We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

The Pottery in Pontypridd
Ranked #54 of 101 Restaurants in Pontypridd
Price range: US$4 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We know good pub food brings people together. At Sizzling, we're all about serving tasty dishes, freshly grilled at prices you'll love. From our 21 day aged prime steaks topped with one of our incredible steak toppers to our deliciously crispy taco salads or build your own kids meals - there's something for all the family.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly, the prices are excellent for a cheap family meal, and as our oven is awaiting repair this was simply a change to a microwave meal. However, do not expect haute cuisine. It's cheap and cheerful, special mention to overworked barman, didn't catch his name but he wore glasses and was very friendly. Service was fine and my 8 yr old enjoyed the make it yourself chicken salad wrap, but luckily we ordered him a side of curly fries as the meal itself would only satisfy a 5/6 yr old. Both adult meals were fine for the price but chips are a little dry as was my chicken. Grabbed the cutlery from the communal table, but found a few still had food on them, left the offending knife and fork on the side, only for the waitress to put them back in the bucket whilst re-stocking. As a quick stop to fill a hole it's fine just don't expect too much!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJHake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    42
    39
    42
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“*****”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great food as always. Friendly staff and overall a good time! Will return whenever I'm in the area...................

Helpful?
1 Thank Illuminati87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My Husband and I went there for the first and last time last night. Despite it being only 5.30 p.m. We were told it would be a thirty minute wait. The tables were dirty and on the table next to us was a dummy left by previous occupants and remained there for the new customers. When our meal finally arrived my husband had ordered rib eye but was given rump and informed no rib eye left, but nobody had mentioned this until then. My meal was a 8 oz sirloin of which 3oz was fat. It was supposed to be a sizzler but was Luke warm and as tough as old boots. Not once were we asked if everything was ok. You also were expected to pick up your own cutlery and condiments from a communal table. Can't remember when I have had such a disappointing meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beats The Red Kite Hands Down!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The best restaurant in south wales, the staff were to quality friendly people. Tha manager carly was by far the best manager in south wales. My name is duane and i have had the best experience with the pottery, meals are perfect and the restaurant is squeeky clean. I will definatelt recommend to my family and friends

Helpful?
2 Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaencwm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Didn't expect five star treatment after reading previous reviews, but went there open minded with my three work colleagues. Expected long wait for our meal as it was Saturday night. Staff made us aware about 45 minutes wait, but starters arrived after 10 minutes and main followed after around half an hour. It was quality of food that deserves less than one star only. Everything was just over cooked and all of us agreed on this one. This place concentrates on quantity of meat and not on quality or service. Not even once we were asked if we enjoyed our food or maybe if was our hardly touched plates which spoke volumes? What can I say, we won't be going there again. This place got potential, food menu is extensive, cheaper than Weatherspoon's, nice area. They could include few healthy choices as not everybody is a big meat eater. It wasn't busy, so it means that either they are seriously short staffed and can't cope with cooking food properly or maybe it is time to change the cook? Don't know the answers. Won't be going back to find out even. Seriously disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pottery in Pontypridd also viewed

Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
 
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taff
 

Been to The Pottery in Pontypridd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing