We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent homely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cwmwennol Country House
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We read a lot of mixed reviews about this hotel but decided to go on our gut instinct anyway

This hotel is dog friendly, we took our dog, who is quite large and there were other residents with dogs too. the owners Roy and Vicky have Dalmatian dogs and one of them is usually in the lounge and is quite friendly

Roy and Vicky and their staff are very friendly and accommodating. There are some bad review about the hotel, but this is Roy and Vicky's home and as such you get the feeling that they want to be involved and make you feel comfortable. We enjoyed their company and conversation in the evenings. Roger the chef and barman was also very friendly and accommodating.

Agreed that the hotel is quite dated and could do with a face lift but it is clean and homely. It has everything that we needed, a good clean comfortable bed, good shower, lovely thick towels and a tv in the room.

It was great to be able to see badgers in the evenings, there is a large picture window in the bar that you can sit at and watch them for hours,

Although dogs are allowed at the hotel, they are not allowed in the dining room but are allowed in the bar. We had a fantastic meal and my husband chose from the bar menu and I chose from the dining room menu, but we ate in the bar so the dog could be with us. The vegetarian Lasagne and Veggie chilli were some of the best we've ever eaten.

we loved the atmosphere at Cumwennol and feel the other residents must have felt the same as everyone was chatty and friendly, which we don't often find in big corporate type hotels.

Breakfast is of the highest standard. Fresh fruit, nuts, seeds, cereal and a great range of cooked.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and certainly are planning on returning if they would have us.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the garden, it was clean and big enough for our requirements, I do not know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our kids and grand kids were camping nearby so this made a great place to stay.
The rooms were comfortable ( we had the suite plus one other room) and everything needed was available.
The choice at breakfast was wide ranging - from a full cooked breakfast to kippers and eggs benedict.
We had dinner one evening for all 9 of us and everyone enjoyed their choice.
For a comfortable, friendly hotel in the area this ticked all boxes.
This sits nicely between a B&B and a full blown hotel and suited us down to the ground, but if you need a modern looking place to stay this is not it.
We would definitely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can - a lot more space plus balcony but not a lot more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked this in haste and didn't check Tripadvisor...big mistake. Now reading the reviews, I am in the camp who don't like Cwmwennol. Where to start ? Dead plants in pots at the main entrance, cracked paving,a caravan in the car park and the gas tank on view weren't a great welcome. Neither was the perfunctory greeting from the landlady. Rooms were a seventies nightmare, bad woodchip everywhere, terrible tatty decor. View was over tatty garden furniture. All could be forgiven if the rooms had been cleaner. I wiped god knows what off the radiator,there was mould on the shower and some black stuff under the loo brush holder. All added up to.. yuk ! Dog hairs were evident on all the publicly carpeted areas and on the chair in our room. To be fair the bed linen seemed clean and fresh, and breakfast was ok ( under the control of an excellent front of house lady). But-dog lovers LOVE this place-read the reviews !! You have been warned. One night enough for us, never again.

Room Tip: Choose a good room at another guest house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayneD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just stayed at Cwmwennol, after reading some awful reviews we were not sure what to expect!
The room was spotless, plenty of space for us and our Lab Meg. Vicky and Roy were extremely helpful and kind to all of us. Roger behind the bar good company. Breakfast was the best ever, and staff were more than happy to help. Lovely woodland for walks, easy access to Saundersfoot. Will be booking again soon.

Room Tip: we were in room 8, nice twin room overlooking garden at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leighawcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned after a 4 day short break. The hotel is set in woods with great walks on the door step and a path down to the beach.(path might be slippy and muddy in wet weather.)watched the badgers come into the garden at night.
Rooms could do with updating and furniture worn in places. But the rooms very clean. With nice white bedding and fluffy white towels. A lot of choice at breakfast and very tasty.
We took our dog she was allowed in the bar at night. Quite a few other guest had dogs.so if you don't like them may be not the best place to stay.
Found the owners very friendly but not overbearing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goldenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I think i must have stayed in a different place to what some of these reviews say. I agree with everything on the review from kataya50? We too have just returned from this hotel which we were very dissapointed with! Yes the setting is beautiful but once inside it is a different story. Dull, worn out and not the cleanest, reception looked like a tip and very unwelcoming. Dining room was dusty and full of cobwebs and dead spiders in the windows(which you had a job to see through as they were so dirty) the whole place could do with a good clean! We personally didn't find the landlady very friendly, very abrupt I would say. Will never return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yat03147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have stayed several times before & have always had a wonderful relaxing holiday. There is always a warm welcome, good food & comfortable accommodation. The location is also perfect for visiting the many glorious beaches within Pembrokeshire. As always the only thing wrong was that we had to leave but we will be back again. Thank you to Vicky, Roy and staff for making our holiday such a happy one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs-Carney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.5 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.4 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saundersfoot
1,197 reviews
2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
6 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cwmwennol Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cwmwennol Country House

Address: Swallowtree Woods, Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: £68 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cwmwennol Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel surrounded by beautiful woodland. Vicki and Roy welcome you to the Cwmwennol Country House which sits in the Swallowtree woods, gradually extending towards the shoreline and westwards towards Monkstone Point. If you fancy a stroll to the beach then take the path through the woods and you will be there in minutes. The bright and well-appointed rooms all have en-suite shower or bath, a television and a hospitality tray. The restaurant is non-smoking and has a wide selection of delicious meals on offer and, for the smaller appetite bar snacks. Whilst staying at the Cwmwennol Country House you will not be short of things to do with plenty of beaches to explore, the furthest being a thirty-minutes drive away. The Georgian town of Tenby has a beautiful harbour and is a must for anybody visiting the area. With three castles in the surrounding area Manorbeir, Pembroke and Carew you won't be short of fun things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cwmwennol Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cwmwennol Country Hotel
Cwmwennol Country House Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing