We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple and fresh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Barbecue

Beachside Barbecue
Ranked #6 of 31 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Beachside Barbecue opened in May 2016 as a new concept for Saundersfoot. Located by Saundersfoot harbour, overlooking the beach. We're all about Brisket, Ribs, Chicken and Fish. Featuring melt in the mouth, "low and slow" authentic barbecue cooked in our Hard Wood Pit Smoker (all the way from the USA) and a Lump Wood Charcoal Oven. Taking reservations or walk ins we look forward to welcoming you to Beachside Barbecue.
Portskewett, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“simple and fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great views from the restaurant. Service was first class, and I thought the drink prices were reasonable. The portions are good and the fish tasted as though it had just been plucked from the sea - which it probably had been!
Definitely will return when in Saundersfoot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am really pleased you enjoyed and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    224
    91
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“The views from here make up for the average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The food here is good enough to justify a meal if only to dine with such wonderful views. Service is very good. Meals are of generous proportion and edible, but just not memorable. Had the platter of cajun cod pieces (over-cooked to point of being dry), prawns (very nicely done), a nd dressed crab (flat tasting). Chicken in a bun came with no toppings...so nothing special. Sticky toffee pudding was burnt, but showed promise that it could have been quite good otherwise. Apple and pecan tart was nice, but added crumb topping was not needed as it made it have a dried out texture.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with aspects of your meal. We would have happily replaced any dish had you mentioned this at the time. All our meals are cooked fresh to order and we always aim to exceed expectations. I am pleased you enjoyed the service and views however and hope you try us again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Where else would you eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

3 - 4 times a year we visit my father in South Wales and each time we visit, we have lunch at the Mermaid. Kelly and Becky have worked here for years and whilst I don't expect they remember us, they always provide the most courteous and friendliest of service. Drinks are always quickly despatched, followed shortly after by the food. We always have the fish and chips, but the kids have other things. The fish always tastes so fresh and delicious. What ever the kids have chosen has always been lovely too. For the younger children they get their own menu, which they can then colour in and is always a must for both the kids and ourselves when the kids were younger. The portion size is fantastic and we leave wanting a kip. The chocolate milk shakes are tasty. Where ever you sit the views are brilliant, but when you sit at the windows they're even better. The only reason they don't get a 5 is that after nearly 12 yrs of visiting, I am still disappointed that whilst the food is always fresh, the chips are of the frozen variety, and I would suggest that perhaps the chef try his/her hand at fresh chips. Unfortunately, this is likely to be our last visit since my father is moving away from Wales. Long Live the Mermaid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chickenwobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service but watch the drinks prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived to stay with family members as it was mid evening someone suggested the mermaid.When we arrived we were shown to a table in the window which was lovely after a quick perusal of the menu we decided to have 4 large soft drinks the waitress swiftly dealt with our needs the next decision what to eat . GREAT CHOICE and the meals chosen arrived quickly unfortunately took a while for the cutlery to arrive :-( The moan "price of the soft drinks & the mushy peas or lack of"
£3.10 for a large soft drink is extreme? The other is asking for more than a thimble of mushy peas...
I would reccomend the Mermaid for food lovers but would ask the restaurant to be a little nore generous ☺

Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for visiting recently. I am pleased you enjoyed overall and appreciate your feedback.

Our soft drink prices have increased slightly recently due to and increase from our suppliers. Our menus are closely monitored at all times to ensure our best prices are passed on to our customers.

Had you mentioned you would like another helping of mushy peas I am sure we could have accommodated. Our portion sizes are generous but had we known you felt otherwise, we would have remedied that.

Please do come back and see us again soon,

Kind Regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, great sea view, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in Saundersfoot for three nights and this place was busy every day and evening but with good reason. We were lucky to get a table for two on a Saturday evening without reservations. The service was good, the portions and quality was great. The highlight was the beautiful sea view though. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and do hope you come back to see us again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachside Barbecue also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Beachside Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing