We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - as always!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kookaba Restaurant

Kookaba Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$21
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - as always!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This restaurant is fantastic, I cannot recommend it enough! The food is always perfect, the portion sizes are huge, yet the meals are cheap so excellent value for money! The atmosphere is always great. I guarantee you won't have a bad meal here! Keep up the good work guys!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ity13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    153
    58
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The size of the portions were generous and the food was rather good too. The fries being average but the 'skippy' steak was tasty. The downside being that we had to wait around 20 minutes after the time our table was reserved for but you can sense that they are really busy and you must phone up to guarantee yourself a table (the earliest we could get was 8PM when booking 4 days before).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravage069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Huge portions for the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my uni friends stay in a caravan here every year and always have an evening meal at the Kook a ba. We never have starters as the size of the mains is more than enough to satisfy even the hungriest of us.

We always book, as it is usually a weekend in the summer when it can get really busy, so we never have an issue being seated. The staff and the service is usually very quick, friendly and polite. Plus the venue is always very clean and with a great jolly atmosphere.

In the past I have had the Kanagroo and Ostrich steaks, but on our last visit sadly the Ostrich had been taken off the menu, so I tried the belly pork ribs instead. It is becoming a little less Aussie to be honest, but they are probably just catering to their clientel.

My belly pork was amazing, falling apart and huge! I had 3 huge 'ribs' and only managed 2! The dog enjoyed the 3rd hugely. My girlfriends had the surf and terf (steak and prawns) the minted lamb and the Baramundi - all said the dishes were great and perfectly cooked - as they always have been in the past (very surprised to see others saying things were overcooked!). You get a huge portion of fries with every dish and a little salad on the side. Plus they bring 2 sauce dishes to the table, which we always enjoy as they include different relish and chutneys.

This time we had a really fresh and sweet rose wine between us, called Gold County, which I would advise if you like a sweetish wine, it tasted of strawberries!

The price point is really good considering the size of the portions, almost american size! So I would advise it if you like BBQ food, a good piece of meat and have a huge appitite!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daisymay_chantele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good steaks but overcooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Recently ate here with my family. All of us had steaks and whilst all agreed they were a little overdone we all agreed they were very tasty so no complaints were made. Starters were nice- including the potato skins I see criticised below. We were in and out very quickly though- a break between the starter and the main would have been welcomed

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzy513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing, pre-packaged food, don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Starters very poor. Half a jacket potato with a slice of bacon & cheese plonked on top. Fatty undercooked steak, sent back only to be cremated. Most things seem to be frozen from the chips to the prawns. Very sad limp side salad. Nothing seems to be fresh except the steak & possibly the coleslaw. Was put off ordering a dessert when I noticed the waitress, with her bare hands, remove a large fudge cake from a box, tear off a slice, plonk it on a plate and squirt cream all over it from a can. Son enjoyed his pizza though. Rushed service. In and out within an hour and a bit. Very disappointing. Overpriced, pre-packaged foods. Do yourself a favour - don't bother.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kookaba Restaurant also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Kookaba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing