We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else”

The Brynffynon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pontypridd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brynffynon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Pontypridd B&B and Inns
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My friends booked a table for Sunday lunch here as a celebration for my wife's 40th. We arrived in plenty of time for booking and checked with bar staff to see if our table was available. She checked and said that it wasn't and to have a drink while we waited.
45 minutes later we thought it was getting a bit ridiculous that we hadn't been called so my friend went to check. Only to be told that everyone who had booked a table had been seated. They then checked my friends booking only to say that someone with the Same Name and party size had taken our table.
There was no apology and an attitude that had an air of obnoxiousness about it.
We immediately left .. And Will never return... Do yourself a favour and choose somewhere else

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1Steve_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    14
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a wonderful birthday party up here in November for my daughter's 13th. Fantastic service from the bar to the table. Very accommodating staff and you can see the kitchen at work. We were served a diverse range of wonderful food. Lots of steak lovers were very happy with their choice of cut and done to perfection. Believe me some one in the family will moan if something is wrong and every one . The catered for 22 of us. All the meals came on time, piping hot apart from the salad. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time and will definitely go back. I would thoroughly recommend. Next time I'll have a taxi. Thanks to all the wonderful staff at the Brynfynnon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We booked this to take our friends as we had missed them at Christmas and were celebrating a birthday. We were told our table was being laid so waited in the bar for a while then approached the bar as we were beginning to feel we were forgotten. We were told a party of four had answered when they called our name and taken our table? There was no apology and we were offered to sit in the bar but it was obvious there were no tables available. We asked for a refund for the drinks we had just bought so we could get lunch elsewhere. This was refunded without argument but we were treated as if somehow this was all our fault and there was still no apology forthcoming. In fact the manager made out it was an or fault and we were being a nuisance? This pub is in the middle of nowhere and I would imagine word of mouth is very important? Needless to say we will not be returning and will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank annmarie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were a family group celebrating a birthday. The bar was warm and welcoming with a good range of drinks including real ale. My pate was very nice, I had ordered a medium rump steak, however the steak was well done and fatty. The mushrooms were horrible, lots of them but either frozen or steamed or both so inedible. The bvaked potatoes was very nice. Would I return? Not unless it was another family event.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

my wife and went on a Saturday night we both had a starter main meal and dessert 2 pints and all for under £50, the steak was cooked real nice. no rush off the staff to leave,having been once we will going back, if its dark be careful of carpark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Sunday lunch on June 2nd 2013 was superb...but the great thing about the Brynffynon is that their Sunday lunches are ALWAYS superb. Consistently great quality beef, perfectly cooked vegetables (especially the leeks in cheese sauce) and geuninely 'proper' home made gravy....absolutely delicious and the generous portions of everything represent real value for money. Yes, ok there are cheaper carveries around but I would rather pay the £8.95 and know it will be beautifully cooked and well presented. The desserts are simply glorious too...at £4.50 each they are also perhaps a little over the average price, but then they are a good sized portions and all as delicious as they sound on the menu, which is not necessarily the case in other establishments. Excellent quality food and good value for money never stays a secret for long in the hospitality industry and this surely accounts for the fact the Sunday lunch sittings at 12.30pm, 2.15pm and 4pm are always packed to the gunnels but the service doesn't suffer - those waiters and waitresses are on the go the whole time and are so helpful and pleasant - what more could you want? Ok, If I was being hypercritical I'd recommend the owners invest some of their hard earnied pennies into upgrading the decor, especially in the dinning room as it is looking more and more tired these days. Another obvious area needing improvement is the car park - the treacherously loose gravel and uneven surface on a slope that steep is not good news for anyone. But overall, if you are in the area and can navigate your way into the Brynffnon Hotel for Sunday lunch, I feel confident in guaranteeing you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutiny1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had Sunday lunch there yesterday..........what can I say - excellent food and the service was outstanding especially from Margaret and her team of waitresses.
We have been going to this pub for years and the food and service are consistently excellent - well done to you all!!!

Clare and Ron McDonald

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clareerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
4.1 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.3 mi away
Blueberry Inn
Blueberry Inn
#2 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brynffynon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brynffynon Hotel

Property: The Brynffynon Hotel
Address: | Llanwonno, Ynysybwl, Pontypridd CF37 3PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pontypridd
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run business offering home made food in our restaurant, we have a very friendly cosy bar area serving the most popular draught products and also a good choice of real ales. We have bed and breakfast also available all three rooms have en suite, TV's with free view channels and tea and coffee making facilities. We also have an event marquee that can cater for wedding receptions up to 120 guests for a sit down meal and up to 150 for an evening party. for more information please ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Brynffynon Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing