We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saundersfoot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swallow Tree Gardens
Ranked #6 of 17 Saundersfoot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our second holiday at Swallow Tree and we are already planning for next year. We stayed in the Monarch lodge . Beautiful, well equipped and we loved the hot tub. The park is so peaceful and is beautifully maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Swallow Tree fully deserves its 5 star accreditation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tayrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your great review of Swallow Tree Gardens. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday so much. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I always said I would never go back to the same place twice but Swallow tree has proven to be somewhere that has thwarted that completely (particularly now I have a child).
We have stayed in the lower end caravans and, this year, one of the pine lodges. I was soooo skeptical when my hubbie suggested a caravan at first (picturing the Royal Family Christmas special) but, obviously, was completely wrong!

Things we love about Swallow tree that keep us coming back:
1) The accommodation, even when not top notch, was sufficient for our needs and thoroughly enjoyable.
2) The site is attractive, well kept and the owners/ managers respond straight away to requests e.g. to the chopping down of a wasp-attracting bush. We have found everyone to be helpful and friendly.
3) The pool is great and rarely crowded.
4) The beach is accessible and lovely, particularly for younger children.
5) The restaurant, although it has its own limitations, has served us reasonably well over the years.
6) The location is fab, close to Saundersfoot, Folly Farm, Heatherton, Oakwood, Zoos, Tenby, Dinosaur Park etc etc etc.

Things I would change:
1) I don't like the fact that owners can keep dogs on site because dogs are, on the whole, noisy and aggressive (but that is me being anti dogs I guess).
2) The car park organisation is rubbish - there are no clear markings meaning that those with poor spacial awareness take up too much room and space is limited because of people out of site using it to access the beach.

As I said, I have been back again and again and have already 'bagsied' my lodge for three weeks next year. It's certainly not cheap but is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mini_minx33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your review of Swallow Tree Gardens. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the many facilities and features our park has to offer. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding parking to our maintenance team. With regards to dogs on-site, it is only private owners that are permitted to keep dogs and they are obliged by the terms of their agreement to ensure that they are well behaved. It is great to hear that you will be visiting us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having just read the previous review from Jon P I feel appalled at his comments especially about the cleaning staff members who continue to do an excellent job with professionalism, high standards and great service, having been going to Swallow Tree Gardens now for many many years and now owning and letting my caravan I have the utmost respect for Liz and all her staff in the way that they maintain first class standards and 'go the extra mile' to make sure that everything is satisfactory, this also applies to the reception staff who are very helpful and personable......personally the joy of staying at 'Swallow Tree' is that it has maintained a superior site, with well appointed holiday homes and amazing staff!!which cannot be said about many institutions these days, so 'HATS OFF' to you all!!!!!!!, will be coming again and again.......Love to all.x

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your great review of Swallow Tree Gardens! We're very pleased to hear that you enjoy your time here so much, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have stayed here many times but not for 8/9 years.

As previous, the location is wonderful and the caravan was excellent (outside furniture excepted as this is old and of cheap quality).

Disappointed to find the Restaurant often closed (it seemed to be more closed than open) and unable to get a drink in the bar after 2100 hrs when Reception and the building closed (not advertised as such).

We did wish to make one minor complaint as we left over the Cleaners. We were unfortunately met with an immediate defensive attitude. There was no acknowledgement that we were disappointed nor any apology - in fact we were met with the sarcastic comment of 'happy days' when I first said that I had one small complaint. The attitude of the Receptionist on this occasion was shocking. I would point out that this was not typical of the others at Reception who were very helpful.

Still a lovely week, but left feeling that the atmosphere has changed on the site and that it wasn't as good an experience as previous.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the caravan and the location of our site. With regards to the restaurant, unfortunately opening hours have to be curtailed outside of peak-weeks so we try to offer the facility for the most popular times of the week. We are, however, very concerned about your additional comments. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff so please rest assured that this matter is being looked into vigorously, internally. It would be most helpful if you could contact us via email on info@swallowtree.com and provide a fuller description of your complaint and the incident. We apologise if your holiday was affected by this and hope that we can resolve the matter as quickly as possible for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our stay here was amazing. We ate in the restaurant twice it was really nice they even accommodated my very fussy 3 year old. The lodge was lovely very clean and had everything you need. The staff were lovely and the site is very quiet. The only downside is the wifi its not good. But they do tell you its not fast broadband. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, General Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Wi-Fi has recently been upgraded so hopefully you will find this will have improved on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My Fiancé and I have just returned from a really lovely stay here at Swallow Tree. We knew as soon as we arrived the holiday would be great, really friendly ladies on reception who were more than helpful with any questions we had. The Ambassador Plus caravan was spotless and we had a lovely little garden too with table and chairs. The location of the park is peaceful with beautiful views out to the sea with Saundersfoot just a short walk away along the beach. We were given a timetable of when the tides would be in and out which was really handy to have with us. Made use of the pool and sauna every day and cannot recommend the restaurant enough, we had a lovely meal here and left feeling absolutely stuffed! Look forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sianaby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks for your lovely review of our site. It sounds like you made the most of everything. We look forward to welcoming you back to Swallow Tree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed for the first time at this site and we were very impressed. Excellent location and beautiful well kept gardens. We did have the luxury of staying in the best lodge on the site, (Marros, Pitch 24), it has the best view of the bay of Saundersfoot and to hear the sea lapping below is a real pleasure. The lodge itself is very modern and comfortable inside, very well equipped and the hot tub on the decking was the icing on the cake. The decking all around the lodge allowed us to sunbathe as well as admire the view. The pool area was very nice and clean as were the changing rooms. My husband and I also had some treatments at the spa which we can fully recommend also as they were to a very high standard.
We did eat at the restaurant too which was very good, with lots of fresh fish on the menu. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

This site is beautiful and quiet, which was amazing when I realised how many families were actually on site in the peak weeks of Summer!!

The lodge was pricey but you certainly get what you pay for!

Just a little note to add, the is a public footpath running directly in front of the lodge, which did not deter us as we quite liked to pass the time of day with the people using it. It was not that busy but just in case you would be upset by this...
Something that worried our kids was the temperamental wifi, sometimes it was very good but generally only one person could use it at a time!! This was excellent for us as it allowed us to correspond with our kids!!! Great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hopingtotravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swallowtreegardens, Manager at Swallow Tree Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Swallow Tree. The 'Monarch' range lodges with hot tubs have definitely been a hit this season! We did have a few Wi-Fi problems for a week or two during the summer, but this has since been sorted by our 'technical' department. We hope to welcome you back to our site, and thanks again for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.0 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
0.0 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saundersfoot
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cwmwennol Country House
Cwmwennol Country House
#5 of 5 in Saundersfoot
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Tree Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Tree Gardens

Address: Saundersfoot SA69 9DE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saundersfoot
Hotel Class:5 star — Swallow Tree Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallow Tree is a family run holiday park located in a prime coastal location within the Pembrokeshire National Park. We have luxury lodges and caravans for rent and purchase. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swallow Tree Gardens Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing