We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, room without a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Brides Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, perfect for exploring Pembrokeshire Coastal paths, Tenby and it's surroundings.
Disappointed with our rooms, both without a view, worse still, facing a fence and backing aircon and ventilation units, a far cry from our expectations at £165 per room per night!!! Spa facilities are very pleasant, but allocated time/slot is a bit of a nuisance, not to mention no access to facilities before 9.00 am, so no chance of a dip or sauna before B/fast. Good choice and selection for B/fast, although the toasts should be attended by staff rather than guests having to queue several mns by toaster while B/fast is getting cold on table!
Dinner was fine, but lacking local staff, and experience not showing in this instance.
So, ok hotel, but disappointing room view, and at this price, one expects a larger room and air con when feeling closed in behind a fence. Gym is far too small for Hotel size, with a handful of machines, so chose run down the front and morning sea dip to make it up!!!

Good touch, fresh milk in fridge and homemade biscuits

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pinewood007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed our location and some aspects of your stay.

We do have rooms with sea views and balconies available from just £100 per person per night and so had you required a room with a view, we would of happily obliged.

Our thermal suite and hydrotherapy pool facilities are offered to our resident guests on a complimentary basis. This means it is vital for us to manage the bookings effectively to avoid overcrowding. Our whole ethos in the spa is to promote tranquillity and relaxation at all times and so if we were to allow any more than 10 guests to use these facilities at any one time, the sense of serenity would be compromised. Due to the popularity of our spa facilities, all guests are advised to book their complimentary sessions at the time of making their room reservation to prevent disappointment.

Our spa facilities open at 9am each morning. Had we known in advance of your stay that these times were not suitable for you, we would have tried to open a little earlier.

Our standard at breakfast is to give guests the option to make their own toast. This gives you the chance to brown it as much or as little as you require. If you prefer we make it for you, you just need to let us know.

Not all guests wish to use the fitness suite, but for those that do it is more than adequate in size and offers all the latest equipment necessary. As you mention, the beach is less than 5 minutes walk away and perfect for that morning run!

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Hwyl fawr
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our second trip to this beautiful hotel.
Had 4 nights here with breakfast and evening meal every night as it was so very convenient. Staff are wonderful and the chef was able to make food off the menu to accommodate my two children (8 years old and 1 and a half)
The location is truly spectacular minutes from the beach and our room had a lovely view.
Hotel is beautifully furnished and our large spacious room had all we needed.
Only problem was that we had to come home!

Room Tip: They all look beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Fantastic! Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and have shared your kind words with the team.

Do come back and see us again soon!

Hwyl fawr
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Fantastic sevice - reception and porter staff were wonderful and very helpful. Food was good but didn't knock our socks off - having said that, it's the best place to eat in the local area! A bit more spice on the menu would have been very welcome.
The highlight of our hotel experience was the outdoor jacuzzi, where we watched the sun set over Saundersfoot beach, simply gorgeous!

Room Tip: Sea view is definitely better than the car park, but you pay a premium for it! You get great views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phaedra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your great feedback! I have passed your kind comments on to the whole team who look forward to seeing you again soon. Next time you stay, please do mention that you prefer your food with a little more 'kick' and, where possible, our Chefs will be happy to adapt any dish accordingly.

See you again soon.

Hwyl fawr
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at St Brides for the first time this August.What can I say except extremely disappointed.
Totally taken in by all the hype about the place but how wrong it all is.We booked the better Room with Part sea view.It was still small and didnt match up to the price.being charged.We also had to endure the boiler system constant hum which was annoying to say the least.The eastern euopeans working in the over priced restaurant were still being trained so were not confident in their roles.Tomato Sauce was spooned on the plate for you.A step too far l feel which made the whole dining experience tense fussy and complicated.Too many other problems to mention.Will be putting my money in to a 5 star which is a true 5 star and not one trying to be one.Take away the view and it really isnt worth the hassle.

Room Tip: High Floor but Best Room would probably be a normal double room size unfortunately this is their mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for staying recently. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit but had you mentioned your displeasure at the time, we would have done our utmost to rectify any issues you had.

We are a four star luxury destination hotel and always aim to exceed guest expectation. It is extremely disappointing for the whole team when we fall short of this. The team work hard to please all of our guests and maintain our high standards which the majority of our reviews reflect.

Our bedrooms are categorised into 'Good', 'Better' and 'Best' according to their size with our 'Better' rooms being our medium sized option. They are each laid out slightly differently but all a similar size containing super king sized beds. I am sorry you found your room a little small and were disturbed by a noise. We have investigated all our 'better' sea view bedrooms as a result of your comments and have been unable to trace the noise.

We hope you come and visit us again in the future.

Hwyl fawr
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for almost a week and had B and B, but did eat at the restaurant on a couple of nights. There were quite a few trainee staff but the service was usually fine although when it was very busy ( as on the Friday before the Bank Holiday ) , it was a bit on the slow side. Get a sea view room as the view is maginficent. Rooms ar good with lovely towels in the bathroom. The spa is good too but the infinity pool is on the small side...it is really just a big jacuzzi.However numbers are controlled so you do not feel crowded. A proper swimming pool would be nice; that would make it the perfect hotel. .

Room Tip: Sea view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for staying recently. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and have shared your kind words with the team.

Our spa is all about relaxation and tranquillity and not so much a leisure facility and so we do not have a swimming pool. I am glad you still enjoyed your spa time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Hwyl fawr
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here most recently for two nights on the 13th and14th of August.
We cant remember if it is the 9th or 10th time over the last 10 years but each visit is always excellent.
Everything about the hotel is superb but particularly the friendliness and professionalism of the staff ably marshalled by the owners Andrew and Lindsey. It is a balancing act giving 5 star service without being unfriendly but they carry it off superbly. It is not just the "front of house" staff who are friendly but every single staff member you meet.
The rooms are superb (and we have stayed in a few), the sea view rooms are obviously the best but even without the view they are still great as they are all so well appointed.
Whether you dine in the cliff restaurant or the main restaurant you still have the same stunning view and most importantly excellent food and wine and that great service.
The spa when we first went 10 years ago had not been fully completed but what a wonderful suprise the next year! it really is as good as the website suggests and we have been in the incredible infinity pool in sunshine, rain and memorably one winter snow!
It is also a superb place to chill out particularly in the gallery bar sitting on their comfortable sofas being spoilt by the staff and having a late evening drink.
I really cannot think of a criticism and to have achieved their standard and more importantly maintain it over 10 years is really worthy of praise.
Hopefully we will be back in late December.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview particularly the first time you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wynthomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Fantastic! Thank you for this glowing review and for choosing to celebrate your special anniversary with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and have shared your kind words with the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in December!

Hwyl fawr
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I visited St. Brides spa with my partner for a day escape package in 2012 and didn't find the time to comment afterwards but my friend has recently been and experienced the same package and some concerns I had- she encountered too, so I thought it was worth leaving a review. I was 34 weeks pregnant at the time and had the New Beginnings package (£155). It includes a foot treatment, facial and a massage; lunch too. The therapists were lovely, however in both the facial and the massage I was led completely flat on my back. This is the exact problem my friend encountered whilst on the same package. Had the therapist been adequately trained in a pregnancy treatment- she should surely know not to lay a pregnant lady completely flat. In both treatments I went dizzy and had to ask for a glass of water and then eventually ask her to raise the bed. At the time, it was just nice to have a bit of pampering whilst pregnant and so I didn't cause a fuss. But with my friend experiencing a similar thing it worries me that the therapists might not be trained up to full standard- especially in pregnancy treatments. At £155 it's unfair to be offered a "just OK" treatment. We visit Saundersfoot every year, and stay in a cottage close to St. Brides- however, this year I opted for a mobile massage therapist at half the price of St. Brides- I felt more confident she was trained for the treatment I had.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LucyMarie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stbrides-1, Owner at St Brides Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. All of our spa therapists are fully trained and qualified in the treatments we provide at St Brides. We also invest a lot of time into regular refreshment training where consultants and trainers visit the hotel to ensure our standards are being upheld throughout the team.

We have a range of treatments specifically designed for pregnant ladies which are extremely popular and carried out several times a day by various members of the spa team. Having discussed your comments with my Spa Manager, our team have been fully trained by to lay the Mum-to-be down on her back into a semi-reclined position, so head and shoulders are slightly raised with the body tilted slightly to the left (between 15-20 degrees), securely supported by cushions. This position is called the 'left-tilt' position and ensures that the blood and oxygen flow to the foetus is unhindered.

Without specific information about when you and your friend visited or your names, I am unable to investigate which therapist carried out your treatments and therefore unfortunately, I cannot take your comments any further. Had you or your friend mentioned your discomfort at the time, or your disappointment before you left the spa, we would have had the chance to rectify the situation then. We always aim to exceed guest expectation and hate to think you left us unhappy.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Hwyl fawr
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saundersfoot
0.2 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,229 reviews
2.5 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Brides Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Brides Spa Hotel

Address: St. Brides Hill, Saundersfoot SA69 9NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Saundersfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Saundersfoot
Price Range: £172 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Brides Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A destination spa hotel with 46 rooms, 20 with sea view and balcony. Cliff top restaurant and marine spa with thermal suite and infinity edge vitality pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your St Brides Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Brides Hotel Saundersfoot
St Brides Saundersfoot
St Brides Spa Hotel Saundersfoot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing