We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly lovely”
Review of Malin House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malin House
Ranked #7 of 17 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mostly lovely”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. Children had fun with the facilities. Decent size room, and great to have a kitchen area and fridge. Nice grounds, and close to shops. Would have been better if tea towels were supplied, towels changed daily and toilet rolls supplied more frequently. Apart from these issues though, everything was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 423Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    50
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
92
55
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A very friendly family-run hotel. Indoor pool a big bonus due to unreliable weather. Excellent location - walking distance into Saundersfoot and close to all the local attractions. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LJH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We absolutely loved it! Would totally recommend this hotel to anybody! Greeted with a pit of tea on arrival after a 3 and a half hour journey was lovely, very friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel is very nice and homely, a really relaxed place; could not fault this place accept for the noisy children shouting outside our room every morning at 6:00.
Thank you to Chris and Sam at the hotel for sorting us all out, do advise that nobody books through booking.com not useful or cost effective!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you want a B & B with character, that has the feeling that "no we are not like the posh spa hotel up the road, but you can treat this like your home as well as have a bit of a swim"...... if you want a B & B where, ok it's not modern with all the mod cons and does need a bit of updating, but it is clean...... if you want a B & B where you understand it was a house originally so it will be a bit noisy (the owners can't help if guests are inconsiderate of others)...then this is the B & B you want.

When we arrived, unlike most B & B's, we got shown around the house, and then to our room. Tea was awaiting out on the patio once we were settled. The room was clean and spotless and the bed very, very comfortable.

it was lovely walking around the guests areas, as they had old memorabilia (my favourite was the old 1974 AA road map book), we had a laugh playing on the pool table, as this, was I think as old as me.

Breakfast was lovely and just the right amount. All the team of Malin house were wonderful, and very friendly.

We will definitely be back and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixxy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I took my wife and children for a weekend at the Malin and had a great time. The hosts could not do enough for us and Mrs Coleman even went to the trouble of serving us cheese and biscuits one night after we came in from having a few drinks in the village. I will definitely be returning.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband booked the hotel for a surprise weekend away for my birthday! He showed me the pictures on the way and it looked fab, on arrival it looked like a completely different place to the pictures. My hubby was very disappointed. It was like walking into a second hand shop, dusty dark and old fashion, nothing matched and everything crammed in. We took our 8 month old son with us and on arrival they hadn't given us a cot as booked, that was sorted out no problem tho so not a big issue. The indoor pool looked dirty and was cold so I was very reluctant taking my son in. The room was also very dated and the cups we were provided both had lipstick on. we were given a room below the stairs so all night we had people up and down stomping, we got woken by a very loud hen party at 3am which also woke our son. The shower head holder was broken so had to shower holding the shower head which was quite awkward. We still had a fab weekend as the weather and location was great but I'd choose a different hotel next time. Staff are very friendly tho which is why I didn't have the heart to complain while I was there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsajpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malinhousehotel, Owner at Malin House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello,
We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, however we would much prefer you brought up any problem with us when you're here as we can rectify it for you then else we wouldn't know about it until too late. This is our home and we wouldn't want to live in a travelodge so the items you see around like old radios and furniture have been accumulated over the many years we've been here, same with the games and toys we have for the children to be entertained. The shower head only needed tightening and if known about it we could have sorted it instantly for you. Regarding the pool is is heated to 30' which is warm even for an indoor pool and is cleaned weekly, and more often when required due to the proximity to the beach and us being a family hotel a bit of sand can get in the pool from time to time as many people think we'll jump in there without first getting a shower. We don't take single sex parties for that exact reason, there was what looked like a hen party staying at an adjacent hotel that weekend that may have woken you however we can only apologise for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was warm, friendly and full of life. Its facilities for family activities were remarkable and would assist many a family to entertain their kids. Janet, the owner was a lovely person only too willing to please. Her welcome cup of tea was most satisfying after a long journey. We stayed only two nights, but fully intend to return in the future.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can...the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.0 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin House

Property: Malin House
Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Malin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Saundersfoot
Malin House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing