We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value lunch”
Review of Upper Boat Inn

Upper Boat Inn
Ranked #85 of 106 Restaurants in Pontypridd
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I met a friend here for lunch, the food was good, excellent size portions and well priced. We enjoyed it and will go back sometime soon.

Thank Adele48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline N, General Manager at Upper Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

The UpperBoat is now under new management, Our aim is restore any faith lost to our guests, by giving you the best service possible. We hope you would use your valuable time to help us restore the faith in our guests. Thanks for all comments.
Hope to see you in the near future.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a carvery meal here, food is always very good, can sometimes get a bit busy though. Also the prices are very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pontytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline N, General Manager at Upper Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

The UpperBoat is now under new management, Our aim is restore any faith lost to our guests, by giving you the best service possible. We hope you would use your valuable time to help us restore the faith in our guests. Thanks for all comments.
Hope to see you in the near future.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

a reasonable meal at reasonable price.good service when not crowded.handy if visiting cinema,usually don't have to book

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline N, General Manager at Upper Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

The UpperBoat is now under new management, Our aim is restore any faith lost to our guests, by giving you the best service possible. We hope you would use your valuable time to help us restore the faith in our guests. Thanks for all comments.
Hope to see you in the near future.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited on our way home after shopping to save cooking at home. There were lots of other diners there but because the dining area is quite large it did not seem overly full. We ordered drinks and food then found a table and took our place in the carvery queue. The chap cutting the meet was pleasant and courteous and was quick in serving your choices, it's then up to you to serve yourself the vegetables. There was a good choice and of course you can have as much as you like although because we elected for the smaller carvery the plate they give you is the size of a childs serving, very annoying for a man if he's trying to pile it high!!! I know you can return for more veg but surely a normal size plate with the smaller amount of meat would be more sensible, I can't understand Marstons thinking on this one.

Whilst everything was very tasty and well cooked unfortunately the vegetables and gravies were quite cool, and on speaking to others who have visited this particular venue it seems to be the norm. A shame really because what could have been a lovely meal turned out to be mediocre, not through the cooks fault but because the hot plates are not at the right temperature, something for the management to take on board.

I'm sure we'll return at some point if only to see if anything changes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cymraes191267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline N, Owner at Upper Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

The UpperBoat is now under new management, Our aim is restore any faith lost to our guests, by giving you the best service possible. We hope you would use your valuable time to help us restore the faith in our guests. Thanks for all comments.
Hope to see you in the near future.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went there 26th May 2014 bank holiday so charging sunday prices, thats no bother so paid full sunday price. Waited at the food station for 10 mins for all the veg to come out the cauliflower was green and very hard not cooked AT ALL!! The veg was all cold... everyone waited another further 10mins for the mash potato to come out the chef come out and said in a cocky rude manner what are you all waiting for.. so we explained mash potsto and he said oh ye none here the machines broke.. everyone was really annoyed but took roast potatoes ..only to find out whenwe cut into them they were raw !!!!!! Then by the time we had finished our food about half an hour we looked back at the food ststation and there was mash there so the cook had lied saying the machine had broke ! Was absolutely disgusted with the food and the cheek to charge sunday price when there's such ppor food... NEVER GO EVER AGAIN!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RebeccaMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline N, General Manager at Upper Boat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

The UpperBoat is now under new management, Our aim is restore any faith lost to our guests, by giving you the best service possible. We hope you would use your valuable time to help us restore the faith in our guests. Thanks for all comments.
Hope to see you in the near future.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upper Boat Inn also viewed

Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
 

Been to Upper Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing