We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better B&B than many 4* hotels”
Review of Vine Cottage

Vine Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saundersfoot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vine Cottage
Ranked #14 of 17 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting a friend in Pembrokeshire and were extremely glad we did. The room was excellent (overlooking the garden rather than the road) - comfortable, clean, welcoming, quiet, and with an immaculate bathroom. Better facilities here than several so-called 4* hotels we have stayed in. We both slept extremely well. We particularly appreciated the cup of tea in the lounge on arrival which was most welcome after a long drive, and the fact that we were provided with real fresh milk in a vacuum flask to be able to make tea in the room. Ask for the guest Wi-fi code if you need internet access as it's not given in the welcome brochure. Breakfast was great (fruit juice, yoghurt, fruit, cooked breakfast, toast and marmalade) - I was only sorry I'd eaten too much the night before to be able to indulge fully the next morning. My single sausage was, however, extremely tasty. My only regret was not bringing a dog as the whole place was set up for dogs and their owners! All in all, a delightful and most welcoming place - thanks so much for having us.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serendipity555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Vine Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at Vine cottage for 2 nights with our Labrador. We were given a very warm welcome upon arriving. The car park is at the back of the cottage with plenty of space and the gardens are secure and extensive, and a lovely space to sit and enjoy. The room we stayed in, Manorbier, was spacious and immaculate. Everything you need was in the room and a clean, modern shower room was ensuite.

The owners were very welcoming and helpful and served a delicious breakfast with plenty of choice, even giving sausages to the holidaying dogs!

The location is a short, pleasant walk into Saundersfoot, where there are plenty of dog friendly places and beautiful beaches.

Overall, we had a great stay and will definitely be back, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have stayed in Saundersfoot many many times and walked past Vine Cottage numerous times. How this has escaped us staying here is a mystery.What a wonderful place where do I begin to praise it? Immaculately clean, no sign of dogs at all fresh milk on tea tray with a big selection of fairtrade teas, coffee & hot chocolate, chocolate biscuits,lovey hosts, friendly dogs, amazing garden that you are very welcome to use, superb breakast choice try the smoked haddock & poached egg highly recommended, and a good selection of fairtrade teas and produce, homemade marmalade, huge parking area,10 mintes walk downhill into Saundersfoot.
Thank you David & Helen

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plumbowl2163431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We decided last minute because the sun came out to take a trip to Tenby and stay overnight. We normally book beforehand, but we took a chance hoping that we would soon find somewhere, which proved harder than we thought as we took our dog along with us! We started to look for somewhere to stay at about 7 pm ish. We spent 2 hours driving around with no luck, many places telling us that we would find it difficult with a dog. We were given a booklet of places to stay by one kind b&b owner who recommended one of the places advertised in it. We rang them, they were full but recommended Vine Cottage in Saundersfood. We went with some trepidation, thinking that we would end up somewhere where nobody wants to stay! How wrong we were! The owners are lovely people, and our room was spotless, proving as a previous review said that having dogs stay doesn't compromise the cleanliness. I would have no hesitation recommending this place to people without dogs in tow. The bathroom was spotless, and decorated in cream wood paneling which was lovely. The garden was fab, lots of space for our dog Jessie to run around and sniff!! It was big enough to stroll around and find hidden spots. The breakfast was great, including the sausages! Often places serve up "cheap" tasteless sausages, but these were lovely, and it was a nice touch to give us one for our dog Jessie. A wide choice for breakfast, including the usual eggs, bacon, etc, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, cereal, home made jams, toast, etc. We were asked to put the dog in the car while we ate breakfast as dogs can become distressed left in strange surroundings and we were fine with this. Fresh milk provided for coffee and tea was very welcome, and I thought it a nice touch leaving a complimentary Rocky bar. Situated close to Saundersfoot beach, although dogs are not allowed on the main part of the beach. We ate in a great Australian Bistro, can't recall the name, but the best steak and belly pork, delicious, but ridiculously big portions, including enough chips for 3 or more!!
The beaches and sea are beautiful, and there are loads of places to explore. With the sun, as nice as anywhere abroad!! We only stayed 1 night, but definitely hope to go back with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmilolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We've stayed at Vine Cottage on a number of occasions over the past few years. Helen and David are always most welcoming and make you feel like old friends. The accommodation is spotless and very comfortable and the little extras like a lovely cup of tea on arrival, cotton wool balls and buds in the bathroom, and fresh milk on the tea tray put the finishing touches to your stay. We don't take our dog with us to Vine Cottage but Ruby and Megan are as welcoming as their owners and enjoy the fuss we enjoy giving them! Thoroughly recommended by Christine and Ron.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were at Vine Cottage in the summer - and I'm sorry to be late getting around to leaving a review.
We were on holiday as a family group, myself and husband, my sister and her 9 year old daughter, and our small dog.
Vine cottage is a very dog friendly place with a huge enclosed garden which is lovely to wander around anyway, but also a safe place to be with your dog. I would also say that the owners are very sensitive to guests needs, and if you don't have a dog you would be equally happy here. They have 2 dogs of their own, who love to meet guests after breakfast - but clearly only if you would like to meet them!
The rooms are very clean and airy with big windows, some looking over the lovely garden.
Breakfasts are very good, plenty of choices and very nicely presented. The owners are very professional, not intrusive, but always helpful with advice on the local area and places to visit.
Saundersfoot beach is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the B+B, either by the road, or a footpath away from the main road. Dogs are not allowed on the main central Saundersfoot beach, but are allowed on beaches a little walk further along.
We had no problem finding lots of lovely dog friendly beaches in the area.
We enjoyed coming back to the relaxation of Vine Cottage after our day trips out, we had a lovely holiday, and highly recommend this B+B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneMow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My dogs and I had a wonderful stay and we will be back. The dogs especially liked the big garden and the sausages at breakfast. The human breakfast was very good also. the accomodation is very clean and there is real milk for tea in the room!! It is a nice stroll from the B&B into town/beach/pub and back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.3 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.5 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
166 reviews
2.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.3 mi away
Harbourlight Guesthouse
Harbourlight Guesthouse
#4 of 17 in Saundersfoot
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage

Address: Vine Cottage The Ridgeway, Saundersfoot SA69 9LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Vine Cottage Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing