We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Beachside Barbecue

Beachside Barbecue
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Beachside Barbecue opened in May 2016 as a new concept for Saundersfoot. Located by Saundersfoot harbour, overlooking the beach. We're all about Brisket, Ribs, Chicken and Fish. Featuring melt in the mouth, "low and slow" authentic barbecue cooked in our Hard Wood Pit Smoker (all the way from the USA) and a Lump Wood Charcoal Oven. Taking reservations or walk ins we look forward to welcoming you to Beachside Barbecue.
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Really disappointed. I love seafood but cannot get up to your the mermaid as am in a wheelchair. No disabled access is discusting! What you gona do about it?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and I appreciate your frustration, but due to structural constraints of the building itself we are unable to make The Mermaid accessible at present for a few different reasons. We cannot install a lift as we do not own the ground floor premises and a stair lift would still not be able to access the top floor where our toilets are currently situated.

This is something we are keen to resolve so please do bear with us and rest assured we are doing all we can. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me on 01834 811 873.

Kind Regards,
Sarah Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 555 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great views from the restaurant. Service was first class, and I thought the drink prices were reasonable. The portions are good and the fish tasted as though it had just been plucked from the sea - which it probably had been!
Definitely will return when in Saundersfoot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am really pleased you enjoyed and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The food here is good enough to justify a meal if only to dine with such wonderful views. Service is very good. Meals are of generous proportion and edible, but just not memorable. Had the platter of cajun cod pieces (over-cooked to point of being dry), prawns (very nicely done), a nd dressed crab (flat tasting). Chicken in a bun came with no toppings...so nothing special. Sticky toffee pudding was burnt, but showed promise that it could have been quite good otherwise. Apple and pecan tart was nice, but added crumb topping was not needed as it made it have a dried out texture.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with aspects of your meal. We would have happily replaced any dish had you mentioned this at the time. All our meals are cooked fresh to order and we always aim to exceed expectations. I am pleased you enjoyed the service and views however and hope you try us again soon.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

3 - 4 times a year we visit my father in South Wales and each time we visit, we have lunch at the Mermaid. Kelly and Becky have worked here for years and whilst I don't expect they remember us, they always provide the most courteous and friendliest of service. Drinks are always quickly despatched, followed shortly after by the food. We always have the fish and chips, but the kids have other things. The fish always tastes so fresh and delicious. What ever the kids have chosen has always been lovely too. For the younger children they get their own menu, which they can then colour in and is always a must for both the kids and ourselves when the kids were younger. The portion size is fantastic and we leave wanting a kip. The chocolate milk shakes are tasty. Where ever you sit the views are brilliant, but when you sit at the windows they're even better. The only reason they don't get a 5 is that after nearly 12 yrs of visiting, I am still disappointed that whilst the food is always fresh, the chips are of the frozen variety, and I would suggest that perhaps the chef try his/her hand at fresh chips. Unfortunately, this is likely to be our last visit since my father is moving away from Wales. Long Live the Mermaid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chickenwobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived to stay with family members as it was mid evening someone suggested the mermaid.When we arrived we were shown to a table in the window which was lovely after a quick perusal of the menu we decided to have 4 large soft drinks the waitress swiftly dealt with our needs the next decision what to eat . GREAT CHOICE and the meals chosen arrived quickly unfortunately took a while for the cutlery to arrive :-( The moan "price of the soft drinks & the mushy peas or lack of"
£3.10 for a large soft drink is extreme? The other is asking for more than a thimble of mushy peas...
I would reccomend the Mermaid for food lovers but would ask the restaurant to be a little nore generous ☺

Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Manager at Beachside Barbecue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for visiting recently. I am pleased you enjoyed overall and appreciate your feedback.

Our soft drink prices have increased slightly recently due to and increase from our suppliers. Our menus are closely monitored at all times to ensure our best prices are passed on to our customers.

Had you mentioned you would like another helping of mushy peas I am sure we could have accommodated. Our portion sizes are generous but had we known you felt otherwise, we would have remedied that.

Please do come back and see us again soon,

Kind Regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachside Barbecue also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Beachside Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing