We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Chemist Inn

The Old Chemist Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family pub and restaurant with large beer garden which provides direct access onto Saundersfoot's award winning beach. Good food served daily. Real Ales. Happy hour between 4-6pm. Live music throughout the main summer months. Dogs are welcome in our beer garden and bar area.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

3 of us went here on a quiet Thursday evening with our 2 dogs for a meal. They've gone to town on the place since we were in there last February! The decor is lovely and the food as good as ever. Pleasant staff, good beer and really good food! What more could you ask for? And they accept dogs willingly. Gotta be right!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lurch45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    150
    52
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor and very disappointing since under new managment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have visited the Old Chemist for many years but since it has been taken over by new Management we were totally disappointed by the food and the service. (21st Sept 2013)

We were greated by a member of staff who put three of us facing a wall where out table was situated we found this very uncomfortable.

The food which was eaten by two of us was very disappointing and also when we asked if we could have a drink we were told by a member of staff sorry we dont take drink orders you have to go to the bar yourself and this was in the Restaurant. We found Customer Care was very poor.

Value for money i would rate this are poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 517mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda - south wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A pub with a nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Ate here on Friday 20th Sep, lovely dining surroundings food was excellent specials are great and good value for locally sourced food. staff are really nice. weather permitting they have a lovely rear beer garden with a view of the sea, right on beach. happy hour Mon to Fri.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Legend27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good value for money eatery with a nice selection of local beers and ciders. Portions were ample and food was above average. Lovely views over the bay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarryCr786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale of Glamorgan, Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We ate at the Old Chemist Pub after a lovely day in Saundersfoot, began by having a drink in the fab beer garden which backs on to the beach and the kids played on the beach where we could watch them and then went in to each as it was late in the season and getting a bit cold in the evening. The food was delicious and reasonably priced for the quality, the service was very good and very friendly. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spikemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Chemist Inn also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Old Chemist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing