We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
36
16
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
16
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home cooked baguette home made beautiful surroundings food was amazing salmon portions meal chips sauce
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Visited this pub many years ago for a drink when it was in a poor condition so when a friend recommended it to go for a nice meal I thought she was joking but took the chance. My wife and I visited it last night and what a lovely supprise it was. The bar was warm and inviting with a log fire. The choice of ales was good with the barman being friendly and funny. We went into the restaurant and again warn and inviting with a log fire. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Good menue choice at reasonable prices. The food when it arrived was excellent and plentiful. All in all a pub we will be returning to.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COOKIE385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This place is a bit of a mystery, the food is great, large meals at reasonable prices. You will probably struggle to eat a main course if you order a starter and it is quality food not just large quantities of warmed up rubbish. The bar has a good selection and there is a nice outside seating area giving fantastic views. However, there are downsides... The staff are friendly once you are there, but try ringing ahead for a table (which you are encouraged to do) and either the phone will not be answered at all (even when you know they are open) or you will gt a rather abrupt person on the phone either telling you that there are no tables or taking the booking but giving you the distinct impression it is being done under protest, especially if you are only booking for two. Once there it can go either way, Sometimes it's great, sometimes the staff kind of make you feel like you are a stranger eating in the living room. We went there recently and after going through the phone ritual of negotiating a reservation time with lots of sighs and tuts from the other end of the phone we decided on a table at around 6:30 because apparently they were booked up for anything after 7. When we arrived there was one other couple in the whole place eating, yet were ushered to the table right next to them squeezed into a corner, despite several two seat tables being empty elsewhere, which was an odd thing to do.

On the subject of the outside area, it is nice which great views however, the pub has toilets temporary sheds attached to the outside of the back of the building and there are two problems with this. The first, in the summer they stink as i think the storage tank for these is right next to the outside seating area and secondly a window set just above the urinals in the gents is clear and in direct view of the seating area giving anyone sitting there a great view of any guy taking a leak (from the waist up anyway). Still apart from these obvious flaws, I have still given this a very good rating because of the exceptional location, exceptional food and the selection at the bar is good.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanR519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynffynonLlanwonno, Owner at The Brynffynon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Thank you for your comment. We are committed to customer satisfaction and will resolve the problems you have experienced with us as soon as possible. However we are very pleased you enjoyed the meal and the surrounding areas and views from the Pub and the decking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I first visited this pub more than 50 years ago with my girl friend who is now my Wife, as we have not lived in the area for 35 years we last visited 15 years ago until our visit yesterday 4-12-2012, the hotel though modernized still has the same rustic appeal for us and set in a natural woodland setting, the only two buildings for miles are the Hotel and Church. Both my Wife and I were very pleased with the Vegetarian selection and high quality of the food served, as mentioned the portions are very large and as we had payed for the two course option we did struggle with the desert, it might be better to order one meal and then see how full you are, we have re-booked for the 18th of this month and will do this, three things stopped me awarding an excellent rating was! It was very cold as the fires were not alight even though the restaurant was half full, we had to put our coats back on, and the waitress did not serve the french fries that were ordered, the house red wine was served very chilled! so these points should be addressed if the owners read this review, the bill for four was a very reasonable £48.00 for four two course meals and drinks, I would have no hesitation of recommending this hotel as a great place to eat.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is somewhere to relax after taking a walk in the beautiful countryside surrounding this pub and restaurant. A warm welcome and log fires will encourage you to have another beer in this CAMRA pub with always a good selection of cask ales well served.
The lunches and evening meals are of good quality, and portions are quite big !!
TIP.... a ham salad roll and a bowl of chips (hand cut) is enough for both me and my partner.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buster B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We frequently find ourselves here..during the week for a quiet pint..or on Sunday, for lunch...or rambling for a ham salad roll and numerous pints..or a family occassion..or for the beer and cider fesitival....or 'Open Mic Night'.. 'it ticks all boxes at all times. You have to drive, or cycle or walk..it is off the beaten track..you can have rooms there too ( we have not stayed as we live close ). The food is always excellent, portions very generous..all the staff are warm, welcoming, cheerful and chatty..as are the locals. Kids ,dogs, dirty boots all welcome...real ale, cider...there's even a piano and guitar handy for impromptu ..sing songs. We love it, never disappointed...a treasure to the area.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews