We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful location,first class facilities and outstanding staff!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swallow Tree Gardens

Swallow Tree Gardens
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saundersfoot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swallow Tree Gardens
Ranked #9 of 18 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful location,first class facilities and outstanding staff!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having just read the previous review from Jon P I feel appalled at his comments especially about the cleaning staff members who continue to do an excellent job with professionalism, high standards and great service, having been going to Swallow Tree Gardens now for many many years and now owning and letting my caravan I have the utmost respect for Liz and all her staff in the way that they maintain first class standards and 'go the extra mile' to make sure that everything is satisfactory, this also applies to the reception staff who are very helpful and personable......personally the joy of staying at 'Swallow Tree' is that it has maintained a superior site, with well appointed holiday homes and amazing staff!!which cannot be said about many institutions these days, so 'HATS OFF' to you all!!!!!!!, will be coming again and again.......Love to all.x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great review of Swallow Tree Gardens! We're very pleased to hear that you enjoy your time here so much, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed here many times but not for 8/9 years.

As previous, the location is wonderful and the caravan was excellent (outside furniture excepted as this is old and of cheap quality).

Disappointed to find the Restaurant often closed (it seemed to be more closed than open) and unable to get a drink in the bar after 2100 hrs when Reception and the building closed (not advertised as such).

We did wish to make one minor complaint as we left over the Cleaners. We were unfortunately met with an immediate defensive attitude. There was no acknowledgement that we were disappointed nor any apology - in fact we were met with the sarcastic comment of 'happy days' when I first said that I had one small complaint. The attitude of the Receptionist on this occasion was shocking. I would point out that this was not typical of the others at Reception who were very helpful.

Still a lovely week, but left feeling that the atmosphere has changed on the site and that it wasn't as good an experience as previous.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the caravan and the location of our site. With regards to the restaurant, unfortunately opening hours have to be curtailed outside of peak-weeks so we try to offer the facility for the most popular times of the week. We are, however, very concerned about your additional comments. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff so please rest assured that this matter is being looked into vigorously, internally. It would be most helpful if you could contact us via email on info@swallowtree.com and provide a fuller description of your complaint and the incident. We apologise if your holiday was affected by this and hope that we can resolve the matter as quickly as possible for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our stay here was amazing. We ate in the restaurant twice it was really nice they even accommodated my very fussy 3 year old. The lodge was lovely very clean and had everything you need. The staff were lovely and the site is very quiet. The only downside is the wifi its not good. But they do tell you its not fast broadband. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Wi-Fi has recently been upgraded so hopefully you will find this will have improved on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My Fiancé and I have just returned from a really lovely stay here at Swallow Tree. We knew as soon as we arrived the holiday would be great, really friendly ladies on reception who were more than helpful with any questions we had. The Ambassador Plus caravan was spotless and we had a lovely little garden too with table and chairs. The location of the park is peaceful with beautiful views out to the sea with Saundersfoot just a short walk away along the beach. We were given a timetable of when the tides would be in and out which was really handy to have with us. Made use of the pool and sauna every day and cannot recommend the restaurant enough, we had a lovely meal here and left feeling absolutely stuffed! Look forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sianaby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks for your lovely review of our site. It sounds like you made the most of everything. We look forward to welcoming you back to Swallow Tree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for the first time at this site and we were very impressed. Excellent location and beautiful well kept gardens. We did have the luxury of staying in the best lodge on the site, (Marros, Pitch 24), it has the best view of the bay of Saundersfoot and to hear the sea lapping below is a real pleasure. The lodge itself is very modern and comfortable inside, very well equipped and the hot tub on the decking was the icing on the cake. The decking all around the lodge allowed us to sunbathe as well as admire the view. The pool area was very nice and clean as were the changing rooms. My husband and I also had some treatments at the spa which we can fully recommend also as they were to a very high standard.
We did eat at the restaurant too which was very good, with lots of fresh fish on the menu. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

This site is beautiful and quiet, which was amazing when I realised how many families were actually on site in the peak weeks of Summer!!

The lodge was pricey but you certainly get what you pay for!

Just a little note to add, the is a public footpath running directly in front of the lodge, which did not deter us as we quite liked to pass the time of day with the people using it. It was not that busy but just in case you would be upset by this...
Something that worried our kids was the temperamental wifi, sometimes it was very good but generally only one person could use it at a time!! This was excellent for us as it allowed us to correspond with our kids!!! Great holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopingtotravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Swallow Tree. The 'Monarch' range lodges with hot tubs have definitely been a hit this season! We did have a few Wi-Fi problems for a week or two during the summer, but this has since been sorted by our 'technical' department. We hope to welcome you back to our site, and thanks again for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and 2 children have stayed here for the 2nd year on the run now with many more to follow hopefully . We stay in caravan 36 at our request and even though it's old it it really clean and comfortable . We like it here because our children are able to play outside , it's safe and beautifully maintained . The whole site is faultless from the restaurant to the lesuire facilities and everything else . We returned home today and I can't wait to book again for next year !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on our site, we are glad you enjoyed, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have stayed all over the country in many different site based lodges and we stayed at one of the ‘luxury’ lodges here at Swallow tree. Firstly what a wonderful situation, embedded in the woods with views (from some points) of the sea. Beautifully kept site with lots of hanging baskets and flowers and its great they keep cars parked away from accommodation. The site is very quiet and we never got disturbed. Our ‘luxury’ lodge itself was perhaps a little tired despite the new kitchen. Little things like the bath taps appeared disabled and the bath mounted shower had no mixer valve so scalding yourself or kids was all too easy. The plastic garden furniture was old brittle and cracked. Sure it was well equipped, comfortable and generally clean but to manage client expectations should not be described as “luxury” “premier” accommodation as on the website. The website also describes its lodges as ‘full double glazing’ which implies they’re new and modern. I don’t recall seeing double glazing on ours.

The site pool in the ‘leisure complex’ (again why the davidloyd type description?) is fine clean and very warm.

The site restaurant is OK with lots of potential. We had one meal there and the food and service was very good although the venue was lacking in atmosphere.

For us Swallow tree looses a star for mediocre customer care. For such a relatively small site there was no personal service. The dealings we had with reception always left you feeling cold like they were doing you a huge favour. Again nothing major just lots of little things for example:

On departure and being honest types we happened to mention that we had broken one of the glass tumblers in our lodge (I’m not talking finest crystal here but a Tesco tumbler= 6 for a couple of quid). Bearing in mind we have just spent 1000 pounds on the lodge and the restaurant in the last week do you:
1)Say “No problem Sir have a safe trip home”
2)Attempt to negotiate the tumbler replacement price from 2 pounds downwards?

Sure maybe Swallowtree are acting as an agent for the lodge owner but never the less that should be oblivious to the customer. The general lack of customer care contrasted hugely with a stay at a Premier Inn on the way back, who couldn’t have been more helpful.

To summarize. Lovely, lovely quiet site, impersonal service, slightly expensive but perhaps with overly high expectations on our part. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello there, thank you for taking the time to write a review, all customer comments are important to us. It is disappointing for us to hear about problems in the accommodation which could have been quickly rectified if we had been told about them and we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and are usually praised for our care, as you can see from the other reviews. I am sorry that on this occasion, you felt it was impersonal. We will take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.0 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.0 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Merlewood Hotel
Merlewood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunnyvale Holiday Park
Sunnyvale Holiday Park
#3 of 8 in Saundersfoot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Tree Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Tree Gardens

Property: Swallow Tree Gardens
Address: Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Hotel Class:5 star — Swallow Tree Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallow Tree is a family run holiday park located in a prime coastal location within the Pembrokeshire National Park. We have luxury lodges and caravans for rent and purchase. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swallow Tree Gardens Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing