We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cwmwennol Country House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here for three nights.The rooms are good in size and clean.
What i liked the most is how cosy and welcoming this hotel is.The hosts Vicki and Roy and probably the nicest people you are likely to meet and nothing is too much trouble.
The breakfast is very good with plenty to eat.Amanda is great and a credit to the overall set up.
We didnt have the evening meal so cant comment on this but imagine they will be good if the breakfast is anything to go by.
The walks in the forest are a must.
Overall the most relaxing break ive had in years and will book again staying much longer next time.

well done to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leighdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

From entering Cwmwennol to leaving the hostpitality was first class,We deciding to have evenning meal which also i could not fault,The bar is a must and once you enter its so cosy you dont want to leave,Newyear was wellcomed in with glass chamage and nibbles the glass ended up as a bottle, one fab night, will be going back again this is a gem of a find.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We decided to spend a weekend away in Saundersfoot at the last minute and wanted to take our dog with us. Having searched we were able to book at Cwmwennol Country House. They also said that providing veggie breakfasts would be no problem. Having read some of the reports on this site I was aprehensive but there was no reason to be. The owners were friendly and welcoming, the room was fine- remember this does not claim to be a 5 star hotel. Not only did we get fantastic veggie breakfasts but they also provided a reasonable choice of evening meals which we ate in the bar so we did not have to leave our dog alone. There were locals who used the bar and brought their dogs with them and the owners have 3 dalmations so if you are not a doggie person then this is probably not the place for you but otherwise I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We also were lucky enough to see several badgers and a fox feeding in the garden behind the bar - a nightly occurence. The hotel has a path down to a small bay (muddy at this time of year so take your wellies!) and it is a 10-15 minute walk to Saundersfoot harbour- downhill so it takes a little longer back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A first class spot ,lovely stroll through the forest to a huge clean beach,excellent food and superb choice,.the spicey tiger prawns are great.Vicki even checked with my wife and mum if they were ok with spicey food ! Ethnic curios abound and make the whole place seem like a museum (with booze ! ) Fine house wines and great local beer. The bedrooms are clean and very comfy new tv's and great tea,coffee choc etc+biscuits,the bathroom fitments looked new to me ,tho i'm not sure i liked carpets in a bathroom,for cleansiness reasons,our room looked like it had been decorated recently and there were NO cobwebs as some people have qouted. Our two dogs were welcomed and given treats all night by the friendly staff ,as were we,vickis spicey biscuits came to the table free of charge ! All in all a special place and with badgers visiting the garden too adding to the interest. Definitely recommended if you like something a bit different from the norm.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nic g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We've been here several times as we like walking the coast path. It's a shame that some people have written such negative reports of this place as our rooms have always been clean and tidy. The breakfasts are first class and I defy anyone to get a better one in the area. The quality of the evening meals is also top-notch, superbly cooked local meats, fish and vegetables, home-made soups and desserts. A relaxing bar and the badgers provide evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a jacuzzi bath and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We have been coming here for over fifteen years and always enjoy our stay. The setting is amazing - surounded by woodland where a short walk takes you to the quiet side of Saundersfoot Bay beach. You can also walk the nearby coastal path with its amazing cliff views to Saundersfoot and Tenby.

The hotel has a wonderful warm, welcoming and friendly atmosphere. There is an atmospheric bar where the hosts Vicky & Roy chat to the visitors and there is always a lovely relaxing atmosphere with the the other guests. Where else can you enjoy a drink and be entertained by Badgers and Foxes that visit the garden! We have stayed in No6 and No7 rooms with views of the woods and the Bay. Rooms are well kitted out and clean and cosy. We have not had better breakfasts in 5* hotels - big portions and great choice incl haddock & poached egg. Obviously there is a good chef as the evening meals are also good.

We stay with our dogs as they enjoy the beach and woods as much as we do! We were here last at a busy time but there were no dogs in the bar or any other evidence that dogs are welcome here.

If you want a fantastic setting and a hotel and grounds full of character to ensure a relaxing stay in a beautiful part of Pembrokeshire this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RexandMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel due to business in Pembrokeshire. We had stayed in the mid nineties when there was different owners and wanted to see if it had improved or changed.
The hotel is very dog friendly (we had our dog with us), so much that it was a bit over powering in the bar with all the dogs running around - and we say that as dog lovers. Our room was basic, and did not appear to have been updated since we were last here 15 years ago - bright colours and dated furniture.

We ate in the bar, and waited about 50 minutes for a fairly simple meal, but suspect there were limited kitchen staff on duty so we had to wait for the chef to arrive for work. Breakfast was reasonable with a good choice of cooked options. The owners were in the bar all the time we were there, and we feel they have lost enthusiasm for running the hotel, and preferred to be surrounded by known customers and friends rather than working at welcoming new customers and offering the best service they can.

Room Tip: We had a basic room on the first floor with a view over the side garden, there may be better options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HandSHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.5 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.4 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,230 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
523 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwmwennol Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwmwennol Country House

Address: Swallowtree Woods, Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cwmwennol Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel surrounded by beautiful woodland. Vicki and Roy welcome you to the Cwmwennol Country House which sits in the Swallowtree woods, gradually extending towards the shoreline and westwards towards Monkstone Point. If you fancy a stroll to the beach then take the path through the woods and you will be there in minutes. The bright and well-appointed rooms all have en-suite shower or bath, a television and a hospitality tray. The restaurant is non-smoking and has a wide selection of delicious meals on offer and, for the smaller appetite bar snacks. Whilst staying at the Cwmwennol Country House you will not be short of things to do with plenty of beaches to explore, the furthest being a thirty-minutes drive away. The Georgian town of Tenby has a beautiful harbour and is a must for anybody visiting the area. With three castles in the surrounding area Manorbeir, Pembroke and Carew you won't be short of fun things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Cwmwennol Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cwmwennol Country Hotel
Cwmwennol Country House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing