stay for Certain

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chief77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Most friendly place I have stayed .....Sunday roast home made fab just as good as my mums! Rooms were clean and fresh plenty of tea and coffees on service tray altogether a great place I will defiantly call again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisshia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

i was most pleased with my stay at this small welsh hotel food and accomadation was great! room with a view over the valleys,and a very comfy bed. altogether great hotel thank you i will be back to visit soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Most friendly staff and clean and comfortable would recommend to others,breakfast fresh and tasty, good choice of meals and also good location to town and Cardiff altogether fab stay

Room Tip: I had a double room with en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Without doubt this is the worst, filthiest place I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was greasy cash & carry worst. The tea was horrific. The fruit bowl, what a joke, one mouldy apple. Thin sheets and a bunk bed facing thecwrong way with no ladder. Should be shut down or better bulldozed. Horrific.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jthec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

See above!!! The worst place I have ever stayed! Dirty, vile breakfast, ill equipped rooms, filthy shared bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helene24b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pontypridd hotels
3.1 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blueberry Inn
Blueberry Inn
#2 of 3 in Pontypridd
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Central House Guest House
Central House Guest House
#2 of 5 in Pontypridd
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commercial Hotel

Address: 35 Cilfynydd Road, Pontypridd CF37 4NL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pontypridd
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Commercial Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing