We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cwmwennol Country House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned after a 4 day short break. The hotel is set in woods with great walks on the door step and a path down to the beach.(path might be slippy and muddy in wet weather.)watched the badgers come into the garden at night.
Rooms could do with updating and furniture worn in places. But the rooms very clean. With nice white bedding and fluffy white towels. A lot of choice at breakfast and very tasty.
We took our dog she was allowed in the bar at night. Quite a few other guest had dogs.so if you don't like them may be not the best place to stay.
Found the owners very friendly but not overbearing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goldenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

I think i must have stayed in a different place to what some of these reviews say. I agree with everything on the review from kataya50? We too have just returned from this hotel which we were very dissapointed with! Yes the setting is beautiful but once inside it is a different story. Dull, worn out and not the cleanest, reception looked like a tip and very unwelcoming. Dining room was dusty and full of cobwebs and dead spiders in the windows(which you had a job to see through as they were so dirty) the whole place could do with a good clean! We personally didn't find the landlady very friendly, very abrupt I would say. Will never return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yat03147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have stayed several times before & have always had a wonderful relaxing holiday. There is always a warm welcome, good food & comfortable accommodation. The location is also perfect for visiting the many glorious beaches within Pembrokeshire. As always the only thing wrong was that we had to leave but we will be back again. Thank you to Vicky, Roy and staff for making our holiday such a happy one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs-Carney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lovely setting on the outside, messy and gloomy on the inside. Landlady likes to hold court in the evening, sat at the bar on a high stool.
Cereal packets a year out of date. Plastic dirty spoons in a basket in bedroom!
Will never return.

Room Tip: Wouldnt stop here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NottinghamSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Having travelled down from Scotland after visiting a poorly relative we were looking forward to staying overnight in Saundersfoot. This is the first time we've had a bad experience based on trip advisor reviews - the hotel seemed well located and photos looked attractive but first impressions do count: the area in front of the hotel looked neglected and the inside matched. To say this hotel is 'quirky' is being kind - reception/hallway was messy and gloomy and our welcome was minimal. We were given directions to our room upstairs and it would have been nice to have been shown the way etc. I went up whilst my husband went to get luggage, the room might have been adequate but we both felt the same, just didn't want to stay in a place that didn't seem 'fresh' (this situation was a first for us!). The facilities were mentioned - bar/dining room which appeared to be downstairs, dark and unappealing, nobody else booked in (admittedly a Monday). The key was handed back in, the requested sea view when booking was mentioned with the answer 'isn't there one?' (clearly none) and we left and found a superb B&B in Saundersfoot overlooking the beach, such a contrast for the same price.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank katya50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The staff and area are lovely and the place is just right for the price. The hotel is in a lovely spot. Really comfy beds and lovely bed linens - just wanted to stay in bed forever here :-)

Pros
-Friendly staff and they provide late check in (we arrived at 10:30pm on a Friday night)
-comfy bed and lovely soft bed linens
-great tub in the suite
-beautiful views from back yard and potential to see badgers
-clean (despite the fact dogs are allowed our room was lovely and clean)

Cons
- the decor in the hallways doesn't really match (the walls and the floor) so it could do with updating
-water pressure in the shower wasn't the best - but the tub was available to use so all was good.
-couch in the suite could do with updating as well

We had a great stay and none of the Cons would stop us from coming back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get the suite - we were upgraded to it and now I know its there I would totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is beautiful Hotel set in the middle of a wood, so much character. We couldn't have wished for better. Lovely clean rooms with all that you could wish for. Vicki and Roy are lovely people they made us so very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful hosts. The food is lovely, even catering for a Vegan diet. The bar is lovely and comfortable with a lovely open fire, where you can sit and have a drink and watch the beautiful badgers feeding. Fantastic!

Thank you so much Vicki and Roy, can't wait for the next time we come to visit. We had a Wonder time.

Best wishes. Lynne and Colin Purt.

Room Tip: Go and visit this Brilliant place. You will be glad that you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynneErith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.5 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.4 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,229 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
522 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
10.2 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwmwennol Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwmwennol Country House

Address: Swallowtree Woods, Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cwmwennol Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel surrounded by beautiful woodland. Vicki and Roy welcome you to the Cwmwennol Country House which sits in the Swallowtree woods, gradually extending towards the shoreline and westwards towards Monkstone Point. If you fancy a stroll to the beach then take the path through the woods and you will be there in minutes. The bright and well-appointed rooms all have en-suite shower or bath, a television and a hospitality tray. The restaurant is non-smoking and has a wide selection of delicious meals on offer and, for the smaller appetite bar snacks. Whilst staying at the Cwmwennol Country House you will not be short of things to do with plenty of beaches to explore, the furthest being a thirty-minutes drive away. The Georgian town of Tenby has a beautiful harbour and is a must for anybody visiting the area. With three castles in the surrounding area Manorbeir, Pembroke and Carew you won't be short of fun things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Cwmwennol Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cwmwennol Country Hotel
Cwmwennol Country House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing