We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views great fish & chips....”
Review of Beachside Barbecue

Beachside Barbecue
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Beachside Barbecue opened in May 2016 as a new concept for Saundersfoot. Located by Saundersfoot harbour, overlooking the beach. We're all about Brisket, Ribs, Chicken and Fish. Featuring melt in the mouth, "low and slow" authentic barbecue cooked in our Hard Wood Pit Smoker (all the way from the USA) and a Lump Wood Charcoal Oven. Taking reservations or walk ins we look forward to welcoming you to Beachside Barbecue.
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Saundersfoot is one of my favourite places in the area. The Mermaid is a nice treat, great standard / regular Fish & Chip meal for £10. Super fresh fish and reasonable value for the quantity and quality given.

Will definitely go here again....Also plenty of choice for more expensive meals or fish alternatives...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 626 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went for Sunday Lunch, and both plumped for the set price two course, I had mains and dessert, my friend had starters and mains. There were adequate choices for all three courses, albeit somewhat unimaginative - beef or lamb for mains. We ordered drinks and gave food requests to a pleasant and polite waitress. The drinks took 10 minutes to arrive. The food took so much longer, given that the restaurant was not that busy. The starter arrived 10 minutes later, with nice fresh bread with solid butter, the soup was passable, but under seasoned. The mains were OK, served a full 30 minutes later on cold plates - minimum amount of sliced meat, roast potatoes and a little gravy. I asked for mint sauce and was served an awful vinegary green sludge. The seasonal vegetables were dire, three pieces of roast carrot each, something in a white sauce and something in a cheese sauce. I say something, as the sauce was not in proportion to the hidden vegetables. Several tables had been and gone before we were offered dessert despite ordering at the start. The mains crockery was removed and we waited another 20 minutes for dessert. There was a generous portion of dry sticky toffee pudding, some toffee sauce and ice cream. When we settled the bill, both two courses had been charged per course and was more than the advertised price of £12. Due to the so slow service and overcharging we will not be returning soon. Having enjoyed several meals at this restaurant over some years, it appears to have gone down hill this year. The location could not be bettered, the staff are very pleasant and smiley, but this does not compensate for slow passable food service. This is not a disabled friendly restaurant due to the number of stairs to get to the first floor and then up steep steeps to the loos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank taff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your detailed review.

I am sorry that your recent experience was so disappointing. Had you mentioned your displeasure at the time, we would have been given the chance to remedy your complaints.

Our standard at The Mermaid is to lightly season our food allowing diners to adjust to their own personal taste.

The restaurant is on the first floor with commanding views of the beach and harbour and unfortunately due to the constraints of the building we have toilet facilities on our upper floor. Our entrance has a wide staircase and we are always happy to offer assistance to ambulant disabled guests although we do not claim to be fully accessible.

We hope to see you again at The Mermaid in the future.

Kind Regards
Sarah Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Down with the family at Bluestone and although the food is good on site we wanted to break-out and chose The Mermaid. Everything about our experience was excellent - and we couldn't even include the view as it was so dark! Three tasty Prawn Cocktails were polished off before we were quickly served our main courses: seabass; cod; and for the 9-year old gammon (with both egg and pineapple) from the main menu. Service was attentive and very prompt. Portion size is not a problem and although we eventually had to give in and reluctantly leave some of the garlic potatoes and chips we have already agreed that this will be the first port of call when we are next in the area. Off for a walk around town now.

Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience of The Mermaid. We are so pleased that you chose to dine with us and all enjoyed your meals.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Pembrokeshire and look forward to seeing you next time!

Best wishes,
Sarah Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

...in a fairly basic first floor restaurant with the advantage of excellent sea views at the heart of the sea front and beach access.
There was plenty of other stuff on the menu. Loved the nickerbocker glory.

Thank DPG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Great! Thank you so much for your feedback and for visiting The Mermaid. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Sarah Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Visited this restaurant in mid October on a exceptionally fine and warm day.
I have visited before and it has not lessened in appeal, although the menu has shrunk noticeably.
The staff were exemplary.
The food was excellent.
The view was second to none.
Recommended - without hesitation - to all.
Do not miss this one if you are in the area. (We travelled 90 minutes to get there and it was well worth it!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MIBModels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much for returning to us and sharing your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit and would recommend The Mermaid. I have passed your comments on to the whole team and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachside Barbecue also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Beachside Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing