We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful stopover base near university South Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Well positioned hotel for visits to Pontypridd for parental university visits! Recently decorated bedrooms look clean and tidy, bathrooms modern and clean, new carpet, rock hard mattress prevented good night's sleep . Public areas such as corridors and bar very tired and in need of renovation. Service cheerful and friendly from young staff team. Food in restaurant excellent with extensive menu however they had ran out of the first three puddings we requested. Settled on coffee instead. Give the swimming pool a miss as the complex is made of rotten hardboard and looked damp and dirty. Poolside areas also grubby and uncared for. Changing rooms left a lot to be desired. Didn't hang around!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sooty31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Poor first impression, upon walking through the door it takes you back to what would have been considered "okay" in the mid 90's reception area is cluttered with cheap trinkets for sale in tacky display cabinets. Reception staff were pleasant enough however the young girl that serves me had no idea of availability and price and literally shouted to her colleague for said details!! After getting our room key we were presented with the corridor/green mile. Carpets were awful and threadbare and there was an overwhelming smell of cat urine!!!! Probably because of damp. We opted for the "superior" room and from what I can gather this just meant the window was bigger! However while basic, the room was very clean. Food ordered through room service was appalling and the menu, well it lied!!!! Chips were the frozen kind not the advertised hand cut and the stake was "chewy" to say the least. The pool and spa were below par with average cleanliness and freezing cold showers! And the whole area was clearly not maintained to a good standard. Location wise it's good for Pontypridd and Cardiff but if your visiting South Wales I suggest you pay a little more and head over to either the Coed y Mwster or the miskin Manor. Both of these alternatives would make the heritage park hotel look like a large Del Boys flat!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rooms tired, carpets tired, hotel tired, breakfast poor, staff pleasant. Good location for Pontypridd but hotel is tired and need of refurbishment, staff friendly and pleasant but hotel at £80 per room per night for B&B not Value For Money and no discount for single room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I booked the stay as a Christmas present for me and my father to do some family history research in the Valleys. It is perfectly situated for this. The staff could not have been more helpful; we had our little terrier with us and he was allowed to stay in the bar in the evening which was lovely. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The décor is a little bit tired but the rooms are very clean and the breakfast was lovely. They had a wedding and another function on and the hotel was fully booked but even though it was busy, they always had time to help. If we come back again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Arrived to a dark uninviting hotel. Corridor to room created a poor impression bare thread and looking worse for wear. In fairness the room was warm and clean. Into the bar to be advised when I asked that chef did not do sandwiches after 6 pm, despite nobody else in the bar, finally I persuaded them to serve me. Sandwich arrived first thought was the bread lightly toasted or stale, the latter.

Breakfast buffet style, usually means lazy staff, correct. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our Christmas party was booked to take place here & we saved throughout the year to pay for it. We all paid £33 each and one of our party stayed at the hotel. This hotel is so tired it's a shame. The carpets leading to the rooms are all puckered and a trip hazard, the smell of damp was awful too. The rooms are really basic and old fashioned. Our meal was served but some were left without starters! Our main was the same too. Dessert was ok but the service was awful. Really rude servers and no care in what they did. The bar staff were a joke. They charged different prices for things, they were rude, they watered down wine and said that's how you do a spritzer! The bar wasn't stocked so we had to wait for staff to fetch from downstairs. The dj was rude too. All in all a crap night! Would never go there again.there was a black tie ball downstairs and we think that all the effort was concentrated on them and we were treated like second class upstairs. This hotel is tired and needs serious updating and lessons in customer service and staff need training on their manners! Don't bother staying here or booking a night out as you'd be very, very disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingersusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 4 nights at the hotel , 21st to the 23rd of January . As has already been said a bit tired but very nice staff . Meals nothing to write home about . We tried a meal first night and were not impressed for the price . The spa is not good , difficult to get in and out of the pool and steam room floor is so hot there is a danger of you burning your feet . A good base for exploring

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage P, Manager at Heritage Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and can only apologise that the food was not to your liking.

Kind regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontypridd
4.1 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
441 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
3.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
6.8 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
8.7 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#2 of 74 in Cardiff
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Park Hotel

Address: Coedcae Road | Trehafod, Pontypridd CF37 2NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taff > Pontypridd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontypridd
Price Range: £48 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set at the beginning of the famous and beautiful Rhondda Fawr and Fach Valleys and only a few miles from the town centre of Pontypridd, our Hotel is an ideal base, whether it be Business or Pleasure we are centrally located. The local Train Station Trehafod will provide links to Cardiff and Swansea whilst by car we are only 20 minutes from The Brecon Beacons National Park. We offer all of our guests Free WIFI, Free Car parking and Free use of our Pulse Fitness Centre, with a Pool, Steam-room and Gym, Lounge Bar offering Beers, Wines & Spirits. The Loft Restaurant serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner or for a more casual meal try our "Home from Home" dishes in our Lounge Bar. Our Management team who, together with the staff, constantly strive to ensure that guests are made to feel comfortable during their visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Park Pontypridd
Heritage Park Hotel Pontypridd, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing