We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab night out”

The Old Chemist Inn
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family pub and restaurant with large beer garden which provides direct access onto Saundersfoot's award winning beach. Good food served daily. Real Ales. Happy hour between 4-6pm. Live music throughout the main summer months. Dogs are welcome in our beer garden and bar area.
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent the last night of our holiday at the chemist and couldn't have picked better. Had the best fish pie I've ever tasted! Staff very friendly and attentive. On top of all that we found the prices extremely reasonable. Ended up in the lovely balcony overlooking the sea. A lovely end to a lovely holiday!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swanlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    154
    53
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited on 15th July 2014.

I had the Hunters Chicken (very good) and my wife had the cod which was "gorgeous".

Our portions were very generous, so no room for dessert.

The prices seem very fair.

Would go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zedex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Meat delivery hadn't come so there was nothing available from the gill, no steak, no lamb. Three out of four of us had a re-think and chose the fish pie, about 10 minutes later we were told that had run out. Third choice, two steak & ale pies and a Hunters chicken. The pies were fine, the Hunters chicken good, but far too much barbeque sauce on and it tasted as though it was straight from the bottle. The fourth diner, vegetarian, had the mushroom strogonoff, was very polite about it then left 3/4 of it. We waited ages for the bottle of wine we ordered, then they brought red, not white, which they promptly swapped. After the meal we weren't asked if we wanted a sweet, and later ordered three teas and a glass of wine. One tea was pre-sugared (not the sugar bowl one would expect) and they mixed these up so after a sip we had to swap. The glass of wine didn't arrive until prompted later.

The people left to run the place that night were very young and inexperienced, they didn't even seem to recognise or acknowledge our dining experience had not been good, were surprised when we said so and offered nothing in the way of apology or compensation, but did offer to take a phone number so the manager could get in touch the next day. We declined. Our holiday finished the following day but our friends stayed on and mooted going back in to see the manager, I don't yet know if they did, or the outcome.

The restaurant itself is very nice with excellent sea views and good outdoor seating very close to the sea. Pity our dining experience hadn't matched the view!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldChemistInn, Manager at The Old Chemist Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hello, Thank you for your review. As you know we have contacted you directly via tripadvisor to address the problems you highlighted in your review and we have also briefly explained the unusual circumstances which unavoidably led to the restaurant being left with only young (though not inexperienced) staff looking after the customers.

This is not the level of service that is usual in our restaurant and we have spoken to all the staff involved and are confident that this issue will not arise again.

We do hope that you and your friends will visit us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet and great sea side view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice pub, friendly service, good range of beers and ales, quiet with lots of seats and a lovely sea view. A little hidden away from main square.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best around! Great food, service and location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We have just spent the weekend in Saundersfoot and was recommended we try the Chemist. We were not disappointed! The food was delicious (no complaints from the kids either!) the location was lovely - right on the beach. The service was excellent - polite and friendly and not too intrusive. The manager made us feel right at home. If you are planning a trip to saundersfoot make sure you pay the Chemist Inn a visit. It's well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cymru02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Chemist Inn also viewed

Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Old Chemist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing