We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''We were disappointed- and won`t be back!''”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saundersfoot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bonville's Court Holiday Park
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife,myself & the pet yorkie booked in with our touring caravan to the site on Monday 15th August for intended 10 night stay.

Firstly, we had some difficulty locating the actual site, which has access from two different roads via a sort of farm track.

We were met on arrival by Mr Davies in the office reception, he was unaware who was booked in, and had to phone his wife to establish which pitch we were allocated, while we are on the subject of pitches- I believe brochure states all pitches were level, this should read part sloping has we had to use levelling blocks, being partially disabled (myself & wife) would not have booked, had we been aware of this fact.

Despite the owner assuring an earlier reviewer the refurbishment work to the toilet/showers was completed spring 2011 this is not the case, there is still just 1 toilet pan in the gents-2 functioning sink basins-2 showers, 1 door has 2 robe hooks the other has none- concealled lighting protruding from ceiling- chiselled out area of walling,this can hardly be complete surely? My wife also had several issues with the ladies toilet/showers, for some reason these facilities are not serviced on Sundays- much to my annoyance on Monday morning 22nd Aug, an urgent visit to the gents to discover there was no toilet roll.
It may be worth mentioning the footpath to the toilets needs urgent remedial works,it is dangerous, espescially for elderly & infirm.
Later that morning as we were packing up the owner came by, I said that was the last straw and we were leaving (3days earlier than anticipated unfortunately for us)

Having said what I have,, we found the owners to be a charming couple, and the majority of the site, like the surrounding area, delightful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

We were disappointed that you say you didnt enjoy your stay with us, we frequently chatted and you always appeared happy. You did not tell us at any time you were partially disabled, we could have moved you closer to the toilet block and you could of had grey water drainage to help. We are very approachable and would do anything thats possible to help someone get the most out of their stay, I have asked a few people would they say the touring pitch you were on was level and all said level. The 'Farm Lane?' was tarmaced the beginning of this year, and if you follow the directions to the Park they are very accurate, some people pass the entrance if they are going a little quick. My husband was working on the computer the day you arrived and it took him one minute to confirm with me which pitch you were on, as I do all the bookings. The Toilet Block is always serviced on Sundays, depending on the waeather and how many people on the Park it can be hourly the same week days, we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the toilets, I am afraid toilet rolls do run out. The toilet roll was replaced on the Monday morning at 08.00am the first clean of the day. How can you say you said to us 'it was the last straw'!!!??? running out of a toilet roll! we chatted twice that morning, you said you were leaving early because of the bad weather front coming in, when you told me about the toilet roll, I apologiesed and went to put one in and it had already been done. We later saw you leaving and wished you good luck for your journey back. Sorry about the missing hooks behind one shower door - have now been done-could have done it for you if you had mentioned it. We are only small and our licence states that we need one toilet and one shower for the mens (for the use of tents) as tourers are self sufficient, but it was our choice to upgrade and increase to two showers and two toilets for the comfort of our holiday makers.
The neat chizelled out channel is for a shaving socket. I am suprised at your description of the path to the toilet block as this was laid new this year. The only thing we could think of was a raised manhole which will be lowered this winter but where your tourer was positioned neither of you would have had to pass it. You are welcome back next year when I am sure all these niggles will be rectified and the ladies will be refurbished as smart as the mens. We have had a lot of compliment on the Park and the gents toilets this year, unfortunately I am sure we will never please everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have got back today from a weeks holiday at this campsite and we had a lovely time! The owners were very welcoming. We stayed in our tent on the pitch next to my cousin and her family the owners had made sure we had pitches together which most parks don't do. We had 7 children with us who had the best holiday in a long time! I have booked to go again next year. It is close to saundersfoot which has some lovely shops and a spar for your groceries. I strongly recommend this site.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you all next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We took a 1987 caravan to Bonvilles and it was our first trip away in it, so we were on a learning curve. The site is hard to spot from the main road and we missed the turning twice! The owner was called and guided in via the phone, so no problem really. Our pitch was flat, hard standing with power, drainage for grey water and fresh water. There are four pitches all grouped with enough space for tourers and awnings and access to manouvre even for an amateur, was good.

We had a warm welcome from John and Caroline and were shown round the site to get familiar with the layout. It was at this point that we realised we had paid £25/night for a site that had only one toilet/shower block for the ladies, and the gents was in the process of being refurbed.... An old static was made available as a Gents and was warm and clean. Not ideal though, and I would have thought that this could have been disclosed at booking, or a price reduction given in view of the lack of full facilities? Chemical toilet emptying was a bit like the trenches too, with no easy way of rinsing out the hardware involved. However, this is camping, not a 5* hotel so you have to be prepared to rough it a bit I suppose.

Still, the owners run a very low key site, with minimal supervision which makes for a very safe feeling, relaxed and nautral ambience. Dave keeps the park short mown, and there was no rubbish or dirt anywhere on the grounds. Wi-Fi is available but at £5 a night, we left it alone, Vodaphone has only marginal coverage so you'll only get GPRS speeds with a dongle, so bear the Wi-Fi costs in mind when deciding if you really need the internet.

The owners children were wonderful at making our daughter feel at home and she was scooped up and hosted by the boys, being shown the dens, animals, best places to scoot and cycle, climb and generally do what 8-10 yr olds love to do the most. The site is so safe, we never had a worry about our daughter being left to roam as she liked. This is becoming a rare thing indeed, and as the site concentrates on statics, the place was not over busy or crowded with people.

DVD's can be borrowed from the office and there is a list available, donation to charity is the cost of rental, a great idea.

The town of Saundersfoot is a lovely saunter doen the "Incline" which is a disused line used to haul Anthracite up the hill from the harbour. Thwe winding house is still at the top of the walk and worth stopping to read up on at the info board. The walk is quite safe as it is all paved, or quiet residential cut through. Walks to Amroth or Wisemans Bridage can be had along the beach, and Tenby is a short drive away and worh seeing for its beautiful buildings and stunning beaches. As a base to explore the area Bonville is ideal.

As we were nearing the end of our stay, the tireless work by the team meant that the VERY smart gents was almost done, I no longer had to use the static for WC and showers (shower needs to be hotter John), and the site was almost at 100%.

What stood out for me, was that the owners were incredibly welcoming, relaxed and laid back. It was very obviously a family concern and that permeated the visit. If you want quiet, dark, starry nights, relaxed daytime snoozes and a break from the mainstream try Bonvilles. You'll not be sorry you did. Oh, and it is fine to bring your pet rabbits! We did.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the lower field first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank originalracingsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you very much for your honest review of our Park, we very much look forward to seeing you again with your no doubt, growing rabbits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

A very well run site, clean and tidy nice and peacfull, no good if you whant lots of nosie
and partying. With the gents block not ready provision was mad for toilets and
showers in a old static van, which was kept clean and tidy, the gents will be ready by the
spring bank holidays. Have seen the new gents very clean and smart it will be to, the lades will be done next winter. The site is work in progress, do not let that put you off we
shall return to this gem of a site.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comets070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we very much look forward to seeing you again on our Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My family and I have been using Bonvilles Court holiday park for the past 20 years.
We find the location wonderful for a beach holiday.
The flower borders are always beautiful, the roads and paths clean, the caravans are of high standard and immaculate.
The park is now run by a young family who are always professional and greet you with a smile.
I have never seen any evidence of the horror stories of the above reviews and find it hard to believe that these photos are real.
From our experience the site is clean, tidy and in a wonderful location for the ideal beach/walking holiday. See you Easter!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Just browsing the website for Bonvilles Court Holiday Park with views to booking another holiday when I came across the review left about this Park, I felt that I must pass on my views to other potential visitors. For the past 2 years myself and partner with my two children, 6 and 10 have stayed at Bonvilles Court Holiday Park. We camped both occasions in a large family tent with electricity. On both occasions I was greeted with a friendly smile, they were very knowledgeable on recommending local attractions. The Park is ideally located with a 10 minute walk to the Village and Beach which is paved all the way! During both our visits camping, we always found the toilet block and shower areas to be very clean, although when it did rain it became slightly muddy with footprints but soon got mopped up by a member of staff. I also found the showers lovely, FREE endless supply of hot water, been on some Parks where the water has just been a trickle and have gone cold after 5 minutes. Also, even though it was August we never once had to que to use the shower. Both Ladies & Gents had fresh flowers in them which added a nice touch. Our children loved the small adventure play area and the pets corner where they held and fed the chickens and guinea pigs. I would recommend to
anyone, to visit Bonvilles Court Holiday Park, they will leave with the same satisfaction that we have had as a family each time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mucker098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Thank you very much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We visited this site as a group of 10 with 2 tents. We had 6 children ranging from 3 – 14. On arrival at the campsite there was no member of staff to greet us. When we did eventually get shown our pitch it was discovered that there had been a mix up with dates and 1 of our pitches was still occupied by a tent. The second pitch was waterlogged. We were advised to squeeze 2 tents onto the waterlogged pitch. We were informed that staff would help us move our tent the next day. The offer of help to move never came so we remained in situ for the rest of the holiday. Our tents were so close together they were almost touching. On one of the days we were there we had a torrential downpour. The pitch flooded and water ran through the porch of one of the tents. Drainage was poor and we spent the rest of the holiday keeping the children out of the deep muddy puddles.
The electric point we were to use was broken with the wires exposed. I asked for this to be repaired as it was a risk, particularly to our young children. A plastic bag was placed over the point (this later blew off and was exposed to the rain).
The campsite is setup for static caravans which have their own facilities. The shower block consists of 1 toilet and one shower per sex. The female shower had only a shower curtain and there was a large hole in the window above it. The toilet seat became broken and was not fixed and the floors near the shower were muddy. Towards the end of the holiday there were approximately 30 people using these amenities.
The owners of the site live in a house next to the site. They used a short cut to get to the site which was at the back of our tent. This meant them walking closely past our tents (which was already cramped into 1 pitch) at various times of the day or evening along with their children. The owners/staff were not very accessible and we often had to catch them as they walked past. The office is rarely manned.
The location of the site to Saundersfoot is good if you are fit and are able to walk up/downhill. The paths are not very wide and I would be wary walking young children down to the beach. Saundersfoot is a lovely beach. The car park on the sea front is £2.50 all day. Tenby is gorgeous and close by, but be prepared to walk your stuff some way to the beach as cars are not allowed within the ‘walled’ town.
Folly farm is well worth a visit and is only a few minutes down the road from the camp site. We easily spent a full day there and you can buy a half price ticket if you want to revisit another day during your stay.
We also visited Oakwood which was another good day out. Pre book tickets on the Internet. It is cheaper and there is no need to queue when you get there.
Saundersfoot and the surrounding beaches are lovely and the area is well worth a visit. If you are planning on booking a static caravan then this site is ideal. However avoid if you are planning on camping or touring

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbonvilles, Owner at Bonville's Court Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Please would you remove these photos as they are now no longer appropriate, we have refurbished they mens toilet block totally and the whole block has new double glased windows and doors. The Bollard that the motorhome damaged have been replaced with new.

You are very welcome to visit us again, but unfortunately we cannot guarantee the weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saundersfoot hotels
0.8 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pinewood B&B
Pinewood B&B
#1 of 1 in Wiseman's Bridge
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#4 of 4 in Saundersfoot
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Woodridge Inn Hotel
The Woodridge Inn Hotel
#11 of 18 in Saundersfoot
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremont House
Claremont House
#8 of 18 in Saundersfoot
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonville's Court Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonville's Court Holiday Park

Address: The Ridgeway Valley Road, Saundersfoot SA69 9NA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Saundersfoot
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bonville's Court Holiday Park Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing